We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find!”
Review of Gran Duca di York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gran Duca di York
Ranked #6 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were so happy to discover this delightful hotel right in the heart of Milano. The staff and service were impeccable and rooms very clean and comfortable (we had a suite facing the front with balcony). We would have no hesitation recommending Gran Duca di York and look forward to our next visit.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Perfect location in central Milan so we could walk to almost everything. The staff was friendly and helpful, rooms are small like so many in European cities but clean and comfortable and good size bathrooms. This is the best priced, nicest 3 star hotel you will likely find in central Milan. I see other reviews are comparing this hotel with much more expensive properties.
I'd stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckyhawaiian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

A friend and I just returned from a week long trip to Italy that ended at the Gran Duca di York. Tucked away on a side street, it was very close to the Duomo and other Milan attractions. It was about 10-12 euro cab ride from most of the places that we went to. Reception was very helpful and taxis took about 5 minutes max to order and arrive. The bathrooms were modern and rooms typically small but comfortable. Complementary beverages were a great added bonus - as were the snacks in the evening by the bar. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagochick72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Duca di York is the sister hotel of the Spadari, we stayed in both during a recent visit because the Spadari was full for one of the nights. While the Spadari is plush and trendy, the Duca is a bit worn. The front desk staff is helpful and friendly. The room and breakfast area were not to the level of the Spadari. However, our room had a nice terrace overlooking the street. Location is great, just around the corner from the Spadari and next to the Biblioteca Ambosiana. If you have a choice I would pick the Spadari, but this is a good alternative.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFoodie319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Give a title to your review. Summarize your experience in one sentence.

Excellent stay
Just what we needed right near all the important places to visit very quiet at weekends as in the business area
Very pretty exterior kind and helpful staff
Night porter was very amusing and helpful
breakfast staff excellent waitress especially good

Room Tip: do not need a balcony in the autumn or winter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theboss20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Everything at il Gran duca di York was outstanding, central location, clean refurbished rooms, very good breakfast, helpful staff. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The central location of this hotel was the key factor in our choice and in that it was great with a short walk to most of the key sites and a taxi rank close by for more distant parts of the city. The hotel itself is small and does look a bit tired. We had the 'special' room with the small terrace (and small is the right word I can tell you). Not really worth the extra cost to be honest. Breakfast was OK and the staff were friendly and efficient. Recommend for a short stay (3 nights) but any longer and you may miss some of the creature comforts of more recently refurbished and larger hotels.

Room Tip: The extra cost for the 'special' room with a very small terrace is not really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 431 in Milan
1,108 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#9 of 431 in Milan
6,862 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#10 of 431 in Milan
1,552 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 431 in Milan
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Duca di York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Duca di York

Address: Via Moneta 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £147 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Duca di York 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gran Duca di York is a little charming hotel in Milan.An establishment set in an 19th century historic palace .It is located in a very quiet street just few steps from the city center.The Atmosphere is very relaxing and the lobby is decorated with a collection of authentic frescoes.33 guest rooms completely renovated with free Wi.Fi.connection and free water and soft drinks in the room minibar.The daily rates always include buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gran Duca di York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Di York Hotel Milan
Gran Duca Di York Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing