We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Liberty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Liberty
Ranked #412 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Decent Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Having purchased the City break from Groupon, we didn't know what to expect. We arrived at the airport and got the city bus, which are around €7 per person, and then got a taxi to the hotel from the last bus stop which cost €11. It took around 1 1/2 hours travel, but cheaper than getting a taxi straight from the airport, and more convent than the train (as you arrive in T2 and the train leaves from T1).

We arrived at the hotel and were met by two receptionists. They were quick and attentive. We were given the option of 2 rooms, 107 which faced the front, was very large and had a bath, and 108 which was just as large, was inward face (the gardens) and had a shower. We chose the garden view as a tram goes right past the front of the hotel and didn't want to be woken up by this (although we don't know if you could hear it from your room).

The room was big with a king size bed, a wardrobe with a safe in it, which is free to use, as well as two arm chairs, a bench and lounge table as well as a dressing table.

The room was very warm and the air conditioning wasn't switched on during this time, however when you come in at bedtime its just right. You can open the patio door when you get in to allow air to come in and cool down if preferred.

The bathroom had a large sink and mirror, toilet, bidet, and shower. It was in a decent size bathroom.

The room was very clean and presentable. There is a TV in the room. The digital channels are all italian, however if you switch to analogue you can get a snowy CNN UK channel which is bearable to catch up with the news.

There is wifi available in the room and all around the hotel, but there is a charge of around €3 per hour. There are other options available but we choose not to take it out.

Breakfast was acceptable/poor, you have the option of 2 types of cereals, cheese (no ham when we were there) Jams, Honey, Chocolate spread, fresh rolls, fresh croissants (filled with Chocolate, Custard or plain) different biscuits. There is coffee in thermal jugs so you can just help yourself. Or the staff can get you an expresso or cappuccino. (word of warning when out if you want a standard coffee ask for Americano - if not you will get a very string expresso). The breakfast room had 8 'couple' tables and two tables for singles only - thus sometimes there is a queue and people are waiting for others to finish. Breakfast is servers from 0700hrs - 10:30hrs.

The staff are very friendly and can advise on the best places to go and what to see, as well as the cheapest way to get there (The trams are very easy and cheap to use and you can get them from near the hotel).

There is a small (un manned) bar at the hotel. If you want a drink they will come from reception to serve you. They bill this to the room and do not take cash. The drinks are far cheaper in the hotel then outside! I strongly recommend their hot chocolate - its think and rich and tastes devine. They have a table and chairs near the bar, or a group of sofas and chairs over the other side of the reception to the bar - its a very pleasant atmosphere.

There is lots to see in Milan - We recommend booking to see Leonardo's supper before you go (as its always sold out) - I am not an art fan, but is captivating. The church next door (which is free to go in) is also really amazing.

You must go and see Duomo di Milano - its free to go in, and its quite cheap to do the roof walk. We didn't take the lift and took the steps. There are quite a few but worth it as it helps work off all the pizza and pasta you will eat when there!

We took the tour of Teatro all a Scala as well. You have to pay of this €6 per person, but its worth it.

Cimitero Monumentale is also a must see - its their city cemetery - however is amazing. Every family have tried to out do the other with amazing graves, monuments etc. Ornate buildings and structures built for family graves are outstanding.

As our flight was late evening we checked out of the hotel but kept our bags at the hotel - it was all very safe. A taxi to the airport was €90, but luckily we met up with a really nice couple and we shared the ride back, thus half price - it took just over an hour but was really convent after 3 days of solid walking and eating.

Room Tip: Room 108 was really nice - but had a shower - 107 was just the same size, with a bath but faced the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lord_Treeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    28
    55
    44
    47
See reviews for
16
49
22
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcs, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

The hotel has nice furnishings and decor, but the feel of the place is let down a bit by carpets well past their best. Service efficient and polite, but you wouldn't say friendly. Reception area looks impressive, with plenty of original stained glass. Breakfast OK; I think there should be some cooked options in a buffet in a four star hotel even in Italy, but the cold items offered were good quality.Pretty convenient transport, with one tram stopping outside and others within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wychemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Liberty Hotel is a 4star hotel but in reality it's nothing more than a decent 3 star hotel. The service was decent, the room nothing fancy, very serious hotel and old. There was no bathtub (just a small shower) and a very 'oldish' atmosphere in all the facilities and rooms of the hotel. No special breakfast (just some ham, cheese, and croissants, cakes) with coffee. In general a decent, old, small hotel where you have a sleep relatively close to the centre o Milan (Porta Romana Metro Station - 3 stops from Duomo/7 stops from the Centrale FS). Wi Fi was under charge and only in the 1st or ground floor (I had to get out of my room in the 2nd floor if I wanted to check my e-mail with my own laptop!!!). Hotel's PC was broken.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimosP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

This hotel allegedly has four stars - this was probably the case for back when it was built - it is no longer in that range and probably has not been for a while.

It has some 'bling' elements that now just look tacky - golden shower heads, faucets, some jacuzzi-type bath tub - if you put them in contrast with the other realities in the (rather small) rooms: dirty walls/wallpaper, limescale in the bathroom, outdated electronics. To this, add the fact that the TV is tiny, no Internet is available, furniture is old (not antique - just old) and the bed is too soft. Breakfast is poor, but perhaps in Italy that might not be seen as a meal altogether. The staff however are friendly and helpful.

But say you did not come to Milan to sit in your room so you want to go out and do some sightseeing; the location of the hotel is good in that sense: there is a tram stop in front of the building (tram no. 9), subway is a few tram stops away (you can take the metro to the Duomo), the city centre is within reach: several "aperitivo" places, good pizzerias, shopping streets (e.g. Corso Buenos Aires - reachable by the same tram - no. 9).

Altogether, other than the location there is nothing special about this hotel. Value for money? No.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the main street - the tram can be noisy - but rather faces the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MiraBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

My boyfriend, Dave, and I, Natasha stayed at Hotel Liberty in Milan for 7 nights during our Italian vacation.

The hotel was quaint and had lovely glasswork and antique furnishing throughout the common areas. Hotel also offered a computer lounge where at additional charge you could get internet access on their computer or your laptop.

ROOM:
We booked a Double Queen Room which was clean and comfortable and offered a sitting area with a couch and table and a refrigerator. The bathroom was decent size but it had the smallest shower stall that we have ever seen. We had a pleasant view of the courtyard.

LOCATION:
We chose this hotel because of its perfect, central locations in Milan’s Porta Romana district. Hotel was walking distance or a short trolley or subway ride to the attractions, shopping and hot spots of this beautiful city. We quickly learned how to navigate the simple public transportation system and used inexpensive multi-day passes to explore the entire city.

The hotel was close to the center on Milan, Piazza del Duomo (Cathedral Square). Il Duomo is considered to be one of the most impressive cathedrals in the world and a must see. Note: as in all religious sites of Italy, no open clothing or tank tops are allowed. Women must cover their shoulders and upper arms, so it is a good idea to carry a light shawl or wrap in your purse. In some places you can purchase a paper cover in front of the attraction.

Also, nearby was the imposing Castello Sforzesco castle and Il Cenacolo where you can see Leonardo da Vinci’s “Last Supper”. Reservations in 15 minute intervals are required for the viewing, and they book weeks ahead. The front desk of the hotel will be happy to provide you with the reservations phone number, however to make sure you see it you should book it before your trip.

Milan hosts one of the most famous opera houses in the world, La Scala, near Il Duomo. We were lucky to see “Aida” there, and it was an unforgettable experience. Note: purchase tickets prior to you departure as performances sell out quickly. Front row box seats or gallery seats provide a good view. First and second row gallery seats provide a live transcription of the words with a digital read out. Avoid seats further back in the boxes because they provide no view of the stage.

Milan is famous for shopping. To experience one of the finest and most expensive shopping blocks in the world go to Via Monte Napleone in the Quadrilatero D’Oro district. Fine shops are also located at Galleria Vittoria Emanuele II, next to Il Duomo. For more affordable and eccentric shopping check out the Navigli/Ticinese area. This was my favorite place to shop and was a quick trolley ride from the hotel.

DINING:
Continental breakfast was included in the room rate. It consisted of cold options like pastries, dairy products, cold cuts, juices, coffee and tea. For an additional charge, you could order freshly prepared eggs.

Also, a quaint bar was located off the lobby.

If you wish to stock your room refrigerator with drinks and snacks you could walk down the street to the PAM Supermarket that had a wonderful deli and a large selection of local and international wines, liquors and spirits (yes including Limoncello!) at great prices.

Many restaurants, bars and gelaterias were located around the hotel. More expensive restaurants, even for basic food, were near Il Duomo. Beware, in order to avoid getting shocked by hidden charges on your bill, ask about seating and condiment charges. We were once charged extra 7 Euros to USE oil and vinegar for our 15 Euro side salad!

We really enjoyed our frequent evening trips to the Navigli Canal district which was a short trolley ride from the hotel. The canal was lined with numerous restaurants, bars, gelaterias and street vendors. It was such a fun, festive place! Our favorite restaurants, with great food and affordable prices were located there. Note: wear lots of mosquito repellant in the evening in this area.

We loved our visit to Milan! Hotel Liberty was a great choice and we will stay there on our future visits.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SunFloater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

A 4-star hotel not far from city centre. You can walk to Duomo or just take the tram which runs very close to hotel.
The service was excellent same as the price. The breakfast was very rich and the stuff friendly and helpful.
I think this hotel is a great choice and we definetelly choose it again if we visit Milan.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silver_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel was only 25 mins walk from the Duomo or 2 train stations away.
In the middle of lots of local restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Room over the main street noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beryl255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel D'Este
#224 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Crivis Hotel
#222 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Navigli
Hotel la Vignetta
Hotel la Vignetta
#164 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palladio
#52 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Hotel Piacenza
#260 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Lloyd Hotel
#332 of 431 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty

Property: Hotel Liberty
Address: Viale Bligny 56, 20136 Milan, Italy (Formerly CityLine Hotel Liberty)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#171 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityline Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing