We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart hotel, if a little far out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #92 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Smart hotel, if a little far out”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

It must be said firstly that although my friend and I booked a twin room, we were actually put in a single room with two beds. However this was not a problem and the quality of the hotel made up for this. The shower was excellent, air-con and free wifi came as standard, and the buffet breakfast was decent, if not as spectacular as other reviewers have made out. It's not exactly centrally located but it's 4 metro stops from the station, and the metro takes about 15 minutes to the Duomo and central Milan. I'm not sure which main shopping street a previous reviewer walked to in 10 minutes - we found it to be a 10 minute walk to the nearest tube station. One member of staff was particularly friendly and made us feel very welcome, and overall I'd definitely recommend Hotel San Francisco

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 797pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    248
    84
    12
    6
See reviews for
80
183
64
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 days. It was the best choice of hotels I could have done in Milan!
The room was big, with comfortable beds and big TV screen. The bathroom is just amazing: very stylish, it has a little button which switches on some light effects in the shower - it gives a relaxing effect.
Breakfast was above expectations: fresh melons and watermelons, pancakes, omelettes, sausages, yogurts, cereals and a selection of pastry. Coffee made in this hotel was great, one of the best you could try.
Special thanks to a friendly and welcoming staff, who are ready to help with anything 24/7. Great service!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daria_Anisimova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

we ended up here due to a overbooking at another hotel, im so glad that happened as this hotel was 100% better, the staff were so lovely and the breakfast staff were so obliging, we definitley would go back......

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Found this hotel on the web, based on the scores at various hotel rating sites like tripadvisor. I must say that the hotel lives up to the expectation. The rooms are nice, the airconditioning wasn't quite working when we arrived, but the staff corrected that immediately. The bathroom was nice, with a little button to switch on some light effects in the shower. Cute. TV was great. Loads of Italian channels, but that happens when you go to Italy. Breakfast was absolutely great. Fluffy pancakes, bacon, eggs sunny side up, maple syrup. It's like you are in San Francisco. Two things reminded us of Italy, having the breakfast in the garden and the wonderful barrista that made an excellent cup of coffee and did everything to please you along with the rest of the staff. This is one of the gems that you occasionally stumble upon. DId I mention the rediculous low rate? 60 euro for a double with a bed so big I almost couldn't find my wife. Will certainly visit this hotel again. As a matter of fact, started making plans already. WIthin walking distance of subway station..Almost no noise from the street..... Slept like a rose...... Staff helpfull......... No fridge in the room....Ah, found something that needs attention. Finally.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindlesspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Petersburg
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

A very nice hotel. The friendly staff. Delicious Breakfast,great choice of accommodation блюд.Завтракать can be in the pleasant courtyard that makes the start of the day just wonderful. Cleaning every day and cleaned very well. Situated on a quiet street, the noise at night was not. I would recommend the hotel to add a shelf in the tub, nowhere to put necessary for the soul of things, but that's the only drawback. Will recommend this hotel to all my friends and the next time again go into it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NataliaZavad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Modern, elegant, comfortable, the best hotel of my stay in Italy. The 81 bus takes you there straight from the central station. The staff was excellent, knowledgeable, and friendly. With an open bar at night for some drinks after your day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ucsbgrad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Hotel San Francisco was great. The location was central (10' walking to main shopping street & 2 metro stops from the center). The personnel was very friendly and helpful. Also the breakfast was rich and delicious! We recommend this to everyone!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stalia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#132 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#58 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.7 mi away
22 Marzo Hotel
22 Marzo Hotel
#28 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#114 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
#71 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
#175 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco

Property: Hotel San Francisco
Address: Viale Lombardia 55, 20131 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#79 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#84 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sober environments equipped with modern comforts, the 3-star Hotel San Francisco in Milan is a haven of peace with a private garden close to Piazzale Loreto,in a convenient location to reach the most important hospitals and Milano Centrale railway station. A 10 minute walk from Corso Buenos Aires, Hotel San Francisco offers its guests the warmth of a multilingual staff, many services and a meeting room equipped for small meetings, ideal for the business clientele visiting Milan on business ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing