We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and near train station”
Review of New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Hotel
Ranked #185 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Shanghai
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Clean and near train station”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

You can see this hotel as you leave the Milano Centrale train station. The triple room had three single beds and a large bath. There were two bathroom sinks, which is convenient. Soap and shampoo were provided, and there was a hair dryer. The room had a mini-bar and a TV. The pillows were a bit thin. Breakfast is included, but we did not try it since it starts at 7 am, and we were on the road by then. Overall, the room was clean. The decor was black and grey, so the room seemed a bit grim. The main negative is that the walls were thin, so you can hear everything going on in the hallway and in the next room.

The location is very convenient if you are planning on taking the trains, and it is about a 30 minute walk to the Duomo. The train station area was somewhat nicer than similar parts in other Italian cities; there is not much to see since the area is partially offices and partially residential, but there are plenty of acceptable restaurants within the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyInShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    388
    286
    74
    43
See reviews for
169
326
107
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Islington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

average hotel. nice stay but could be better. the location is ok, but honestly u can find better hotels for the same price. the receptionist spoke english very bad and it was hard to comunicate. the hotel is fine though.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hailey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This time being in transit in Milano we needed a hotel room for one night in the proximity of Central Station. After reading reviews we picked out New York Hotel. Indeed it is located closed to railway station and metro station. And that would be all positive we can say about our experience here.

At check in, about 3-4 pm, we were given a room and when arrived on the floor, we noticed the room was still on the house keeper’s list for cleaning after the last occupants. So went back downstairs and eventually were moved into another room. This room did not meet our decent expectations at all. Inside it was a smell of cigarette mixed with perfume that couldn’t be taken out even we let the window opened until late night. Being quite cold and rainy we needed to cover during night, but couldn’t find any comforters, but only two thin old blankets that I decided better not using them. During mid-night the heating was turned-off for several hours (probably for savings) although this can be better done on a daytime when guests are outside the hotel and not when they sleep.

Bathroom looked clean, although it had a stuffy smell. Next morning had to go very early, so didn’t go for breakfast, but I think wouldn’t have gone anyway.

To me it was disappointing. Probably other rooms may be different and better than ours, I don’t know. But I know that I stayed in Milano several times and any time I left it with good impressions about the accommodation conditions, but this time did not. No, I won’t come back to New York hotel in Milano.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristi_Ionescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

TEL AVIV
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Really, if you are staing for few days, and looking for good location, you are at the right place.
Close to the central train station,not far(10min.) from the famous BUENOS-AIRES shopping area.
After 2 nights in a small (but very clean) room at the 1-st floor,we've been apgrated for another room- very big,with a lovely view to the central station bilding,and a big TV.It's really makes change!
But the reception stuff really doing good job- very politely, helpful -not in every hotel you can find it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAULATelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Convenient due to its location being right by the the central station and therefore the metro underground. The room was clean and the shower hot. Pillows are incredibly firm (my wife swapped it for a towel!) and the walls are thin (we could quite clearly hear the woman in the next room enjoying the attention her partner was giving her, if you catch my drift!). If on a budget, then this hotel is more than adequate.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Location was primary. It was right across the Milan Central Station. The room has not been cleaned. There were remnants from the previous occupant's stay. The decor was dated. You wouldn't guess it by looking at the lobby. The elevators are rather tiny, and can be inconvenient if you have a bag. The door looked like it had been kicked in at one point, and patched up with wood. Definitely would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f1999308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in december for a weekend away for my boyfriends 21st birthday, hotel was in a good location across the road from central station and metro stops, room was old fashioned and very dark, looked out onto a multistorey carpark at the back of the hotel but we were only in at night and it was clean. Tip though, try and avoid the room we had 215, was across the hall from the breakfast room so at 7am you were woken. We went for breakfast the first morning but was just croissants and cold meats so didn't bother after that. Reception staff were really helpful and gave us a map and great advice on how to navigate the metro. All in all it was an okay hotel if you just want it as a base.

Room Tip: Avoid room 215, looking into a dark multistorey car park and across the hall from breakfast room, wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#155 of 428 in Milan
550 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Auriga
Hotel Auriga
#156 of 428 in Milan
239 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Stazione
Hotel Stazione
#193 of 428 in Milan
324 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#79 of 428 in Milan
206 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#149 of 428 in Milan
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hotel

Property: New York Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Battista Pirelli 5, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Milan
Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing