We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, charming hotel.”
Review of Gran Duca di York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Duca di York
Ranked #9 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, charming hotel.”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for only one night. Milan was incredibly busy just before Christmas and this hotel offered welcoming relief from the chaos of Milan.

It was a great location, walking distance to the main sights.
The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, they offered a charming relaxing stay for us. The room was very traditional, clean and practical. The breakfast was really lovely set in a beautiful morning room. The hotel offered a petite bar in the evening with nibbles and very relaxing.

This hotel does not have the modern trendy furniture and design of the larger hotel chains, but it has the most charming, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. If you want a hotel with a great location, a comfortable relaxed old fashioned stay I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cove3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    363
    47
    6
    7
See reviews for
200
701
78
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire uk
Level Contributor
258 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Very good first impression on arrival. Excellent bedroom, well serviced with complete quiet at night. Reception efficient and most helpful. The bar area was functional with friendly professional service. Breakfast was perfectly acceptable but service was a bit stretched when the hotel was full. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room inward facing would appear to be less noisy but traffic at night very limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cannytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We were pleased to book the twin room for a very good price online, considering it is just steps away from the Duomo and the city center but tucked away in a quiet street away from the noise.

The beds were big and the room was cosy and bright (maybe recently renovated?). A big plus was that the staff allowed us to store our luggage for 3 full days before we checked-in since we were away for a weekend trip. That saved us a lot of trouble and they helped us effortlessly with a most friendly attitude. Check-in was smooth and service was professional and cordial throughout. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puristones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Its just minutes for Duomo,La Scala, Galleria Victoria Emmanuel and only 4 easy stops by metro to Central station so an excellent location. The staff are efficient helpful and friendly,( made very good restaurant recommendations and booked for us) the breakfast is very good, there are umbrellas to borrow and a small library of guide books by the guest PC. Our bathroom looked fairly new and was bright clean and well equipped..but without an extractor fan as far as we could see.
BUT there is no soundproofing in the room we were in ...it felt as if our neighbours were in our room and we could hear every thing and I mean everything from their room and bathroom. So probably they could hear us too! Our bed was soft and creaky. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The room wifi is unreliable and slow. The decor is a kind of mustard, with scuffs on the walls from orevious suitcases. And the flooring is a kind of hard crinkly linoleum! Can't they afford carpet? It is not a cheap hotel (£175 per night) and I think they could have done better with the room. Seems that you are really paying for the location.
Had we wanted to spend much time in our room it would have been rather despressing.

Room Tip: Check before you talke it,especially for sound prooffing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

5 min stroll to Duomo and gorgeous breakfast with bacon and eggs buffet as well as usual croissant and cereals. Is nearer Cardona station than central railway station so need to get the cardona express train from Malpensa airport. Booked online the family train ticket for €25 for the 4 of us, the airport taxi would have been €90. Taxi from Cardona station to Duca was €7. We had 1.5 days in Milan and was plenty of time for us. Then went to Lake Como, one hour by train from Cardona station to Como Lago Nord which is right beside the ferry that took us up the lake to the Hotel Darsena in Tremezzo , € 15 euro each on the ferry but the most breathtaking scenery passing all the gorgeous villas along the lake shore. The buses along the edge of the lake re much cheaper but you must do the ferry at least once.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room that was fun but spent so little time in the room could have done without it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndySianKateLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Loved this hotel - was only there for 2 days at the end of a holiday, but would have happily stayed on much longer. The location is great - 5 mins from the Duomo, virtually next door to the historic Biblioteca Ambrosiana, and quiet, quiet, quiet. It's tucked away down a small street, off the 'main drag' but within easy walking distance of everything.
Wonderfully comfortable bed, excellent lighting, lovely little patio, and well appointed bathroom. Good breakfast, and very helpful staff, who made sure things were comfortable and organised. I'd return any time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

A small boutique hotel a very short walk to the Duomo and all other major attractions. Staff are very friendly and helpful. A nice little bar great for a quiet drink after a hard days shopping. A number of reasonable restaurants a short walk away. Rooms are clean and well layer out. Free wifi.

Room Tip: Don't bother booking a room with garden terrace especially in cold weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francophilestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 427 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#15 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,306 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Duca di York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Duca di York

Property: Gran Duca di York
Address: Via Moneta 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Milan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Duca di York 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gran Duca di York is a little charming hotel in Milan.An establishment set in an 19th century historic palace .It is located in a very quiet street just few steps from the city center.The Atmosphere is very relaxing and the lobby is decorated with a collection of authentic frescoes.33 guest rooms completely renovated with free Wi.Fi.connection and free water and soft drinks in the room minibar.The daily rates always include buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Gran Duca di York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Di York Hotel Milan
Gran Duca Di York Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing