We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three star at best !”
Review of Hotel Sanpi Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Ranked #44 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Three star at best !”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I can only judge this hotel on the basis of the room we were allocated and it was a small poorly designed room with a very small bathroom. Whoever rated this hotel four star needs counting tuition. To the Trip Advisor reviewers who gave this hotel an excellent rating you either were allocated a much better room or you need to get out more. The TV was the smallest I have seen in many years and the Digital channels did not work. Service was average. For example we went to have a drink in the garden area twice and both times waited and waited.....and when I asked at reception how to get served he shouted at me "He is coming" to which I replied "So is Christmas". The waiter when he arrived told us that he had to look after the bar, do room service and wait on tables in the garden......and that is why we had to wait. Never again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodandwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troisi, Direttore at Hotel Sanpi Milano, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Mrs and Mr Foodandwin,

First of all I would like to thank you for your stay in our hotel in Milan from May 7 for 1 night room 138 , and for average valuation you gave on tripadvisor.com, we read every day the comment and we try to improve our service to all our guests coming everyday including Australian.

According to your reservation done using a web well known agency we were waiting for you in a double standard room , however on arrival we have offered you a deluxe design room with Jacuzzi bath tub and a design bath room , room and bathroom have windows overlooking to the garden. Complimentary vip treatment was offered as all clients stay in dlx room.

I really personal apologize for inconvenient and time you had to wait our waiter in the garden during your stay , as you have seen we were very busy with many International guests , and some of my team was not available for some personal problem , we have discussed already about your complain this morning during our Internal meeting we will improve time , I hope you will remember only the calm and the flower of our garden and not the time you had to wait for the Barman, Please note that our Barman Christian is very appreciated by our clients for his professional attitude .

Regarding television size we have new sat LCD from 20 inch to 32 Inch size. Unfortunately due to design of room with the bath tub overlooking to the bed , this room like other 3 rooms in the whole hotel have a sat lcd tv 20 inch. However please note that we have order new television for this room with a largest size .

Regarding tv channel selection , starting first week of April 2014 we offer free of charge to all clients 88 Sat and Digital channel Tv who include sport , Movies (Italian and English) and all main international channel. The full international channel list available free of charge to all our guest in all rooms including standards are the following:


59 CNN International Europe Inglese
60 CANALE 24H Spagnolo
61 TVE international Europa Spagnolo
62 BBC World News Europe Inglese
63 Euro News Inglese/french/
Italian/German
*
64 CNBC Europe Inglese
65 Blomberg Europe Tv Inglese
66 Smni Inglese
67 MTV Music Inglese
68 Sat.1 Deutschaland Tedesco
69 Pro Sieben Deutschland Tedesco
70 Kabel Eins Deutschland Tedesco
71 Sat. 1 Gold Tedesco
72 N 24 Tedesco
73 Bvn Tv Europa Olandese
74 1 Tv Rus Europa Russo
75 Cnl Europa Russo
76 Soyuz Russo
77 24 Tv Russo
78 Armenia 1 Tv Satellite Armeno
79 RT Russian Today Inglese
80 CCTV News -Chinese Inglese
81 France 24 Francais Francese
82 TV5 Monde Francese
83 France 24 English Inglese
84 REDE-Record Europa Portoghese
Brasiliano
85 JSTV – Japan sat Tv-
Ext Src Giapponese
86 NHK World Tv Japan Inglese
87 Al Jazeera Channel Arabo
88 Al Jazeera English Inglese


Please note that from channel 1 to 58 are Italian , sport , and premier movie channel with two languages selection ( Italian or English)

Hoping to see you again in Milan , I wish you a nice week end .

Mauro Troisi
hotel Sanpi Milano
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    446
    145
    34
    6
See reviews for
167
400
51
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calne
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

agent, but very disappointed in the double room. ( realised after that we were ripped off and should have had a suite for what we paid ) Although the room was very clean, it was very small and extreamly hot as the air con was a useless. I was most unimpressed with the bathroom. No bath, It had only a shower with not much more than a dribble of water and the waste could hardly cope with that, so it was a bit smelly. In fact it needed completely replacing. There was a bidet though!! Breakfast was reasonable albeit the same every day including silly little plastic sausages cut in half. Hardly a great location either as the area seemed quite run down. Would I return to this hotel? No! Rip off city taxes too for visitors staying in hotels.

Room Tip: View the room first if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simplytrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troisi, Manager at Hotel Sanpi Milano, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Mrs and Mr simplytrue from Calne ,
I would like to thank you for your stay in our Hotel Sanpi Milano , and for the positive thinks you have mentioned : sleep quality , cleanliness , service and location , however I I really apologize for inconvenient you have mentioned , but let me try to gave you and all people reading some explanation :
- Regarding room with shower , as per our web site we have some rooms with shower and some with bath tub , it depend what you have booked , all rooms are different each other so next time is better that you simple ask to change the room direct to us on arrival , mostly of time we are able to do it free of charge or with a small extra charge.
- Air-condition , during last weeks we had air con open however due to some clients request (some ask for a eating ) we swich it off because it was very cold and rain in Milan , however starting May 7 we have restarted again with the air-con open for everybody . Sorry In Milan we had an outside temperature from 10 to 17 degree.
- Regarding the breakfast served in the mooring we have different thinks like scrambled eggs , ham , salami , turkey , 4 different cheese , 4 different vegetable , fresh pastry and croissants , and many more , regarding the sausage served may be you do not like it what about the rest of other food offered ? Do you know that we try to serve high quality food mainly coming from the region or the city ?

Hoping my answer and my apologize will be accepted , I wish you a nice week end.

Mauro Troisi

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

About 15 minutes walk to the Duomo and designer shops and about the same to the station. Cab from the airport cost €15 one way and €25 back.

Hotel staff are helpful and hotel is clean and quirky. Breakfast is average - basic continental but satisfying all the same.

Small bar and €5 for a beer or a prosecco.

As a previous reviewer stated, the are is crowded with Africans just hanging around and at times it's like that scene from Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds, but they're harmless and unthreatening. Two great restaurants directly opposite the hotel (carpaccio and a summer place) and there is a Brazilian right next to it. Plenty of other eateries around but don't expect them to open during the day - it is very much an evening city. Decent supermarket in next street as well so you can stock up on some beers there (some belgian)

Room Tip: Floor B1 is a strange mezzanine floor with led ceiling lights and the rooms have an unusual quirkine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troisi, Proprietario at Hotel Sanpi Milano, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear ScoobyDoo,
thank you for the pleasing review to read. We are delighted to know that you are satisfied with our services and facilities . As you said Sanpi hotel is locate close to many good restaurants such as: Joya (a famous vegetarian restaurant), Mamma Rosa ( a milanese cuisine and seefood restaurant), Carpaccio (a Tuscany restaurant ) and Maruzzella (a renowned pizzeria).
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sanpi hotel.
Kindest regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights just after Easter. Staff was very nice and helpful, the room was comfortable and clean. We had a room to the back of the building and it was nice and quiet.

The hotel has a small gym with 2 bikes, a treadmill and a multifunction device. Our plans to use it got derailed by very sore feet after walking all over the city.

It's located close to Porta Venezia and Republica metro stations and a nice stroll from the Duomo.

The breakfast room is in the basement and nice enough, but in the summer it's wonderful to enjoy the extensive selection in the little courtyard

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ALysebjerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morecambe
Level Contributor
176 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Sanpi is a well run, smart hotel, with excellent standards, nice rooms and a good breakfast offer. There were hundreds of African migrants just 'hanging around' and serving no useful purpose. The manager that I spoke to about this gave me a 'politically correct' response, about it being a multicultural area, which isn't a lot of use when you are having to take your kids into the middle of the road to avoid them. It's also quite a hike to the nearest Metro Station. On the credit side, there a couple of really good restaurants on the street close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troisi, Direttore at Hotel Sanpi Milano, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Mrs and Mr Alan ,

First of all I would like to thank you so much for your stay in our hotel from April 13th for two days in our room 501 with your family and for your time spend in order to write review in to the web .

We have take note that you have found our property very clean , you have appreciated our breakfast and you have well sleep in the room , the staff a and the service you had was perfect and well appreciated.

Unfortunately you were not satisfy about hotel Sanpi Milano Location , as you have noted we are at 200 meters far from Corso Buenos aires / Porta Venezia and Piazza Repubblica , for us means down town and shopping area , direct subway to the trade fair and congress center and direct line to the Duomo or Scala. From our hotel you can also walk to the Duomo or Scala (10 minutes walking). Porta Venezia area is one of more requested residential area in Milan for many reasons the most important one are the reason above , apartment cost around 6-8.000 euro per sqm , 99 % of people leaving here are Italian. As you have seen and mentioned 3 block far away from our hotel sometime during the day some Ethiopian people are on the street , those people looks different from us because have a different skin color however as far as I know they are ok , they do not annoy people , they do not sell drugs or rob anyone walking around.

Milan like New York ,London and Paris is a cosmopolitan city with more than 150 ethnic groups , however like New York or London is safe and well appreciated by tourist travelling from all over the world.

Hoping to be able to welcome you and your family again in our hotel , I wish you a nice long week end.

Mauro Troisi
Sanpi Hotel Milano manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

An excellent hotel, truly efficient, with a beautiful garden that offers an oasis of calm in the heart of Milano. For dinner, the staff recommended Il Carpaccio across the street... excellent food, amazing ambience. What made the Sanpi outstanding for us was the staff. We had a delay in obtaining our tickets to La Scala --- they arrived just 60 minutes before the performance. The staff worked hard for 24 hours, calling the ticket agent on our behalf, hammering them for our tickets. It was a living Italian drama, and we bonded well with the staff who took on our problem and solved it with gusto.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a city hotel. There are city noises even on a quiet side street like this one the garbage must be collected and deliveries made. Travel with earplugs. They cost $1.
This is Italy. The rooms are small. Get over it.
This is Hotel Sanpi. The service is superior. Enjoy it. They reception staff makes good dining recommendations and speaks a variety of languages. The extra services they provided me even before my visit were above and beyond the call of duty.
The intimate and charming garden are a rare treat in a big city.
The rooms are clean and well supplied with a minibar, hairdryer, shampoo etc. The breakfast is more than a typical continental one. The subway stop is close by, putting the whole city at your feet. I walked by myself from the train station to the hotel, now that is a bonus.
My group used 10 rooms and I had not one complaint from 18 people. Thank you Sanpi for making me look good.
BONUS POINTS- the Carpaccio Restaurant across the street and Mama Rosa's up a block are both worth a visit.

.

Room Tip: The family room in the garden offers an amazing opportunity for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoriginalgogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#42 of 428 in Milan
740 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Plus Hotel Felice Casati
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Machiavelli
NH Milano Machiavelli
#53 of 428 in Milan
1,018 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Windsor Hotel Milano
Windsor Hotel Milano
#61 of 428 in Milan
1,813 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#26 of 428 in Milan
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sanpi Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanpi Milano

Property: Hotel Sanpi Milano
Address: Via Lazzaro Palazzi 18 | Corso Buenos-Aires/Area Porta Venezia, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#40 Family Hotel in Milan
#49 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#58 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sanpi Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sanpi Milano is a modern 4 stars boutique hotel member of the international chain Worldhotels. The hotel is made up of three buildings built at the end of the 19th century, and it has recently been renovated in accordance with a catchy design. The common spaces are inspired by a refined artistic taste thanks to the paintings of contemporary artists.The Hotel is located in the city center, exactly between Piazza Repubblica and Porta Venezia Corso Buenos Aires: the railway link stops in both and it connects with the nearby cities. The Duomo (Cathedral) and la Scala (Opera House) of Milano are reachable on foot. In fact in 10 minutes you will be there and in the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele and Montenapoleone street. The hotel is located in Via Lazzaro Palazzi that is a side street of Corso Buenos Aires, the longest shopping street in Europe. In addition the Sanpi is 200 meters far from the main subway lines (red line MM1 Porta Venezia which arrives directly to the exhibition center; yellow line MM3 Repubblica; green line MM2 Centrale). In 5 minutes on foot you can arrive to the Central Station (Air Terminal) and in the surroundings you can find as well the Garibaldi Station (High speed train terminal).The room experience offered from the Sanpi is just unique: 79 rooms one different from each other with atmospheres that range from the modern style interiors conceived by a famous architect studio, to the classic style of vintage furniture. Different rooms are provided with balcony that overlooks the beautiful internal garden, at shelter from the city noise. All the rooms are soundproof and equipped with air conditioning, parquet floor, free satellite TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and in the Suite and Deluxe type there is the hydro-massage bathtub.Within the hotel the guests have access to the modern fitness room Technogym wellness, to the lovely bar on the interior garden where they can be lulled by the silence: the ideal place to taste a cocktail and relax at the same time. In the light restaurant a selection of the best Italian tradition is served together with vintage wines. The small villa, which was once a crossing keeper box, represents now an exclusive house in our private garden. The Business corner is equipped with a PC with internet connection, a printer, fax and a photocopier and it is always at the guests' disposal. The Venice meeting room of 85 sqm can host corporate meeting thanks to the natural light and to all the necessary technical devices such as stereo surround, tv projector, board with changeable sheets.The Hotel Sanpi Milano is member of the international hotel chain Worldhotels and it is identified by the code WW in the GDS systems. The reservations can be done directly or using GDS or internet or mail.thank you for your attention and time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sanpi Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanpi Milano Hotel
Sanpi Milano Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing