We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RAT in the bathroom!!”
Review of Hotel Galileo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Galileo
Ranked #177 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“RAT in the bathroom!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have not stayed in the hotel, however whilst my wife was shopping in the nearby sephora outlet I decided to go and find a place to go for a drink and a sit down. It was very handily placed so I went into the hotel. I went in and asked at the front desk where the man where the bar was. Firstly, I went to answer the call of nature, Whilst I was washing my hands I caught a movement out of the corner of my eye and was shocked to see a rat scuttling away. I went to the front desk to discreetly inform him of my findings, he simply shrugged his shoulders and walked away rudely. I swiftly changed my mind about a drink and left, Make your own mind up if you'd like to be a guest here!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peepshowg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    232
    110
    35
    14
See reviews for
107
117
33
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Reasonably well located hotel which is a short walk to the rear side of the Duomo. However the Hotel is quite dated and looking very tired throughout. Switches for the lights, heating and blinds in the bedrooms are very old. Room became very cold during the night and the heating, which warmed up the room only very gradually, needed to be switched on. Everything was in working order and the Buffet Breakfast wasn't bad. Free Internet WiFi was easy to log on to and offered ok connection speeds.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker7811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I ve been to this hotel several times.
I like it as it is in the center close to the metropolitana and the high level shopping places.
it is luxurious, with nice breakfast , good service and maybe a it expensive.
the rooms are big and comforable with high speed internet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location, close to the Duomo, all the shopping areas, breakfast was great, service was great, staff were friendly but the rooms are starting to look a little tired. Otherwise, and enjoyable stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianne9734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is supposed to be a four stars hotel...therefore, you don't expect to find yellowish wallpaper or very old bedcover or - even worse - a heating system so antiquate that does not allow to
choose your temperature, but only blow a little warm air.

The room I got was probably about 9 sqm, with a single bed next to the wall, very basic furnitures from the 70s and very humid/stiff air. The cost for this little place was about 155 Euros for one night....inacceptable for such a treatement.

I would be curious to know when is the last time that this hotel got a check from some Hotel Stars Rating Authorities....When it happened, they definitely did not show their rooms on the 5th floor. These cannot be evaluated as a 4 Stars Hotel for sure.

Breakfast was basic but ok.

The only very positive point of this place is the stuff working in there! They are all extremely nice and they try to accomodate people requests at their best. They are polite and kind.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My mother and I spent 5 nights in the hotel in October 2013 and absolutely loved the location. Close to the Duomo and Galleria and underground Metro. Buffet breakfast was great with really lovely staff. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable but a little dated. Would definitely stay here again next time in Milan

Room Tip: The rooms on Level 9 (top floor) appeared to be a lot more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kircuz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

In general, hotel is OK. The main issue is that it is overused and needs quite a bit of renovation. It looks as if a "cash cow", which is being used by many due to reasonable cost and good location. Having said that, there are several good things that I'd like to mention: (1) location (it is near to Duomo and a tourist bus stop), (2) helpful staff, and (3) spacious, especially by the EU standards, rooms. Breakfast is OK too. Overall, I wold not stay there for more than a couple of nights, unless you travel for business.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niksk001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
IH Hotels Milano Ambasciatori
Centro Storico
Brunelleschi Hotel
Brunelleschi Hotel
#96 of 428 in Milan
1,160 reviews
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#151 of 428 in Milan
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#40 of 428 in Milan
1,744 reviews
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Centro Storico
Hotel La Madonnina
Hotel La Madonnina
#199 of 428 in Milan
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galileo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo

Property: Hotel Galileo
Address: Corso Europa 9, 20122 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galileo 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galileo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing