We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay! ”
Review of Hotel Sanpi Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Ranked #44 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved our stay! ”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The air conditioning is a blessing especially in summer! The staff were lovely and the breakfast was wonderful. The location can seem a little scary at first with a lot of people sitting on the street outside little cyber cafés or bars but they are harmless and keep themselves to themselves. The garden bar is fantastic and is exactly what you need after a long day of sightseeing. Loved this hotel!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laurenbirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    452
    146
    34
    6
See reviews for
167
404
54
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Russell Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Sanpi for 3 nights and thoroughly recommend. First thing to comment on is other reviewers' comments on the locality - the hotel is in a one way street a few blocks from Vue Buenos Aires, a major shopping street. It's near the subway and a tram line. The area is not just occupied by traditional Italians - there are lots of people from mainly an African background, although when in the laundromat we also met people from Peru and Brazil. It is perfectly safe but if you are not used to close living with lots of people hanging around in the streets it might seem a bit threatening - it isn't! The hotel is quirky in that it's several buildings joined by walkways, with the prettiest central garden (with garden tables and chairs). Adjoining one side of the hotel and behind it are high rise apartments - sounds awful but it's great to look up and see people living around you. The walkway to our room had sparkly lights studded in the ceiling, our room was pleasant but not luxurious. Great bed and linen and large bathroom, including a spa bath! Room had a very useful sized writing desk, mini bar and cable TV. No tea and coffee making facilities. The staff and service are excellent and very helpful. Hotel very well run and very clean. About 10 minutes to walk into town, and about same to centrale train station. Lots of little restaurants literally outside the front door. You can also eat in, would certainly recommend having drinks in the garden in the afternoon - always free nibbles too! Breakfast fine, perhaps some more interesting bread choices would have been good. There's a gym we used, used to be the wine cellar - can get a bit hot. Can't imagine a better choice at the the price in Central Milan.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clubglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We recently enjoyed our stay at Hotel Sanpi. After a long flight from Australia it was nice to check into a clean, comfortable and good size hotel room. The only fault with our room was that there was no window, only a door which went onto a small balcony with a view of rooves :$
But we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. The hotel is an easy walk (with wheeled baggage) from the Stazione, you can also catch a tram apparently. Hotel staff spoke excellent English and were helpful with restaurant recommendations. We ate at a restaurant across the road, on the corner, which was family-run and excellent. We left a shaving mirror in the room and my husband returned to the hotel a week later to ask if it had been found, but it had not been handed in, which was a little disappointing. The breakfast was ample and tasty. Great coffee!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My husband had business meetings in Milan so our family went with him. We chose this hotel because it was quaint and centrally located so thatwe could walk to everything. We extended our vacation on both sides of his 3 days of meetings so that we could travel by train for a day trip to Florence and one day to Venice. The train station( great bakery inside) is just a few blocks and there are nice restaurants on the walk. Other days we walked to the Duomo and shopping which is within walking distance in the other direction. The food at the hotel is great. I still eat croissants and yogurt for breakfast after visiting there. My kids (17 &24) and I would go back to the hotel bar to eat dinner. Thank you for taking such good care of us while my husband was away for those 3 days. We still talk about how good the food was especially the pesto pasta. Eating panini and caprese salads out in the courtyard was a treat for someone from New Hampshire. The rooms are clean and comfortable and we felt at home there. The European showers are on the small side so don't be surprised. The hotel is on a small side street .Next time we go back we are going to try the restaurant at the end of the street heading for the train station. Heard good reviews. The staff took very good care of us and we would go back there in a second.They are friendly and English was no problem. One tip I can give you-only two people with luggage at a time in the elevator.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Sanpi Milan for 7 nights in August 2014. Very happy with our room, good size bathroom although the shower cubicle could be a bit larger. The staff were friendly and accomodating when we required information etc. Nice and close to Metro Station (5 min) and Milano Central Railway Station(15min). Breakfast is included and is of a good standard with plenty of choices. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 115
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cec K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a lovely hotel with reasonably sized rooms and both enough closet space and space for cases. The bathroom was a touch on the small side but big enough to move around in comfortably.
Breakfasts were good offering a wide choice and the staff were friendly.
The hotel is within walking distance of the Duomo (but its probably about 20 mins) and other sites however as the metro is only a couple of minutes away and fairly cheap its probably worth catching it - certainly coming back on an August evening.
It also has the distinction of being the only hotel I've stayed in with a gym in a former wine cellar..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santander, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is a very good option if you are planning a 5-7 days visit to Milano. I went there with my girlfriend and we enjoyed our stay a lot. Although our room was on the first floor quite close to the elevator we could sleep very good at night. Our room was nice and very clean (but a bit small) with a fully renovated bathroom. The hotel has also a small fitness room (enough if you are planning to do some exercise). The breakfast buffet was very good, it has everything you need to get ready for the day (italian pastry, great variety of fruits, different types of bread, cold meat,...). The location is also quite good, you can reach all interesting places either by walking or by taking the metro (quite close to the hotel) and the central train station is not very far away (if you are planning to reach the airport using public transport). It has also plenty of different restaurants/ice cream shops/bars around.
I recommend it!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLOP78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#38 of 428 in Milan
751 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Plus Hotel Felice Casati
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Machiavelli
NH Milano Machiavelli
#49 of 428 in Milan
1,031 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#25 of 428 in Milan
467 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Windsor Hotel Milano
Windsor Hotel Milano
#63 of 428 in Milan
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sanpi Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanpi Milano

Property: Hotel Sanpi Milano
Address: Via Lazzaro Palazzi 18 | Corso Buenos-Aires/Area Porta Venezia, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#40 Family Hotel in Milan
#49 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#58 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sanpi Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sanpi Milano is a modern 4 stars boutique hotel member of the international chain Worldhotels. The hotel is made up of three buildings built at the end of the 19th century, and it has recently been renovated in accordance with a catchy design. The common spaces are inspired by a refined artistic taste thanks to the paintings of contemporary artists.The Hotel is located in the city center, exactly between Piazza Repubblica and Porta Venezia Corso Buenos Aires: the railway link stops in both and it connects with the nearby cities. The Duomo (Cathedral) and la Scala (Opera House) of Milano are reachable on foot. In fact in 10 minutes you will be there and in the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele and Montenapoleone street. The hotel is located in Via Lazzaro Palazzi that is a side street of Corso Buenos Aires, the longest shopping street in Europe. In addition the Sanpi is 200 meters far from the main subway lines (red line MM1 Porta Venezia which arrives directly to the exhibition center; yellow line MM3 Repubblica; green line MM2 Centrale). In 5 minutes on foot you can arrive to the Central Station (Air Terminal) and in the surroundings you can find as well the Garibaldi Station (High speed train terminal).The room experience offered from the Sanpi is just unique: 79 rooms one different from each other with atmospheres that range from the modern style interiors conceived by a famous architect studio, to the classic style of vintage furniture. Different rooms are provided with balcony that overlooks the beautiful internal garden, at shelter from the city noise. All the rooms are soundproof and equipped with air conditioning, parquet floor, free satellite TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and in the Suite and Deluxe type there is the hydro-massage bathtub.Within the hotel the guests have access to the modern fitness room Technogym wellness, to the lovely bar on the interior garden where they can be lulled by the silence: the ideal place to taste a cocktail and relax at the same time. In the light restaurant a selection of the best Italian tradition is served together with vintage wines. The small villa, which was once a crossing keeper box, represents now an exclusive house in our private garden. The Business corner is equipped with a PC with internet connection, a printer, fax and a photocopier and it is always at the guests' disposal. The Venice meeting room of 85 sqm can host corporate meeting thanks to the natural light and to all the necessary technical devices such as stereo surround, tv projector, board with changeable sheets.The Hotel Sanpi Milano is member of the international hotel chain Worldhotels and it is identified by the code WW in the GDS systems. The reservations can be done directly or using GDS or internet or mail.thank you for your attention and time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sanpi Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanpi Milano Hotel
Sanpi Milano Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing