We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, affordable and close to town”
Review of New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New York Hotel
Ranked #177 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is close to central station and a 20 minute walk to the duomo. The hop on hop off bus has a stop between central station and the hotel which was handy for me. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times and the breakfast was good too considering the standards of some European hotels breakfasts. The hotel lobby itself appears to be fairly recently renovated. The rooms are slightly dated however, they are spacious, clean and comfortable. Would recommend

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
There are newer reviews for New York Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

The location it is just a three minutes from Milano Centrale.
Easy access to the city. Many shops and restaurants within walking distance.
Clean, quiet and spacious room.
Good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saeed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location close to the central station, and it was also very handy for tram and bus services heading to the centre of Milan.
The hotel was beautifully cool, a welcome relief on a hot day. The reception was ambivalent, some of the staff were friendly and helpful, whilst one or two individuals in reception seemed to resent us being there. No complaints about the room - spacious, light and airy, and spotlessly clean.
The breakfast too was of a good standard, as usual offering far more than we could eat.
Finally, the cost of an overnight stay was very reasonable - another reason for being there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have very little good to say about Milan, but if you have to go there, this is a nice place to stay. For one thing, it couldn't be better located for getting to the train station and out of Milan! The staff are friendly, the breakfast is great. My room was nice and clean, with a pretty modern bathroom and a little balcony. It was rather hot when I was in Milan, and there's no air conditioning here. I found that somehow the air didn't seem to enter the room even with the balcony door open, so it did get very stuffy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The room was small, but clean. The location was close to the Centrale Train station and convenient to Metro. Internet was 3 Euros per day extra, but was well worth it, as it worked well.

The breakfast was very adequate with a lot of choices and good food.

This is a very good value. A decent place at a very good price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeandKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My views generally refect those of other guests. I am satisfied that the included breakfast was quite reasonable and that genuine attempts to clean the room daily were attended to. . As a weary traveller arriving before 11am I was grateful for early check in. The location of the hotel was convenient ,being in proximity to Central Station (in Milan).
I am not unfairly critical of services -but the following should be recorded.
The cleaning woman was good AT CLEANING. However she equally was NOT good at removing items from the mini bar at my request In fact she carried on like a bear with a sore head as she did so ,muttering to herself in Italian. She gave a repeat performance when the management moved me from one room to another(due to a defective safe in the first room).
A good cleaner -YES, a mini-bar person -NO!! She was suited to cleaning -not to handling even minor requests.
I found the same to be true in other staff. In particular one Indian looking staff member was GOOD at cleaning the banisters. Yet when at the front counter I asked for a 5am wake up call he said that I did not need one since I was not leaving the next day. .I told him I KNEW that I was not leaving the next day but that I had a daily tour trip (to Venice) and needed to arise early. He then said that he was wrong and that he was sure that I was leaving the next day!!
I invited him to check the facts on the computer to which he started mumbling something inaudible. He then asked me why I always went up in THE SAME LIFT-and why did I not give the other lift a try. . I said that I did not know that there a law requiring me to experiment with different lifts. To be candid I found him to be quite silly. A good cleaner of banisters-YES, an officer dealing with paying guests -NO!!.

Room Tip: Let staff do only the work thety are good -when some staff try to deal with guests they are shocking
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uym2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked this hotel as it was near the central station and were arriving in Milan late and catching a train the next day. You could see the hotel as you left the station and despite the closeness we didn't experience any noise issues.

The staff at reception were very helpful, knowledgable and friendly. The room itself was a little small and dark but it was very comfortable and we all had a good nights sleep.

The breakfast spread was a little depleted, we persistently had to ask for basic things to be replenished such as cups, water, and cutlery. It got a little embarrassing asking for so much but there was very little left.

The metro station was a 2 minute walk from the hotel and it was only 1 eruo 80 and less than 10 minutes to get to the Duomo. All in all very convent and handy place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephbunny4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Auriga
Hotel Auriga
#158 of 426 in Milan
250 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#146 of 426 in Milan
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Stazione
Hotel Stazione
#193 of 426 in Milan
326 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#64 of 426 in Milan
226 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#153 of 426 in Milan
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hotel

Address: Via Giovanni Battista Pirelli 5, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £101 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Milan
Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing