We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget simple place to stay”
Review of New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New York Hotel
Ranked #177 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hotel was fine. The only problem for us was the heater in the room wasn't working so we had to rely on the bathroom heater to warm us during the night time (had to leave the bathroom door open, we weren't that fussed about it) If you want to have a decent/ budget place to stay this place isn't so bad. However, we booked ours with the flight package so it cost us about $500 in total. Breakfast was satisfying, good enough to fill you up for the morning. Service was good (staff was helpful and friendly) We got locked out of our room one night and one of the staff came immediately to help us get in. Just need to be aware of the tax you need to pay during check out. I forgot what it's called but it cost us about 35euros or something for 4/5 nights. This hotel is also close to the Milano Central. No rush especially when you need to catch an early train.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatumarioneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
There are newer reviews for New York Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very good location: closed Central Stazione, where the Malpensa and Bergamo shuttle busses arrived. With metro we can reach the centre of Milan and the Duomo until 10 minutes. The hotel was not very big, but it has got spacious room. The breakfast was appropriate for a 3-Star-Hotel: bakeries, salamies, cheese, vegetables, jams, cereals, juices etc. Bathroom was OK.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hellokitca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Hotel is facing the central train station, 2 mins walking from the station so it makes it easier to go around using the metro, the rooms are clean but small, but the price was good comparing to other hotels, they have also free Wifi, the hotel is very close to Buenos Aires , 5 mins walking, it is a very famous street in milano full of shops , cafes and restaurants, you will need to take the metro with one line change if i remember correctly to go to the duomo, i enjoyed the stay in the hotel, if you are looking for a standard clean hotel with good price go for this one, and put in mind the location is very good

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monymontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Used the New York Hotel recently during a 3 night stop in Milan. I was with a group of friends and we were not aiming for a high end hotel for this short trip. The hotel's location is great for the train station opposite and it is ok during the evening where safety is concerned. Breakfast is ok but it was the very first time since I have being travelling that orange juice was poured in a plastic cup !! So were the teaspoons !! I find this very strange for a 3 sta hotel. They also say that a bar is available at the hotel. True there is a bar counter in the breakfast area but I never saw it open at any other time during the day. I was given room 219, and I would suggest that you avoid this. It is located on floor 2 and at the end of a corridor, I was woken up at 5.45 am by the staff who were wheeling trolleys to a store opposite my room to take out the garbage bags !! Not a nice wake up call I would say. In all fairness, I must say that the room was spotlessly clean and so were the towels. The reception staff did their job in a very nice manner. Should you need a taxi, do NOT book it from the hotel. A 20 minute trip to Linate cost me 40.00 euro !! Too expensive ! So just cross the road and get one from nea the train station.

Room Tip: Avoid room 219
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vince a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Ideal for train travellers. From front of Centralo station, sight Pirelli building, largest in Milan and walk over the road towards it. You're there.
Staff very friendly, room great, very heavy curtains to block noise and light. Lift small but sufficient for large bags. Breakfast great. Location sensational, walk to Centralo and catch subway or catch a tram from either end of the street.
A couple of nice restaurants quite close or lots in Centralo.

Room Tip: None really, our room overlooked the street, but heavy curtains meant noise, sound no problems.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gelly57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed one night at the Hotel New York. We arrived around 10.30 in the morning and were able to check in straight away which was excellent. Booked early through booking.com and got a great rate.

First impressions- easy and friendly check in, the reception staff all spoke good English. Really tiny lift but it worked fine.

The room- small but well laid out, balcony facing rear carpark, shower had reasonable water pressure, comfy beds, quiet overnight, English news channel.

Neighbourhood- 5 minute walk to train station, reception provided map with a direct route to the Duomo or a scenic walk through shopping areas, there is a supermarket nearby.

Breakfast- cakes, breads, freshly sliced cold meats, cereal, fruit, tea, coffee, juice. Nice view over the stree (on the first floor).

Check out- easy though be aware of the tourist tax which is 4E per person not per room

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back to avoid any traffic noise
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie0961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed one night at the Hotel New York. The location was excellent as it was 5 minutes walk from Milan's Centrale Railway Station. The Metro for the city is also located at the Centrale Station and this meant it was easy for us to get around and see a few things in our limited timeframe. In this regard the staff could not have been more helpful. Very professional, friendly and welcoming - explaining what to see and how to get there with a minimum of fuss. The hotel room was spacious, modern, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was included and it was very enjoyable. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel - particularly if you are travelling by rail.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Auriga
Hotel Auriga
#158 of 426 in Milan
250 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#146 of 426 in Milan
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Stazione
Hotel Stazione
#193 of 426 in Milan
326 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#64 of 426 in Milan
226 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#153 of 426 in Milan
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hotel

Address: Via Giovanni Battista Pirelli 5, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £101 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Milan
Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing