We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive!”
Review of Grand Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Plaza Hotel
Ranked #345 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This hotel is not 4 stars. It is old and dated, not elegant. The Tv's are 20 years old and have local italian channels only. The internet is 17 Euro/day! The air/con blows but does not cool. The location is great but early morning noise is a problem in the city. The room was a good size but only one chair in a double deluxe room. This could be a great hotel but needs some serious money spent on it. For the price of 300 Euro a night there is far more choices nearby in much better condition.

Room Tip: request off street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankChris545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    29
    52
    27
    22
See reviews for
8
38
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

Although its location is great, grand plaza hotel is a poor hotel. The lobby is quiet nice but the elevators are so old and terrible, and i was afraid to get on this elevators. The room is too small and the bed is too big so there is no place to move in the room. The bathroom is the worst bathroom i have ever seen in my life, cant describe what was my attitude about this terrible bathroom

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Majdcaracalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

this is my third hotel in milan and it is by far the best one. good sized rooms, light atmosphere in the lobby. clean. and brilliantly located just around the corner of the duomo. only free wifi is missing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The hotel is literally 3 minutes from the Duomo. Really well situated. The staff are friendly and helpful. We were there in August when it's not very busy, but the staff say they are very busy the rest of the year.

The rooms are a good size - even the smaller one we were moved to when we discovered a leak in the bathroom in room 426 (this room was enormous!) The rooms are clean and it's easy to tell that this was once a very elegant hotel. It looks a tiny bit old but I would stay here again. The wood and marble are beautiful.

Room 426 is enormous ! We were assigned this room first, however there was a leak in the bathroom and they promptly moved us to to room 424 - which was still a good size for European hotel rooms.

We did not breakfast here - too expensive. We opted to go to a local cafe for coffee and pastries.

The bar drinks are expensive too .. i would go to a local cafe or bar for the atmosphere rather than the hotel bar. The chips and pretzels served with the drinks were stale..maybe it's because there were very few guests..?

Room Tip: Room 426 is enormous ! We were assigned this room first, however there was a leak in the bathroom an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Get a cheap Internet rate for a short city visit. Great location a minutes walk from the Duomo. Our room was old fashioned but nice bathroom. Very clean. Arrived early but they accommodated us two hours before their stated checkin time. Good continental breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank streetspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel La Madonnina
Hotel La Madonnina
#198 of 427 in Milan
161 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Rio
Hotel Rio
#235 of 427 in Milan
382 reviews
Centro Storico
Brunelleschi Hotel
Brunelleschi Hotel
#96 of 427 in Milan
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Nuovo
Hotel Nuovo
#296 of 427 in Milan
99 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Galileo
Hotel Galileo
#180 of 427 in Milan
477 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
#102 of 427 in Milan
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hotel

Property: Grand Plaza Hotel
Address: Piazza Generale Armando Diaz 3, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Milan
Hotel Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing