We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Duca di York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Duca di York
Ranked #11 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel last week for 3 nights. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Milan

Prior to our arrival I had e-mailed the hotel to confirm everything was in order with the booking (not made directly with hotel) and received an e-mail back the same day confirming same.

Every member of staff we came across were helpful and happy to phone us taxis, help us with directions etc. I would not say the reception staff were overly friendly but they did help out when asked.

We had one of the special rooms with its own terrace. Was a lovely large room with plenty of storage space. The terrace was a nice touch but unfortunately we couldn't really enjoy it due to the weather. The rooms was immaculately clean with a super clean bathroom (not the garish yellow style on one of the photos!). There was a free soft-drinks mini-bar in the room which was a nice touch. The only thing the room lacked was a small security safe.

The rooms were cleaned each day with fresh towels provided and the mini-bar re-stocked.

The breakfast consisted of cakes, pastries, fruit, cereal, yoghurt, cold meats, cheeses, rolls and bread. Fresh fruit juice, water and coffees/teas were also readily available.

The hotel is in a quiet street but is only a 5-minute walk to the Duomo. You could not be better placed!

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    360
    47
    6
    7
See reviews for
197
691
77
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
1,360 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,304 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

We stayed 3 nights at Gran Duca di York in April 2008. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the metro station that brings you in from Malpensa Airport (Cardrona I think). It is also a 5 minute walk to the Duomo. It is in a great position and in a nice quite street. The breakfast that we had was substantial and good value for a European Hotel breakfast. The rooms are small and functional but ours was clean and had everything we needed. The bathroom is also small, but overall I would definitely choose to stay here again because we found it to be a nice place in an excellent position. We actually found the breakfast and reception staff to be quite friendly.

  • Liked — Good position, good breakfast
  • Disliked — Smallish rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Belgo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
472 reviews
348 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

This was our favorite hotel among several hotels in Italy that we liked a great deal.

We stayed in room #107, which they call a “special” twin. It was pleasingly decorated, it had two double beds, and it had a French door that opened onto a terrace.

All staff members were pleasant and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious, and it was served in a pleasant room.

The hotel is located near the Duomo, but its immediate neighbors are office buildings rather than bars and shops. Nonetheless, the action is a short walk away.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2008

Nice clean hotel with a great location. Only 5 blocks fromDuomo, trolley, and shopping. Would stay here again if Ariston Hotel is not available.

Rooms clean, breakfast one of the best we had on our trip. Beds large for twin beds but hard. Rooms had bathtubs which was a plus.

The staff seemed too busy to help us, if we asked for directions for resturant it was a lot of trouble for them to look it up if they didnt know where it was. We asked about laundry and was pretty much laughed at.

A few things they were helpful with but most things staff did not want to help us with. Even had trouble getting them to return confirmation emails before trip. They would help non english customers before English speaking ones no matter who was there first. We felt we were putting them out everytime we asked a question. We were snickered at more than once. At first it was kind of cute but soon become not so funny.

We wanted to stay in Milan one extra day and they did not have a room but they did refer us to a very nice one that was very close, clean and very very friendly and helpful. Even had real maps for us. Made us reservations for dinner and ask how we liked the food when we returned. It was Ariston Hotel.

  • Liked — clean, great breakfast, location
  • Disliked — Staff was not friendly or helpful for the most part
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2008

oh my oh my. a very fab hotel which is literally, no honestly 5 mins walk away from duomo. very easy to reach from central train station from the metro (only 3 -4 stops about), then follow the instructions on the website and voila!

hotel rooms weren't too big, but very neat and clean and very enough for the price we paid. Concierge and other staffs were very friendly indeed. especially the staff working at the bar.

Though the breakfast room was kind of small, but its bare-able. There weren't any table left on the breakfast area, & so the bar staff offered us special cappuccino while waiting for a free table.

lobby looks very decent and its very well enough for people who's just lookin for a not too bad place to stay and to tour around or do some massive shopping in duomo. Close to drop down shopping bags and go for another round!!

oh plus, theres restaurants around the area, so its easy peasy!!!

  • Liked — close to duomo, very convenient
  • Disliked — toilet not too pretty, not much room facilities
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jwylam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2008

This was an excellent hotel. the room and public areas were exceptionally clean and cared for. From the moment of arrival to when we left the staff were friendly efficient and caring. Nothing was too much trouble, from booking taxi's to recommending restaurants. The location is excellent as well. Thought twice about posting this review as I thought about keeping this great hotel to myself.

  • Liked — Location and loggia. Also friendly staff.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WirralPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2008

I have stayed at the Gran Duca di York twice. I was first there in September of 2007 and again in late October, early November in 2008. If I am lucky enough to return to Milan, I will definitely stay there again.
The location could not be better. I chose it because it is very near most of the sights/sites I wanted to visit--easy walking distance to many--and I enjoy walking.
I also chose it because I travel alone and like to pick a location for the hotel where I know I can go out in the evening for dinner and perhaps some sight seeing at night with no problem. The Duomo is a marvel at night just as in the day.
I heartily recommend it to anyone interested in convenience and value. And I might add that age doesn't matter since I am indeed a senior.
Joan Schmelzle

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Like many value hotels in U.S. and abroad there is no comfortable chair in ROOM for reading.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoanRockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#8 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,208 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Duca di York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Duca di York

Property: Gran Duca di York
Address: Via Moneta 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Milan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Duca di York 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gran Duca di York is a little charming hotel in Milan.An establishment set in an 19th century historic palace .It is located in a very quiet street just few steps from the city center.The Atmosphere is very relaxing and the lobby is decorated with a collection of authentic frescoes.33 guest rooms completely renovated with free Wi.Fi.connection and free water and soft drinks in the room minibar.The daily rates always include buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gran Duca di York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Di York Hotel Milan
Gran Duca Di York Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing