We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Guido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Guido
Ranked #239 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

The staff were very nice, polite and friendly, which made my trip much more pleasant. As others have mentioned, nice funishings. Clean, efficient place. A city hotel, so a bit noisy with windows open, but there's air conditioning. About 5 minutes from the metro, maybe 25 minute walk to the Duomo. I paid 80 euro a night for a single room (single bed), which I was happy to find. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterC1975a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    71
    32
    11
    4
See reviews for
17
37
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
petah tikva
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

First, I would NOT call the breakfast "very poor" :). It was enough to fill me, and it was good-tasting, and variable. Fresh fruit was a nice touch.

The single room on the 1st floor was spacious and well-furnished, the bathroom looked newly refurbished, the towels were changed daily, and the small refrigerator was very convenient. The window was to the busy street, but the glass was thick and with closed window there was no noise.

TV had only Italian channels, but I do not care for TV anyway :)

Free wifi was working OK, but only in the lobby. Lobby was very comfortable so it was no real problem.

The staff was wonderful, very helpful. The place is good for walking to the city center, historical places and to shopping streets, and has good public transportation links

All in all - a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank europelover48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

I chose this hotel based on the reviews on this site and I must say it was not as good as described here. We chose a triple room, and paid only 75 euro/night, which was a great deal. I think we used Bookings.com.

Firstly, the hotel is very pretty, old style with lots of old and beautiful decorations, paintings etc. I liked this.

The location is not amazing. Some 25 mins walking from the center, but in an area with immigrants, the Chinese street was some minutes away, plus most of the restaurants around were Turkish kebab etc. This will not really bother you, but bear in mind that the location is not amazing.

The only thing I did not like was the breakfast: included in the price, but extremely poor. If you want just marmalade, cakes and coffee, then you will be happy. There were 3 types of very good cakes, some marmalade, honey, juice etc, but nothing else except one type of ham. Bread was few. The waitress was refilling the bread basket with 2,3 pieces each time. So you had to wait a lot.

The service was nice, the reception was OK, one receptionist was extremely kind, all the rest just OK.

Wireless in the room is free, but very poor signal. I had to go in the lounge room downstairs for better signal.

I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We recently stayed at Hotel San Guido and it was easy to get to from the train station.
It is a 5min walk from the Garibaldi train station, one stop from Central. The outside of the Hotel of the Hotel looked quite old and there was graffiti on the front wall, and we were a little worried.
When we checked in we had to wait while the receptionist was on the phone talking, but we got used to waiting on staff all over Italy, they get to you in their good time! Eventually he looked after us and was pleasant and helpful.
The room was a little old, but big, comfortable and clean. It has a homely vibe with lots of antique furniture. The bathroom was small but nice, my husband, even I had a little trouble manuvering in the tiny shower!
The Hotel is right opposite the tram that takes you straight into central Milan, about 6 stops, 15min approx. you buy the tickets at the newspaper shop next door around 2 euro.
Breakfast was croissants, bread, cake, cereal, juice, and one of the ladies makes you a coffee. It is quite cute, you almost feel like you are staying with family.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TintininOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We choose this hotel due to our budget and were not expecting too much. However, we were very pleasantly surprise. The location was great. Located only 20 minutes walking through a lovely park to the city center or 5 minutes by a tram.
The staff in the hotel provided us with map and all the necessary information we need it for our sightseeing. They were all very accommodating.
They were also very generous as we have forgotten our car papers in the hotel. After contacting them they confirm that the papers are in the hotel and mail them back to us.
Great hotel to stay with a great price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tickinicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

I was very well looked after at this hotel. Although over 100 years old it has recently been refurbished but kept all it's old charm.

Double glazingfor sound insulation, aircon, lovely marble bathroom even in a single room for only EUR70.00 - what's to complain about?

There is a tram and bus stop right on the doorstep and there are at least 10 decent to _very_ good restaurants within 5 minutes walk.

The breakfast was great, with freshly baked pastries every morning and perfectly brewed espresso. I would go back _any_ time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, united Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

This hotel is as authentic as could be and yet has al the modcons you would expect from a inner city hotel: perfectly sound isolated, airconditioned, good television sets and free wifi. Breakfast is excellent and most important, the staff is very friendly. The decor is old fashioned, but in a good way and cleanliness excellent. The location is excellent: close to Milano Porta Garibaldi Station and Corsa Como with fashionable restaurants and shops.
What a find!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaukC504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Tocq
Hotel Tocq
#134 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Stazione Centrale
AC Hotel Milano
AC Hotel Milano
#93 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Cervo Milan
Hotel Cervo Milan
#219 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
3 Rooms
3 Rooms
#280 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Marconi Hotel
Marconi Hotel
#91 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Zara Milano
Hotel Zara Milano
#166 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Guido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Guido

Property: Hotel San Guido
Address: Via Carlo Farini 1-A, 20154 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Guido 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Guido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Guido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing