We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to train station and budget”
Review of New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New York Hotel
Ranked #183 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very close to train station and budget”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed one night while transferring in Milan ( as had to take train early next morning).
Location was fantastic as it's only about 5-10 min walk from train station. Comfortable enough stay for just one night.

Room was a bit stuffy and could see bedroom wall a it dirty.
Bedsheets and pillows seemed clean.
Furnitures were dated and simple.
Bathroom clean but no shower curtain hence floor would get really wet.
Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toffee279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    389
    286
    74
    43
See reviews for
169
327
107
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice hotel only a couple of minutes walk from entrance of Milan Central Train Station.
Staff were friendly and helpful upon check in, during our stay and check out and had no problems helping out with directions and any questions we had.
Room was a double room, comfortable with everything that you need.
Breakfast had a good variety and was very nice.
I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazza996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hotel was fine. The only problem for us was the heater in the room wasn't working so we had to rely on the bathroom heater to warm us during the night time (had to leave the bathroom door open, we weren't that fussed about it) If you want to have a decent/ budget place to stay this place isn't so bad. However, we booked ours with the flight package so it cost us about $500 in total. Breakfast was satisfying, good enough to fill you up for the morning. Service was good (staff was helpful and friendly) We got locked out of our room one night and one of the staff came immediately to help us get in. Just need to be aware of the tax you need to pay during check out. I forgot what it's called but it cost us about 35euros or something for 4/5 nights. This hotel is also close to the Milano Central. No rush especially when you need to catch an early train.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatumarioneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very good location: closed Central Stazione, where the Malpensa and Bergamo shuttle busses arrived. With metro we can reach the centre of Milan and the Duomo until 10 minutes. The hotel was not very big, but it has got spacious room. The breakfast was appropriate for a 3-Star-Hotel: bakeries, salamies, cheese, vegetables, jams, cereals, juices etc. Bathroom was OK.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellokitca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Hotel is facing the central train station, 2 mins walking from the station so it makes it easier to go around using the metro, the rooms are clean but small, but the price was good comparing to other hotels, they have also free Wifi, the hotel is very close to Buenos Aires , 5 mins walking, it is a very famous street in milano full of shops , cafes and restaurants, you will need to take the metro with one line change if i remember correctly to go to the duomo, i enjoyed the stay in the hotel, if you are looking for a standard clean hotel with good price go for this one, and put in mind the location is very good

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monymontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Malta
Level Contributor
308 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Used the New York Hotel recently during a 3 night stop in Milan. I was with a group of friends and we were not aiming for a high end hotel for this short trip. The hotel's location is great for the train station opposite and it is ok during the evening where safety is concerned. Breakfast is ok but it was the very first time since I have being travelling that orange juice was poured in a plastic cup !! So were the teaspoons !! I find this very strange for a 3 sta hotel. They also say that a bar is available at the hotel. True there is a bar counter in the breakfast area but I never saw it open at any other time during the day. I was given room 219, and I would suggest that you avoid this. It is located on floor 2 and at the end of a corridor, I was woken up at 5.45 am by the staff who were wheeling trolleys to a store opposite my room to take out the garbage bags !! Not a nice wake up call I would say. In all fairness, I must say that the room was spotlessly clean and so were the towels. The reception staff did their job in a very nice manner. Should you need a taxi, do NOT book it from the hotel. A 20 minute trip to Linate cost me 40.00 euro !! Too expensive ! So just cross the road and get one from nea the train station.

Room Tip: Avoid room 219
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vince a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Ideal for train travellers. From front of Centralo station, sight Pirelli building, largest in Milan and walk over the road towards it. You're there.
Staff very friendly, room great, very heavy curtains to block noise and light. Lift small but sufficient for large bags. Breakfast great. Location sensational, walk to Centralo and catch subway or catch a tram from either end of the street.
A couple of nice restaurants quite close or lots in Centralo.

Room Tip: None really, our room overlooked the street, but heavy curtains meant noise, sound no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelly57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Auriga
Hotel Auriga
#156 of 428 in Milan
240 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#161 of 428 in Milan
551 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Stazione
Hotel Stazione
#189 of 428 in Milan
324 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#83 of 428 in Milan
207 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#148 of 428 in Milan
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hotel

Property: New York Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Battista Pirelli 5, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Milan
Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing