We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Canova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Canova Hotel
Ranked #214 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were at this hotel recently for a one night stay. We had been travelling round Northern Italy and this was the cheapest hotel we stayed in although the standard was very good. We had a good sized room, huge bed with lovely bedding.
Everything seemed new and clean.
The breakfast was very good considering it was a continental breakfast- meats, cheeses, eggs, lots of different types of bread, cakes etc.
Really convenient for the Central Station.
Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diningout4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    172
    114
    33
    45
See reviews for
53
147
56
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ny, ny
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is really only good for its proximity to the train station. The room was small and the bathroom was old and stained. However, the staff is friendly and helpful enough. I only stayed for one night for a connection flight.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dozy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stay at this hotel every time I go to Milano on short business trips (up to 5 days). This is why:

Location: very practical. About 5 min. walk from the Central Station. So, it's perfect if you need to travel by tube or by train. The neighbourhood isn't particularly nice, for example, to take a walk in the evening (because of the proximity of the station). Whether you like the location or not depends on the purpose of your trip. Also can get quite loud at night and the noise might keep you awake (as it did me on two occasions).

Staff: quite friendly. Helped me make taxi arrangements, gave me advice on how to reach certain places. When I couldn't switch on the TV (disconnected antenna) - I just had to make a call and within 5 min. a man from the lobby came up and fixed it.
No one offered to help take my very heavy suitcase up to the room.

Rooms: very competitive prices. Clean, quite spacious for the amount you pay. Good air-conditioning and bathrooms. Free wi-fi.

Breakfasts: quite basic. Cornflakes, ham, couple of cheeses, jams, muesli, fruit, bread. Normally 2 selections of cakes. But enough to get you going.

Verdict: great if you just need to stay a couple of nights in Milano and don't want to spend an exorbitant amount of money, but I probably wouldn't stay at this hotel for a longer time or if I were on holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It is a very nice hotel, very friendly staff, comfortable, clean and near the central station, easy access to trains and metro. I didn´t have the breakfast at the hotel. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I go to Milano for business, once a month I have to be in this lovely city, but always for a short stay. This hotel is becoming like a second home for me in Italy , the high light of the hotel ids the staff . Once you are a regular guest they treat you as one of the family and this is what I really like. The rooms are super clean and the location is fantastic few minutes' walk to the central station and about 8 minutes walk to the shopping street. The rooms on the 5th and 6th floor are renovated and it's always better to be in a high floor to avoid the noise of the street. The breakfast buffet is humble but the coffee is very good. End of the story is that I decided not to change any more hotels in Milano and becoming a regular guest is giving you the advantage to book over the phone without internet booking sites and all the hassle and credit cards problems . Just call the magic guy (Sayed) at the reception and he will take it from there , he is making the booking arranging transfers giving directions and good shopping tips even an umbrella if it's raining. Simply he is the super man of this hotel (he is always in the morning shift)

Room Tip: ask for a high floor 5th or 6th, those rooms are renovated and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bassemgobran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

i`ve been here last summer, the hotel was great, maybe not like a 5stars hotel, but for my 2 days trip in milano, it was perfect. just 4min away from the milano railaway mainstation. not expensive, ver friendly staff, liked the food. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed in this place during 18-19 April 2013 (1 night). At first we are pretty fine with the room and its location. This hotel has standard facility like other hotel with the location nearby the Milano Central station and Metro.

Room: Clean enough with the ok space. Bathroom is good like standard hotel provided.

Location: is great. It is near Milano Central station and Metro. Easy walk and quite safe even in the night.

Service: fair like standard hotel. However there was some issue happened that you can read after this.

Negative point: This turns everything down. We had a late night dinner and came back late. We also had to pack our thing because we will leave to Bangkok early morning on the next day. (This is the reason I booked “HOTEL” not BB because I need a tight sleep!) While we were packing thing, the air condition was switch offed. We thought it broken but we found out later when we phoned to reception that it is hotel policy to switch off all air con in hotel after midnight! Receptionist also told me that the weather outside was cold and we had to open to window if we need flow air! Ridiculous! We chose this hotel because it facilitate “AIR CONDITION” but there wasn’t any information provided when we booked about turning off air con. (Unless we won’t stay here!) Our room is on 1st floor and we didn't feel convenience to open it (but we had to!) Reception also told me that the weather in Milan will be getting colder tomorrow because it will be rain! Who cares? Because we stay only this night! Finally we had to open window and you know it is not that cold to sleep comfortably and forget about sleep tight!

Considering the location, there is plenty of hotel around this hotel. (can find in google) and from looking outside more nicer and newer. This is our wrong decision to choose this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have no choice. Ask for high floor room so that you can breath well at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sureeyuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#140 of 427 in Milan
574 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Mythos Hotel
Mythos Hotel
#192 of 427 in Milan
429 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bolzano
Hotel Bolzano
#299 of 427 in Milan
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#147 of 427 in Milan
527 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Smart Hotel Milano Centrale
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Garda
Hotel Garda
#184 of 427 in Milan
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canova Hotel

Property: Canova Hotel
Address: Via Napo Torriani 15, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, offering modern amenities in a warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canova Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing