We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and excellent value”
Review of Hotel Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Star
Ranked #32 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2009

I booked this hotel based on the Trip Advisor ratings, but somehow didn't fully appreciate how central this hotel was -- 5 minute walk to the Duomo, 5 minute walk to La Scala, 10 minutes or less to the Castello. It's near the metro and the tram runs a block away, so you can also take public transportation to the Central Train Station or to the Cadorna Rail Station for the express to the airport if you don't mind lugging your luggage a couple of blocks and negotiationg stairs (I took a taxi, which was about 10 Euros).

The staff is very nice and helpful and speaks excellent English. The rooms are o.k., clean and comfortable if not fancy. The rate for Milan was excellent. I booked a room with a "standard" shower, which was roughly the size of a phone booth. That was not an issue for me, but be forwarned if it is for you and be sure to book one of the rooms with big showers, whirlpools, etc. I was facing an interior courtyard so it was extremely quiet.

If you want to use the internet and didn't bring your own laptop to use their WiFi, they have a tiny ebook computer you can use for free. If you can't deal with the tiny screen, or you want to be able to print, there's internet in a business centre-like facility in the Duomo metro station (The hotel staff didn't seem to know about it and I didn't see it mentioned in my guidebook).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2009

I've stayed here for more than 20 years. The latest updates bring the bathrooms on the level of the best in Italy! The rooms are quiet and comfortable. The staff is delightful, helpful, warm, and knowledgeable. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papagena1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We were set on staying in the center of Milan, so Hotel Star was actually our best bet. We went in Feb to Milan, but our one night the city overlapped with fashion week. So prices were outrageous at all hotels.

The hotel is clean, but totally needs to be updated. The bathroom was out of some 1970s movie (though clean!). The room was totally basic, but not budget hotel basic, just needs updating. The bed was actually really comfortable, and the breakfast wasn't bad!

The woman with the wild blonde hair and many bracelets who works the front in the mornings is so knowledgeable and so helpful - she knew a great pizza place on the way to see the Last Supper, and she even looked up the restaurant we had dinner reservations at (that we made from the states based on the NYTimes review).

The location was perfect! 2 minutes from the Duomo, 2 minutes from La Scala, and 15 minutes by foot from the Last Supper.

So if you want to stay in the very center of the city and not break the bank at the Bvlgari hotel, this is your best bet.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2lambstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

A wonderful location - a one-minute walk from the Cathedral, La Scala, subway, etc.

The hotel is hard to get to by car (a lot of one-way streets; easier on foot.) If drive in to Milan, leave your car at the train station and take a cab.

That said, this is a charming old building, the prices are very reasonable, and the location is superb.

Many of the restaurants which cater to local business people are closed on Sundays - ask the conceirge for suggestions.

We were looking for the modern design center (mysteriously missing from guidebooks) and the desk staff worked with us to figure out that we meant the Triennale -- really worth a visit.

There is a lot more to Milan than the Last Supper & the Cathedral - several small museums, a science museum, and the extraordinary Triennale. Allow 2-3 days (or more if you want to shop or quick back in the parks).

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ready2Go2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2008

Stayed here for two nights visiting Milan before returning home. This was our last hotel in Italy and was our least favorite. The room was adequate and we could fit an extra bed in it for our daughter who stayed one night. The hotel and our room had a very tired decor and could use updating. It didn't feel fresh and clean like the other hotels we were in. The bathroom was very small and the only hotel that the hair dryer was more like a vacuum with no heat generated. However, the hotel did have positives-- excellent, easy location near the Duomo, on a quiet street, with very helpful staff and front desk. Breakfast was also adequate and well stocked.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

This was our first hotel stay in Italy at the start of a month long honeymoon. The location is great, very close to the sights - we walked most places. The front staff were helpful, the breakfasts were the most well stocked out of all the places we stayed. Coffee was great. Room was well appointed and large enough to accommodate us. We didn't have any issues with the size of the shower, but if you are larger, then I could see how you could. However, the best thing we liked about this place was the window shade! We had flown the red eye and were battling jet lag. Our first night we slept for an full 9 hours because the shade blocked out every bit of light. This certainly provided us a great start to our trip!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tllw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Booked a stay here based on its location and rating. We were not disappointed. Hard to find hotel on a small side street. Luckily, our cab driver knew exactly where she was going. Front desk staff was superb. Very pleasant and professional. Only place on our two-week trip that our bags were transported to our room for us. Nice amenities in the room, satellite TV, but couldn't find more than 3 channels in English (no biggie though). Great shower. Probably won't return to Milan, but if we did, wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank japindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#8 of 428 in Milan
1,420 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#33 of 428 in Milan
817 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 428 in Milan
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel La Madonnina
Hotel La Madonnina
#189 of 428 in Milan
166 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
761 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Genius Downtown
Hotel Genius Downtown
#113 of 428 in Milan
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Star

Address: Via Dei Bossi 5, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#63 Business Hotel in Milan
#84 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £125 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Star 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he location is perfect!Small and original, in the heart of Milan, in via dei Bossi, Hotel Star is the perfect solution among 3-star hotels in the historic center for both business trips and vacations for art, culture and shopping.A two minute walk from Teatro alla Scala, five minutes from piazza del Duomo and 300 meters from the subway, 30 very comfortable rooms, wireless internet, efficient amenities, courtesy and cordiality.An original and pleasant decor typify the 30 rooms at the Hotel Star which, thanks to all the necessary comforts and amenities of a 3-star hotel in downtown Milan, is the perfect solution for both business trips and vacations at a hotel in Milan.With parquet floors, especially important for allergy sufferers, there is an elevator to the rooms which include a choice between the classic, superior and economy categories.The rooms at Hotel Star can accommodate one to two guests in absolute comfort; the beds are large and, in the superior single, there is a full bed. Some rooms have a private bathroom with a shower or tub (multi-option shower/sauna and jacuzzi in superior and classic rooms), telephone, hair dryer and courtesy line. There are direct telephones, satellite televisions, a minibar, coffee and tea maker, safe and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing