We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Star
Ranked #32 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business and wish that I was staying longer! Great location, fabulous rooms which are very modern, clean and offer free wifi. I ate in the restaurant in the evening and thought both the service and food were excellent. Breakfast was a good buffet selection. Would definitely recommend this hotel

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Jimvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel in Milan prior to joining a tour that included Venice, Lake Como, Cinque Terre, Florence, Assisi and Rome. The location is excellent, near everything I wanted to see and do in Milan. The prices are reasonable for Milan and for the location. The rooms are very clean with a very interesting and pleasing decor. The staff is helpful, the bathroom, although small, is modern and well equipped with plenty of hot water, shampoo, soap, towels etc. The breakfast offerings are excellent and cater to every possible choice. I can safely say, after what I experienced during the rest of my tour, that the breakfast offerings in this hotel were the best I experienced in Italy, especially when it comes to variety! The selections were almost as good as what I had in a London 4 star hotel!. All in all, I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Star and will come back if I am again In Milan.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CASenior14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Wonderful location but much more than that. Rooms were excellent, singles had balconies, great in Summer! Our twin room had the most fantastic lighting, also electronic shutters to block out light. Breakfast was good, great coffee machine! Location excellent for La Scala, Duomo, shopping, in fact perfect! Now the staff, SO, SO helpful, particularly Maria, nothing was too much trouble, helped with maps, suggestions for restaurants, churches, general sights, booked taxis, everything we asked in fact, always with a smile! Returning to Milano next May, would not think about staying anywhere else. Bravo!

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Poppysue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Recently stayed at hotel Star. Less than 1km from Duomo, 100m from metro, bus and tram stops. Slightly quirky interior which we loved! Great staff, lovely breakfast, good room close to small restaurants and cafés, excellent value for money in the heart of Milano

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karensheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel about a dozen times because it is in a very convenient location for my business travel. The place is always very clean and the staff is always friendly and helpful. The restaurant and bar are decent and breakfast is included with the room rate. The rates are reasonable but the rooms are small, even for European standards. Of course, I probably could get a better room if I paid more but I only really need a place to sleep while traveling on business.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuitarPlayer2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Star twice on our recent trip to Italy. The first stay was for 3 nights in a lovely double room on the second floor. We enjoyed the slightly funky animal theme, and stayed in the "leopard cub room". We found the room to be very spacious and modern with a nicely remodelled bath. Breakfast was well done too. We chose the location because it was walking distance from the train station with direct rail service from Malpensa. At the end of our 3 week Italy trip we stayed at the Star again, this time only for one night as we left from Malpensa the next day. Our room on the the third floor was definitely worth only 2 stars...it was MUCH smaller, with two twin beds that were not made up as a double, no remodelled decor and a much smaller and less attractive bath. There was nothing WRONG per se, but it was not what we were expecting, especially since we paid about the same price for both stays.

I would be sure to ask for an updated room when staying here, but would still recommend it for the location and the fact that it is on a very quiet street.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bnelson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed at the Star Hotel for a couple of nights with a friend. We took the number 73 bus from Linate Airport to San Babila (end of the line) which took around 20-25 minutes. Cost €1.50 each. As we only had small wheelie bags we then walked to the hotel which took around 15 mins. You could also take the metro from San Babila to Cordusio (2 stops). We walked to Piazza del Duomo, then through the Galleria Vittorio Emanuel which leads to La Scala and then the road to the left of La Scala took us to the hotel. There may well be a quicker way as well. We had a very friendly greeting at the Reception, were given a photocopy of a map showing central Milan and the wifi codes. Our room was on the third floor, quite small but very comfortable beds, very clean and great shower. There was plenty of cupboard space and a safe in the wardrobe. Wifi worked in our room as well as in the public areas. Breakfast was good and reception, especially a blonde lady called Maria, were very helpful with any queries.

The location of this hotel could not be better. We were able to walk everywhere ie Duomo, La Scala, Galleria Vittorio Emanuel, Brera District, Santa Maria Grazie to see the Last Supper, Castello Sforzesco, Piazza Carmine, Piazza Mercado etc etc etc. Milan is a very walkable city.

We had a very enjoyable couple of days and I would definitely stay here again and would certainly recommend to others. The only small negative I can think about is that the lift only takes two people - but that did not bother or delay us at all.

Great Hotel - Great Location - Reasonably Priced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoli18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#9 of 428 in Milan
1,401 reviews
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#123 of 428 in Milan
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Genius Downtown
Hotel Genius Downtown
#116 of 428 in Milan
706 reviews
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#37 of 428 in Milan
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Star

Address: Via Dei Bossi 5, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#63 Business Hotel in Milan
#84 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £126 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Star 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he location is perfect!Small and original, in the heart of Milan, in via dei Bossi, Hotel Star is the perfect solution among 3-star hotels in the historic center for both business trips and vacations for art, culture and shopping.A two minute walk from Teatro alla Scala, five minutes from piazza del Duomo and 300 meters from the subway, 30 very comfortable rooms, wireless internet, efficient amenities, courtesy and cordiality.An original and pleasant decor typify the 30 rooms at the Hotel Star which, thanks to all the necessary comforts and amenities of a 3-star hotel in downtown Milan, is the perfect solution for both business trips and vacations at a hotel in Milan.With parquet floors, especially important for allergy sufferers, there is an elevator to the rooms which include a choice between the classic, superior and economy categories.The rooms at Hotel Star can accommodate one to two guests in absolute comfort; the beds are large and, in the superior single, there is a full bed. Some rooms have a private bathroom with a shower or tub (multi-option shower/sauna and jacuzzi in superior and classic rooms), telephone, hair dryer and courtesy line. There are direct telephones, satellite televisions, a minibar, coffee and tea maker, safe and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing