We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #66 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2008

I just stayed here for a night but I found it very friendly, and the amenities, including breakfast were fine for the price. I was recommended to try Briciole, a pizzeria with Egyptian as well as Italian food just up the road from the hotel and would thoroughly recommend this as a good value and friendly eatery. I had a seafood risotto to die for!
I took the taxi from the station to the hotel but was taken on an unecessarily long route. If you haven't got too much stuff then it's only 15-20 minutes walk from Centrale.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJGScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2008

My wife and I just returned from the Hotel San Francisco. I travel quite a bit in the US for work. I have rarely been treated as nice by a hotel staff as I was by the staff of this hotel. All of their dinner recomendations were spot on. They also gave us some great shopping tips.
The one area they really excelled was in their breakfast. The pastry was fresh and there was quite a variety. They had cereal, yogurt and a selection of fruits. They even made you a cappuccino.
We stayed in room 34 for 4 days at the beginning of our trip. It was a basic room for Italy. It had two twin beds and full bath. The room was clean and comfortable.
We stayed in room 62 for the last day of our trip, because we flew into and out of Milan and went to other cities in the middle of our trip. Room 62 was a little more expensive, but it was well woth it. It had a larger bathroom and a connected sitting room.
We will definitely revisit this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JFFWheaton_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

The price for the hotel was good. The room was pretty small, but it had its own bathroom which was kept clean. The room had A/C and a small TV with channels in different languages which was nice. The staff was very helpful. The location is kind of far from central Milan, but you are about 10 minutes walk from the Metro.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank omelete01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

We stayed and the Hotel San Francisco for 2 nights in May 2008. We found it to be reasonably priced, clean with a good sized bed and a nice view over the garden. The breakfast buffet had cereals, pastries, juice, yogurts, and tea/coffee. The gardens out the back were pleasant and you could sit outside for your breakfast.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful, we arrived very late due to flight delay which was not a problem. They also recommended a good Italian restaurant for the evening, a 10 minute walk away, which was fab! We also had a car which we were able to park outside on the street for free. The hotel is not far from two metro stations which will take you to and from the centre.

We recommend this hotel for people who are not looking for something luxurious, but something inexpensive compared to other Milan hotels. Although not central it is easy to find and easy to park and there are public transport links to the centre.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ludo-News
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2007

We stayed here twice on our recent visit to Italy. Since we flew into and out of Milan we looked for affordable and near to public transport. San Francisco met our needs and beyond. In appearance it is small, art deco style, with no real frills. The first three days we had a third floor room with a sitting room open to the back gardens. It was lovely. The room itself was large and clean. The breakfast service was similar to what we found through out our stay in Italy. The staff is excellent, delightful. They wanted us to fall in love with their city and we did. They helped us with things from international calls to where to eat. They were just so kind to us. We were readily accessible to public transportation. We were able to get around the city and enjoy the neighborhoods. We would stay here again and recommend it.

kate, boston ma

Stayed: October 2007
6  Thank kate68SomervilleMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2005

We stayed in a double that opened onto the garden and found it to be a basic, clean, affordable place. Most importantly it had airconditioning, which was key in the heat wave. The hotel's main drawback was that it was somewhat far from the center of the city, however, public transportation was quick and accessible.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ltmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
516
Reviewed 22 October 2004

We stayed in Milan since we needed to be closer to the airport since we were flying out the next morning. Good thing we were only there for about 12 hours. The room was very basic and I definitely felt like I needed to keep my slippers on and was wary of using the shower there. Be careful that if you flush the toilet, it blasts hot water onto the person in the shower. The location was kind of iffy as well...I didn't feel as safe there in comparison to other places.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasi Village Hotel & Resort
2.9 mi away
Lancaster Hotel
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 431 in Milan
865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspromonte Hotel
Aspromonte Hotel
#163 of 431 in Milan
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#131 of 431 in Milan
461 reviews
5.6 mi away
Klima Hotel Milano Fiere
3.9 mi away
Lido Hotel
Lido Hotel
#92 of 431 in Milan
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco

Address: Viale Lombardia 55, 20131 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#79 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#84 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £51 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sober environments equipped with modern comforts, the 3-star Hotel San Francisco in Milan is a haven of peace with a private garden close to Piazzale Loreto,in a convenient location to reach the most important hospitals and Milano Centrale railway station. A 10 minute walk from Corso Buenos Aires, Hotel San Francisco offers its guests the warmth of a multilingual staff, many services and a meeting room equipped for small meetings, ideal for the business clientele visiting Milan on business ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing