We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable choice for no frills travelers”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #258 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Redding, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Acceptable choice for no frills travelers”
Reviewed 10 March 2009

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and reviewed it for TripAdvisor in 2003. I stayed here again last week (March 6, 2009). I found the hotel a little more worn than before,and while this did not trouble me, I was put out by the price I had to pay. The same room I occupied on several ocasions in 2003 at 75 euros cost me 165 euros. I selected the Albert because some of the other cheaper acceptable hotels where I have stayed (The florida, Cristallo, and Menini, for example) were all booked. Prices wihtin each hotel fluctuate wildly depending on the month and week, and as Milan has many trade shows going on, if you find yourself having to book a room during such a time, you wil find prices 40-200% higher in the same hotel, than you might on an off season and no trade show week. This has always been a problem I have faced when booking Milan hotel rooms. Aside from the price they commanded, the room was clean and acceptable, and the service was friendly. Breakfast was good and consisted of various juices, choice of coffee drinks, a variety of cereals, and some sweet items such as cakes and croissants, plus a few cold cuts and bread.This used to be one of the lower priced hotels in the area, but in the last few years I have by-passed it because their prices have gone up disproportionately in my opinion. I am very familiar with the neighborhood, and while not sleek and ritzy like the Centro Storico/Duomo area, the reports I read from scared travelers seem greatly exaggerated to me. The Albert is a good place to stay if you are looking for a budget place near the station, provided you can get as good or better deal than some of the other hotels I mentioned, which i find comparable to the Albert.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertspano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perledo, responsabile gestione/ general manager at Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2009
dear Sir,
thank you for your comments. they will help us to improve our service.
Prices in Milan were higher than before because of the MICAM fair, one of the most important of the year.
We hope to have you here again in Albert Hotel your next time back to Milan,
Thank you again, best regards
the general manager - a. mosconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    83
    62
    22
    10
See reviews for
20
56
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

dato:10-14 okt 2008
A very good stay . Good service. Good hotel.and very good cleaning. we miss continental breakfast (bread was hard)
but otherwise ok.
E&J jensen Copenhagen

  • Liked — A romantic getaway
  • Disliked — dont know
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank oliviaDanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Booked this online and it was very reasonable!! The hotel was situated behind the central station about 5 min walk. Although other reviews have mentioned dodgey people hanging around, this is a little exadurated. Yes, like all stations in big cities, you did have beggars/homeless people etc but there was also a noticeable police presence so i didnt feel threatened at any time.

The hotel itself was very clean and the rooms a good size. The bedding was changed daily and the staff very helpful. Just round the corner from the hotel was a resteraunt called 'Le Chalet' which served amazing italian food at a very good price!

Overall a very good experience and would stay again!

  • Liked — Nice and clean
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgowow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2007

Just got back from a two day boogaloo to Milan with some footballing contemporaries. The room the person from Finland commented on was exactly the same room we have just stayed in and whilst the view wasn't great, the room was tidy, clean and ample for 3 scots on a quiet two day footballing break with Celtic FC.

Biggest disappointment was the permanent closure of the hotel's 'American' bar, advertised for being open until 4am. The staff were in no way inclined to open this bar though we did manage to get them to serve us 7 bottles of Nastro Azzurro at 4.30pm in the afternoon under some heavy lobbying.

Whislt the loacality is slightly dodgy, what area around a station isn't., overall value for money was spot on and the room was of a decent standard and only cost £25 a head a night, great value with breakfast chucked in.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHolyGoalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2007

We had a very unpleasant stay in this hotel. After arriving to the hotel we soon found out that our room was located in the far end corner of the first floor with a "magnificent" view of the backyard. Above all, the room type did not match our reservation. We had specifically reserved a room with a double bed, but got a room with two single beds at opposite ends of the room. When we complained about this and requested a room that we had reserved, the hotel staff was very impolite and responded that the hotel was full and no other rooms were available (it was 4:30 in the afternoon!). Obviously, the hotel staff and the person who proudly called herself the hotel manager did not know the difference between a double room and a twin room. She kept repeating that the room type should be indicated in the special remarks of the reservation, although the hotel has photos of both types of rooms in their website and you can actually choose a room type by clicking an option. The hotel staff has also a lot to learn about customer service skills, as the hotel manager preferred to yell at us for our indiscreet behavior in front of other confused customers at the reception.

As indicated in other reviews, the hotel is located in the "backyard" of the Central Station with weird looking characters hanging around even at the hotel entrance. You surely feel unsafe even walking the short distance to the station in the dark.

We do not recommend this hotel, if you expect any courtesy from hotel staff!

  • Disliked — Hotel staff / reception
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Velmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

I stayed here two nights in October 2007 on vacation in Italy. I needed a location close to the central station in order to save time departing early in the morning. I'll admit that the neighborhood wasn't the best, but I was at no point worried for my personal safety, and I was traveling alone. There are some quality restaurants nearby, the staff were more than happy to direct me to eateries and other points of interest. There is a metro stop and various tram lines nearby, and the hotel is literally 5 minutes by metro from the Duomo and other central spots. The room was a bit small for the price, but was clean and comfortable with modern amenities. Breakfast was excellent, highly recommend getting out of bed for the food. Overall great experience, would recommend this hotel to people with limited time and money wishing to experience Milan.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank saprissa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2006

We stayed in the hotel for one night in order to catch the early morning bus to the airportl.
The hotel is right behind the main train station and it offers excellent access to trains, busses, trums and the underground.
The room is spacious, spotlesly clean and air-conditioned and has a mini fridge and a tv. The bathroom was very clean, comfortable and obviously very recently renovated. There's not bathtub though, just a shower but we prefer having showers and not baths.
We didnt manage to have breakfast at the hotel as our bus was leaving very early in the morning.
If you want to book this hotel try booking it through a hotel website as you will probably book it a lot cheaper.
Be aware though that as the hotel is close to the main train station, you will see a lot of "dark" characters in the area. Dont forget though that this is ussually the case with every central train station area (think London Kings Cross station).
We would definatelly consider staying in this property again

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank colaboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#182 of 431 in Milan
525 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Demo
Hotel Demo
#296 of 431 in Milan
504 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Cityhotel Central Station
Cityhotel Central Station
#380 of 431 in Milan
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Ada
Ada
#240 of 431 in Milan
35 reviews
Bicocca
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#244 of 431 in Milan
360 reviews
Bicocca
Soperga Hotel
Soperga Hotel
#144 of 431 in Milan
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Property: Albert Hotel
Address: Via Tonale 2, 20125 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing