We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be cramped but good value, clean and great staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ariosto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ariosto Hotel
Ranked #270 of 431 Hotels in Milan
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be cramped but good value, clean and great staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The rooms all vary in size and I heeded the advice in a review that said their single rooms can be cramped and booked a double room. The first double, 107, I was in was pretty cramped as well and faced the street and I was moved to room 111 after two nights, and that was more comfortable. Both rooms were clean. Bathrooms in both rooms had shower stalls only; they were an 8 on a scale of 1 to10, the rest of the bathrooms were a 10 in terms of cleanliness. The towel rack was directly above the bidet - I kept imagining the towel accidentally falling in/on the bidet. Maybe it's just me but i'd move the towel racks to some other area, any other area, of the bathroom! The breakfast buffet was a decent spread, the almond croissants were listless and dead one morning (like someone may have tried to warm them in a microwave), the coffee uniformly good. The front office staff, whose names I should have taken, were superb, very courteous, friendly and very helpful. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: 107, billed as a double, can feel cramped and there is a tram that runs on the street it faces; the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    108
    96
    28
    14
See reviews for
33
75
33
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The location of this hotel is superb, within walking distance of Castle , Galleria , Last Supper etc.
The rooms are cosy and a little dated but this seems to add to the experience. This is not a standard corporate type of hotel but a real Italian hotel, I have stayed in the Novotel's in the past while they might be newer I will be going back to the Ariosto instead from now on.
The staff were excellent , very nice, extremely helpful.
The rooms are on the smallish side but well equiped and given the location you won't be spending much time in the room.
The train station with a direct link to the airport is another added bonus.

Room Tip: Best to asked for a inside room facing the inner courtyard, this is where I stayed and it was vey qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed a night in September 2013 and we couldnt fault anything. Speedy check in and check out. Receptionists were extremely nice. In fact they let us have a late check free of charge.

Very good rooms and lovely breakfast. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Spent two nights in the Ariosto Hotel in early October 2013. The hotel is fairly well positioned from the train station Milano Cadorna which is served by a fast train from the airport, there is also the Metro nearby. The hotel is also an easy walk to the Last Supper and a slightly longer walk to the Duomo etc but trams seemed fairly frequent.

The room was nice and was inward facing so wasn't loud at all, the breakfast was ok but seemed to be not quite sure if it was a continental or full buffet breakfast, for example there was bacon but no toast.

Overall the staff were extremely helpful and spoke good English. The only downside was that the hotel is in a fairly quiet area so bars/restaurants nearby are thin on the ground so either eat in the centre when you are there or alternatively there is a Carrefour (supermarket) round the corner which is well stocked and extremely cheap.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toboboly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Plusses ...
Great location : You can easily walk into town
Simple, clean and decent value
Lots of good restaurants in the area. I highly recommend OSTERI (on Via Monti)

Misses...
Breakfast is nothing special.
The street in front of the hotel is cobblestoned. As a result, cars and especially trams make a lot of noise. If the windows are open (the air conditioning is not normally on in September), rooms on the streetside are very loud

Room Tip: We switched rooms after 1 night from the street side (308) to the courtyard (310). We traded a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I spent 6 days at the Hotel Ariosto in late September, 2013. This hotel is part of the Brera Hotels group, and I usually stay at another hotel in the group, Hotel Zurigo (which is excellent), but for the purpose of my trip, this hotel's location was better. I loved the neighborhood; near Parco Sempione for quiet walks and greenery in a big city, Via Vercelli which had terrific shopping and both trams and metro (Conciliazione stop). There are many nice restaurants in the area, too. Rooms are spotlessly clean, the hotel is quiet, the bathrooms are nice and the common areas are well-appointed. There is an interior courtyard with nice shade for a quiet break or an aperitif. Breakfast is good and has everything from cereal to eggs to pastries, fresh fruit, juices and hot drinks. Everyone whom I met in the hotel from front desk personnel to Gianni the bellman to housekeepers was friendly, eager to help and professional. I was very happy here!
Also, if you don't have much luggage, the hotel is an 8 minute walk from Cadorna metro stop, where you can get the Malpensa Express train to the airport.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is on a tram line, I asked for a room on the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domenicuccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed here for just one night prior to my departure from Milan. This was a very comfortable and welcoming hotel in a good location.

In general, the rooms were averaged sized for Italy, but were packed with furniture and other items, which made them feel smaller than they should have, but for the most part comfortable. Friendly staff as well. I left to early for the breakfast, so I can't comment on it.

For the location and the value, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronanderson303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Delle Stelline
Palazzo Delle Stelline
#196 of 431 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panizza
Hotel Panizza
#132 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tiziano - Gruppo Mini Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antica Locanda Leonardo
Antica Locanda Leonardo
#101 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Capitol Milano
Hotel Capitol Milano
#157 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arco della Pace B&B
Arco della Pace B&B
#79 of 263 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariosto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariosto Hotel

Property: Ariosto Hotel
Address: Via Lodovico Ariosto 22, 20145 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariosto Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright cozy rooms, together with the refined art nouveau building which has preserved the prestige of its decor, make the Hotel Ariosto a special place. Welcomed with a smile and great professionalism, our guests are on a first name basis with us! Located in the heart of the Magenta neighborhood of Milan, Hotel Ariosto is a charming four star hotel that while focusing on style and tradition, still has all modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ariosto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariosto Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing