We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of our Italy trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #75 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is pretty close to Loretto metro station, very clean and modern.
The breakfast is really good with wide selection of cold and hot food.
This was the only hotel in Italy that we had access to the air conditioner remote!!
Connecting to the wifi for the first time was problematic as it didn't happen in the room and I had to take all our electronic devices to the reception area to get them connected. Once connected, though, the internet was fast and there was no interruption.
The guy at the reception spoke good English and was happy to help when we asked questions about where to visit in Milan.
The hotel also allowed luggage storage after check out.
The price was very reasonable for our stay. Even taking into account the high city tax in Milan, this hotel was the cheapest accommodation (also the best) for our entire Italy trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HodaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Hegyeshalmi C C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel is quite close to subway station, and only a few steps away from the major stations. The breakfast had a pretty good selection, the coffee was fantastic, they made it for us when we ordered, instead of us just pressing a button on a coffee machine.

Despite the hotel's website says that they have air conditioning, but we couldn't turn it on. When we asked the reception, they said they won' t turn it on till June. Our room was quite stuffy and we didn't have window opened because we had mosquito bites the first night.

It took us a long time to connect to the Wifi. The first night, I couldn't connect even at 1 am.Once connected is quite fast though.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dorami-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Perfect place. Close to train station, metro, and walking distance to Duomo. Breakfast was the best we had in three weeks in France and Italy. Rooms were adequate and price was good for location. Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank by_ourselves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have been in many hotels in Milan.But most of them i like hotel San Francisco.it was very clean,comfortable,also i want to mark Mario who is in the reception very attentive to the guests,he knows his job very well,how to be polite with people.
About hotel i can tell everything is super.the breakfast is served very nice,everything is done on hight level.
I recommend people stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 206Mari198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms were large and clean. The service was excellent! Mario at reception was very friendly and went above and beyond to ensure our stay was enjoyable. I definitely recommend staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is definitely my type of a hotel..friendly staff,quiet neighborhood, plenty of local restaurants and walking distance to all types of transportation (trams, bus, Metro are all nearby). The rooms were big enough and always tidy, beds very comfortable, wifi signal is very good, and the breakfast is fantastic. They always have a cake served at the end of the buffet table sometimes with cookies. You also have choices of cappuccino, espresso, tea and cafe americano. The staff are very accommodating and always willing to lend a hand to make your stay comfortable. The only negative that I can think of is the all Italian TV stations which is forgivable since I am always too tired anyway when I come home at night. Overall all a very nice hotel manned by hard working and nice people. Oh by the way, there is a lift which is a rarity for this type of hotels in the area.

Room Tip: A room away from Lombardia street. It can get noisy in the morning when the garbage truck arrives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rdcjMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasi Village Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Aspromonte Hotel
Aspromonte Hotel
#167 of 431 in Milan
323 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lancaster Hotel
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 431 in Milan
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Lido Hotel
Lido Hotel
#93 of 431 in Milan
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#138 of 431 in Milan
463 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco

Address: Viale Lombardia 55, 20131 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#79 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#84 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £52 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sober environments equipped with modern comforts, the 3-star Hotel San Francisco in Milan is a haven of peace with a private garden close to Piazzale Loreto,in a convenient location to reach the most important hospitals and Milano Centrale railway station. A 10 minute walk from Corso Buenos Aires, Hotel San Francisco offers its guests the warmth of a multilingual staff, many services and a meeting room equipped for small meetings, ideal for the business clientele visiting Milan on business ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing