We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel ! Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #77 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Very nice small hotel.Very friendly staff and excellent breakfast.The location was great and it was so easy to walk to interesting places and stores.Everything was so clean and the room was great.The bathroom was nice and had a big shower and everything was very modern.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RD97_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Very friendly staff and excellent breakfast. The room was somewhat small, but the bathroom was of a high quality with a rainfall shower and huge soft towels. The price we paid for the room was very low (60 Euro per night for a twin), so the quality we received for this was a nice surprise! Also the garden is a great place to start your day! Also our room was on a busy street, but there was hardly any noise in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed there for one night.The staff was very friendy and help us to find information. The hotel is in a quiet area where you can feel safe.The builing is old enought but has a new reception.The beakfast room is pretty and anything we wanted for eating was there.The room had an extremely decorated bathroom with fototherapy function but the rest of the room was so small .The hotel is near the central station and you can take metro from piola or loreto.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thanasis44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We lived in Hotel San Francisco for 4 night ,had a very good expirence.

Milan is a great city .We love Milan .

I went to Teatro Alla Scala for Opera Das Rheingold,it is a great Opera,I am encourage.Hope can come again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 西班牙角度
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Hotel San Francisco is located in the university quarter called , Città Studi. There is a good connection to the Duomo. The Loreto underground is about 400 mtrs. from the hotel, but we preferred to take bus 81 (50 mtrs. from the hotel) to Lima underground and to continue by metro. Bus 81 is the same you have to take from and to Milan’s train station. A taxi costs 10 euro. The hotel is nearly completely refurbished which will be finished in September 2013. You enter the lobby by a short staircase, which makes the hotel less suitable for handicapped people, but inside there is an elevator to the three floors with a total of 30 rooms. Behind the lobby is the breakfast room which also runs out into the garden, where you can have your breakfast too. There is a bar in the breakfast room where you can have some drinks or it is served in the garden. There is an excellent wifi in all rooms for free, and every room has its individually controlled air-conditioner.
Staff is very kind and helpful. E-mails are answered within some hours and check in and check out went very smoothly.
We occupied room 32 at the rear. It is a fairly large room with a balcony overlooking the garden. In it there is a large double bed with an excellent mattress and two side tables. There also are a rather large linen cupboard, a TV (only Italian channels!!) and a desk. There is neither a fridge nor a mini-bar or coffee/tea facilities. The bathroom is fairly large too and has an excellent shower with a non-skid floor, a bidet and a large hairdryer and a washstand. You also will find soap and shampoo/bath gel. Room and bathroom are impeccable clean as is the rest of the hotel.
The warm/cold breakfast buffet is really good and abundant, although you have to wait sometimes for the strolls. You will find several meat and cheese products, different kinds of jam, yogurt, fruit, cereals and excellent coffee/tea. In fact, it was one of the best breakfasts in Italy we ever had.
The overall quality of our stay at this hotel made the price of 65 euros more than acceptable and so we can recommend the hotel wholeheartedly.

Tip 1: Diagonally opposite the hotel you will find the Ristorante Pizzeria Briciole. Very good and very cheap. Try the pinot nero white wine at 8,50 a bottle.
Tip 2: Do not use of the Hop-on-hop-off bus, it is not worth the 20 euro.
Tip 3: If you do not intend to visit several museums do not buy the Milan-card but only the one for public transport.
Tip 4: If you intend to visit Da Vinci’s ‘Last Supper’ at the Santa Maria delle Grazie do not forget to make an appointment the day before, otherwise your entrance is refused.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwmpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is a great place to be with very friendly staff, the best breakfast you could wish for (fresh croissants, really nice cappuccinos, and good tea).
And all of that for a extremely very decent price.
In addition, they helped me really well when I had to change my booking date.

Room Tip: Generally, the rooms in the back are quieter. There are some really nice rooms at the back that hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vintiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at the Hotel San Francisco for one week in June and I can confirm that the hotel is an excellent choice for travelers who are looking for value for money. The rooms were spacious with A/C and had all the necessary amenities for our stay except for a safe deposit box. Wi-Fi was available throughout the hotel at no extra cost and the connection was fast and reliable. Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and the room rate also included a buffet breakfast with a very good selection of items to suit all tastes and which included an English breakfast selection and a continental breakfast selection (including delicious croissants). The best asset of the hotel is definitely its dedicated staff who were extremely helpful throughout our stay, offered advice on restaurants and transportation, and also booked us a taxi for us at the end of our stay.

The hotel is located around 1.5km from Milan's Central train station however it is also well served by public transport - two Metro stations (Loreto & Piola) are located close to hotel, and the hotel is also linked to the central train station by Bus 81 which is very convenient if you want to travel to other places for day trips such as Lake Como, Lake Maggiore, Switzerland, and beyond.

Definitely an excellent choice for anyone staying in Milan.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malteser3085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasi Village Hotel & Resort
3.9 mi away
Lido Hotel
Lido Hotel
#70 of 428 in Milan
304 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
#154 of 428 in Milan
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspromonte Hotel
Aspromonte Hotel
#169 of 428 in Milan
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#135 of 428 in Milan
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco

Address: Viale Lombardia 55, 20131 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#79 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#84 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £59 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sober environments equipped with modern comforts, the 3-star Hotel San Francisco in Milan is a haven of peace with a private garden close to Piazzale Loreto,in a convenient location to reach the most important hospitals and Milano Centrale railway station. A 10 minute walk from Corso Buenos Aires, Hotel San Francisco offers its guests the warmth of a multilingual staff, many services and a meeting room equipped for small meetings, ideal for the business clientele visiting Milan on business ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing