We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, accommodation ruined by one front desk staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Plaza Hotel
Ranked #344 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great location, accommodation ruined by one front desk staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Location of this hotel is excellent, a 3 minute walk to the Duomo. Rooms are generous and clean, with updated modern bathrooms. It is evident that the hotel had seen "grander" days, evident in their dated decor. Use of marble and wood was very nice. I am not sure of other rooms, but my room had an older TV set (pre-flat screen days), and picture was bad. In addition, international news from BBC, CNN, and other news cable networks were not at all available. I asked hotel to assist, and they confirmed that these news channels were not available. How to keep in touch with the world while enjoying travel -- hotel must think about that. In this day and age, even diplomatic and foreign relations are forged on the basis of what appears in international news cable channels to a large extent!

Unfortunately, there was one hotel staff at the front desk who was totally disagreeable. He was rude, and he negated the efforts of his colleagues who were quite friendly and efficient. I was promised a room at check-in time, and I was amenable to waiting, only to be turned completely off by this one rude gentleman. It is too bad that one staff could ruin my generally good impression of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    29
    52
    27
    22
See reviews for
8
38
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SanJose
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Grand Plaza Hotel disappointed us a bit this time. It is in a great location, just 5 minutes walk to the Duomo. A taxi stand is around the corner. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Many restaurants are close by (try the Ristorante Da Bruno, about a block away). Good Business persons hotel. Good, quiet, safe. But, our friend missed a step in the lobby and spent the afternoon in the lobby with his foot up and with an ice pack but with minimal interest by the staff once the initial incident occurred. He spent the next day in his room, but the lobby staff never expressed any interest in his problems, not even a ..how is your friend doing..question. Regardless, it is a reasonable place to stay with access to most things a traveler wants to see in Milan. I would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLFSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

This hotel is not 4 stars. It is old and dated, not elegant. The Tv's are 20 years old and have local italian channels only. The internet is 17 Euro/day! The air/con blows but does not cool. The location is great but early morning noise is a problem in the city. The room was a good size but only one chair in a double deluxe room. This could be a great hotel but needs some serious money spent on it. For the price of 300 Euro a night there is far more choices nearby in much better condition.

Room Tip: request off street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankChris545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

Although its location is great, grand plaza hotel is a poor hotel. The lobby is quiet nice but the elevators are so old and terrible, and i was afraid to get on this elevators. The room is too small and the bed is too big so there is no place to move in the room. The bathroom is the worst bathroom i have ever seen in my life, cant describe what was my attitude about this terrible bathroom

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Majdcaracalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

this is my third hotel in milan and it is by far the best one. good sized rooms, light atmosphere in the lobby. clean. and brilliantly located just around the corner of the duomo. only free wifi is missing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

The hotel is literally 3 minutes from the Duomo. Really well situated. The staff are friendly and helpful. We were there in August when it's not very busy, but the staff say they are very busy the rest of the year.

The rooms are a good size - even the smaller one we were moved to when we discovered a leak in the bathroom in room 426 (this room was enormous!) The rooms are clean and it's easy to tell that this was once a very elegant hotel. It looks a tiny bit old but I would stay here again. The wood and marble are beautiful.

Room 426 is enormous ! We were assigned this room first, however there was a leak in the bathroom and they promptly moved us to to room 424 - which was still a good size for European hotel rooms.

We did not breakfast here - too expensive. We opted to go to a local cafe for coffee and pastries.

The bar drinks are expensive too .. i would go to a local cafe or bar for the atmosphere rather than the hotel bar. The chips and pretzels served with the drinks were stale..maybe it's because there were very few guests..?

Room Tip: Room 426 is enormous ! We were assigned this room first, however there was a leak in the bathroom an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Get a cheap Internet rate for a short city visit. Great location a minutes walk from the Duomo. Our room was old fashioned but nice bathroom. Very clean. Arrived early but they accommodated us two hours before their stated checkin time. Good continental breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank streetspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Grand Hotel Duomo
Grand Hotel Duomo
#300 of 431 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel La Madonnina
Hotel La Madonnina
#193 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Centro Storico
TownHouse Duomo
TownHouse Duomo
#225 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Rio
Hotel Rio
#219 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#43 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Centro Storico
Sina The Gray
Sina The Gray
#212 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hotel

Property: Grand Plaza Hotel
Address: Piazza Generale Armando Diaz 3, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#165 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Milan
Hotel Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing