We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ver adorable and cute little hotel”
Review of Hotel San Guido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Guido
Ranked #224 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Buena Park, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ver adorable and cute little hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Close to tram. Clean with character. Nice rooms with new renovated bathrooms. TV hair dryer everything available. Space in bathroom not very large but decent for one person. Courteous staff.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highspirits80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    77
    34
    14
    4
See reviews for
20
43
26
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa Heads, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights after a 24 hour flight from Australia. We were pretty tired the first night but had a great day in Milan the next day before heading off to Budapest for our river cruise to Amsterdam.

The hotel, really a B&B nowadays, is in a very old building that has been nicely preserved and it contains some wonderful old furniture and lovely paintings. It has a wonderful, homely feel to it and this is enhanced by the wonderful assistance provided by the reception staff and the nice breakfast that is included in the cost. Our room was comfortable and quiet and had a very modern bathroom with a tiny tiny shower - but we managed.

We took the advice of the reception staff in dining at the 2 restaurants opposite the hotel and both were very impressive, particularly the one on the left called Gastronomia where the owner greeted us like long lost friends and proceeded to serve us a 5 course meal of his design that was just delicious and very reasonably priced.

The hotel staff provided us with street maps and we walked quite a few kilometres on our full day there with the highlight undoubtedly being the Duomo. A word of warning at the Duomo where there are masses of tourists and even more pidgeons - we were confronted by a friendly young man who placed corn in our hand and encouraged the birds to fly onto the hand and feed. He even took photos of us, with our camera, with the Duomo providing an appropriate background. We thought this was great and I chose to pay him a tip of 5 euro which was pretty good given that he would have spent say 2 minutes with us. He was quite insistant on wanting 50 Euro but provided no scene when we chose to walk away. We have some great photos for our 5 Euro and I am sure he has a very lucrative business.

We choes to stay here because of the many positive comments made on TripAdvisor by past visitors and we can only endorse these comments and thoroughly recommend San Guido as a homely, comfortable B&B that is excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steljon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed here for one night as a stopover in Milan on our way home. This is a great value for money hotel with a quaint feel to it, and was ideal for our needs. As ever, we're happy with a clean room, good shower and a decent breakfast, and this didn't disappoint! The lady running the breakfast room was lovely, and brought us excellent coffee! This hotel has good transport links with the metro and the trams, and there were lots of interesting looking shops and bars just a few streets away on Corso Como. We had a great pizza just along the road (Viale Francesco Crispi) at Fabbrica Pizzeria Con Cucina. I don't have much more info to give as our stay was short, but we were happy with this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quite_particular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This hotel is excellent value. The room and amenities were all very clean. The tram stop (no.2) is right outside of hotel and takes you to the Duomo in 10 minutes. Sara was a very hospitable host who made us feel welcome on our stay. The breakfast was excellent, with great cappuccinos made by Sara. The staff were very helpful in reccommending restaurants. If we ever return to Milan we would be glad to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafayette5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The staff were very nice, polite and friendly, which made my trip much more pleasant. As others have mentioned, nice funishings. Clean, efficient place. A city hotel, so a bit noisy with windows open, but there's air conditioning. About 5 minutes from the metro, maybe 25 minute walk to the Duomo. I paid 80 euro a night for a single room (single bed), which I was happy to find. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterC1975a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petah tikva
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

First, I would NOT call the breakfast "very poor" :). It was enough to fill me, and it was good-tasting, and variable. Fresh fruit was a nice touch.

The single room on the 1st floor was spacious and well-furnished, the bathroom looked newly refurbished, the towels were changed daily, and the small refrigerator was very convenient. The window was to the busy street, but the glass was thick and with closed window there was no noise.

TV had only Italian channels, but I do not care for TV anyway :)

Free wifi was working OK, but only in the lobby. Lobby was very comfortable so it was no real problem.

The staff was wonderful, very helpful. The place is good for walking to the city center, historical places and to shopping streets, and has good public transportation links

All in all - a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europelover48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I chose this hotel based on the reviews on this site and I must say it was not as good as described here. We chose a triple room, and paid only 75 euro/night, which was a great deal. I think we used Bookings.com.

Firstly, the hotel is very pretty, old style with lots of old and beautiful decorations, paintings etc. I liked this.

The location is not amazing. Some 25 mins walking from the center, but in an area with immigrants, the Chinese street was some minutes away, plus most of the restaurants around were Turkish kebab etc. This will not really bother you, but bear in mind that the location is not amazing.

The only thing I did not like was the breakfast: included in the price, but extremely poor. If you want just marmalade, cakes and coffee, then you will be happy. There were 3 types of very good cakes, some marmalade, honey, juice etc, but nothing else except one type of ham. Bread was few. The waitress was refilling the bread basket with 2,3 pieces each time. So you had to wait a lot.

The service was nice, the reception was OK, one receptionist was extremely kind, all the rest just OK.

Wireless in the room is free, but very poor signal. I had to go in the lounge room downstairs for better signal.

I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Tocq
Hotel Tocq
#145 of 428 in Milan
72 reviews
Stazione Centrale
AC Hotel Milano
AC Hotel Milano
#96 of 428 in Milan
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Hotel Ritter
Hotel Ritter
#137 of 428 in Milan
1,010 reviews
Stazione Centrale
3 Rooms
3 Rooms
#309 of 428 in Milan
12 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Cervo Milan
Hotel Cervo Milan
#220 of 428 in Milan
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Guido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Guido

Property: Hotel San Guido
Address: Via Carlo Farini 1-A, 20154 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Guido 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Guido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Guido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing