We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect position”
Review of Hotel Galileo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Galileo
Ranked #177 of 428 Hotels in Milan
London
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Almost perfect position”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotel is in a wondeful position, just 5 minutes from the Duomo. Very comfortable, and staff all very helpful.
Had two stays of one night each, and each time we were early, but taken to our room immediately.
We arrived from LInate Airport. The 73 or X73 bus goes from the airport to within 200m of the hotel. Perfect! What's even better is the fare - just €1.50.
Breakfast fine - decent quality cereal, fresh fruit, cappucino on demand (and eggs cooked the way you want). Don't think it will be so good if you prefer a large cooked breakfast, which we don't.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    232
    110
    35
    14
See reviews for
107
117
33
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

As outlined in a lot of the reviews, the hotel is quite outdated. Our bed was as firm as a concrete block. Reception staff were courteous enough. The key thing here really is the location - within easy walking distance of the Duomo and main shopping mall. Not sure I would recommend it to friends for an extensive stay but for a quick visit to Milan, it does the job.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aussie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

stayed at this hotel for two nghts business trip. as per previous comments, it is extremely dated however it is also extremely and exceptionally clean. the location is excellent 20mins from Linate aiport and a few mins walk from the centre. can not wait to return with my partner for a tourist visit. we will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brimungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I loved this place. I had a single room, which looked small in the photos. There was nothing small about it. First, there was an entryway into the room with huge closet space and the bathroom. There is a separate door to the bedroom which was really quire spacious. I loved the windows and the electronic blinds. There was a nice desk space and a mini fridge. Who ever was taking care of my room really spoiled me. She came in and put out towels and gave me extra candy throughout the day. We were a block or so from the Duomo and Galleria. My window looked out onto a small area with a church.

This place had the best breakfast of all places we stayed during our trip. They offered both hot and cold dishes with plenty of choices. Servers brought coffee and hot chocolate. Hands down one of the best hotel breakfasts of anywhere I've stayed. Also the price was amazing for the location. The next closest hotels were almost twice as much.

Highly recommend and will stay here when I go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karbop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed in galileo for four nights with 2 babies. At first i was a little nervous since the reviews said its an old hotel. After we checked in, we were quiet surprised with how spacious our room is! Yes it is old, but it is very clean. The baby cot was a good one, it is a chicco, that was very sturdy, unlike what we got in other hotels.

Another thing that amazed us with the speedy service of the room service! They dont have water boiler in every room, hence we have to asked for hot water most of the times for our babies. They always came within 2 minutes! The breakfast was also very good with wide variations of fruits, breads, sausaged, eggs, yoghurts, juices.

In addition, the location is perfect! Only few steps from the duomo! If we go back to milan again, we will certainly be back to this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoanDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We paid around 200 usd/night, the location was great. But do not expect a 4 star service. The decoration and the rooms look medieval. They even have the big door lock keys from 80's. The wifi was slow, the breakfast was decent. I was a bit disappointed because the hotel needs a renovation and there was no service at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Nothing fancy or flashy about the hotel, but the good thing is it's in city center. Cathedral is at walking distance. Hotel room was nice and spacious. Staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was simple, with not much of a choice. Close to the hotel is Bus station with buses at good frequency to central train station, Airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariansumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
IH Hotels Milano Ambasciatori
Centro Storico
Brunelleschi Hotel
Brunelleschi Hotel
#97 of 428 in Milan
1,161 reviews
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#152 of 428 in Milan
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#42 of 428 in Milan
1,745 reviews
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Centro Storico
Hotel La Madonnina
Hotel La Madonnina
#197 of 428 in Milan
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galileo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo

Property: Hotel Galileo
Address: Corso Europa 9, 20122 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galileo 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galileo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing