We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located but quiet”
Review of Gran Duca di York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Duca di York
Ranked #9 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed at Rosa Grand Star Hotel two years ago. Tried this one last month.

It is located right behind the famous Milan food store Peck. We were told it used to be a dormitory for the religious personnel before being converted into a hotel. It is small with only about thirty rooms. The rooms are not big but nicely and simply decorated. Size of bathroom is acceptable even though only shower is provided. The major plus point about the rooms are that they have unusually high ceilings (probably because it was a dormitory) and thus greatly improved their space, even though in terms of floor area it is not very generous. This is especially so when one lies in bed. The sense of compression is much less than those modern day hotels which have unbelievably low ceilings. But the bed was exceptionally hard and may not be to everyone's liking. The room was cleaned and tidied up very neatly everyday. Given the hotel's location, the room was also quiet.

It does not have too many staff but all of them were helpful and polite. We were treated to complimentary coffee and brioche when we waited for our room to be got ready when we arrived early in the morning (we requested for early check-in). Breakfast was good with good selection of cereals, fruits and bread.

A nice and charming small hotel which wins its guests through good location and helpful service, rather than grand design lobby, extravagant decoration and plush amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJcrazyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is an excellent hotel. The location is right in the centre of the tourist area. It's a five minute walk to the Duomo (Cathedral square) and a 15 minute walk to the Cadorna train station (where the trains to Lake Como depart from). The staff are very friendly and speak good English. There is a small bar near the lobby if you don't feel like venturing out. The breakfast is excellent and includes full Continental style (breads, cheeses, cold meats) as well scrambled eggs, sausage, and bacon in a hot buffet. The rooms are small but typical size for the era and location. The rooms are spotless and updated. There is a mini bar in the room and it's free! Best value for money by far.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonBCessna310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This little boutique hotel is perfectly located about 3 short blocks from Piazza del Duomo, on a quiet side street. There are many restaurants and good shopping within easy walking distance. The room was clean, bright, and comfortable, with a lovely view of a quaint side street. The bathroom was large and well-appointed with a good shower. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was adequate. I would definitely stay here again...it's a reasonably-priced hotel with a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Everyone we encountered at the Hotel was very friendly & helpful. The best breakfast we had in Italy as they try hard. Clean rooms & the air worked great. Nice happy hour setup and the bartender was very friendly. This hotel was quite a surprise for me. It seemed to have a nice mix of tourists and business travelers. In a very quiet part of town after 5PM and I guess that was nice. very close to the Duomo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. It is a small boutique hotel with perhaps ten rooms per floor. The location is perfect for tourists but is on a quiet street near a residential area. The rooms are small but perfectly fine and quite a good value. As others have said, the breakfast is unusually good and the staff are really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel is located on a quiet street right off the center of Milan. The train stop is down the block, and the Duomo not far from there. They offered Hot breakfast along with your deli meat, cheeses & pastries.
The room was very nice and was big enough for my fiance and I. The bathroom seemed to have been recently updated as it looks very new. Our room had these giant windows that faced the street. They were gorgeous! We actually got there before our room was ready & the hotel held our luggage, no problem. Most importantly, this hotel has free wifi, which worked perfectly fine. This was a big motivator for me to book.

I felt this hotel was great for the value & location. Milan isn't my favorite city, but if I were to go back, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel is located on a quiet street in the 18th century building, the rooms elegantly furnished and comfortable, wide selection buffet breakfast, staff friendly and attentive service. The most prosperous center of Milan with department stores, restaurants and designer shops just a few minutes on foot to reach.

Room Tip: Special room w/ balcony should be good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peipeigutgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#10 of 431 in Milan
6,868 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#14 of 431 in Milan
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
843 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#7 of 431 in Milan
1,556 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Duca di York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Duca di York

Address: Via Moneta 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £151 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Duca di York 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gran Duca di York is a little charming hotel in Milan.An establishment set in an 19th century historic palace .It is located in a very quiet street just few steps from the city center.The Atmosphere is very relaxing and the lobby is decorated with a collection of authentic frescoes.33 guest rooms completely renovated with free Wi.Fi.connection and free water and soft drinks in the room minibar.The daily rates always include buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Duca di York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Di York Hotel Milan
Gran Duca Di York Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing