We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, affordable hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Duca di York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Duca di York
Ranked #11 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice, affordable hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I've stayed twice now at the Gran Duca, and enjoyed both stays. The Gran Duca is not a fancy place, but it's clean and has all the necessities. The two rooms I stayed in (even the single room) were decently sized and rare for Italy -- had good-sized bathrooms. A nice touch is the free minibar with bottled water and sodas. There was also free wifi, which was more reliable than some of the paid wifi I've used at other hotels. While I slept well during my stays, a drawback of the rooms is that it's very easy to hear noise coming from the hallways; so depending on how courteous the other guests are, this may have an impact on your stay.

Breakfast at the hotel is very good, with a nice selection of breads/pastries, cold cuts, cheeses, juices, coffees made to order, fresh fruits, etc.

The location of the hotel is excellent -- a few minutes walk to the Duomo, but on a quiet street. A minor issue actually is that the street is so quiet that it's a little difficult to find. Definitely have google maps or a printout ready, unless you're already very familiar with Milano.

Even with such a great location, comfortable rooms, and hearty breakfast, the Gran Duca is a bargain. I can't imagine other hotels in Milano offering the same comforts at such a low price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cillierabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    359
    47
    6
    7
See reviews for
196
689
76
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Location is great, Duomo is within few minutes' walk. We booked superior type room which is nice and quiet. Room is clean and comfortable, with high speed WiFi, and the free soft drinks in the refrigerator are very good.
The gentleman at front desk was very friendly and offered many helps, including hiring a quality van at very reasonable price for us when we left for Malpensa airport. Breakfast is good, although may not with plenty selections as 5-star hotel.
A recommendable hotel choice at its price level in Milan.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very nice and charming hotel in the quiet center of Milano, super location, friendly staff, very clean and comfortable room. We had a nice room on the upper floor and could see the spire of Duomo. The hotel is situated nearby of Ambrosiana, ten minutes of pleasant walk to Theatro Alla Scala. Grand Duca Di York was the excellent choice for a city break in Milan. We liked everything!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna25Kiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
186 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel is extremely well located for shopping and sightseeing, 2 minutes from the Duomo. The rooms are not huge but nice and very clean. The bathroom is modern and very clean. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast buffet is good. All of that for a very attractive price. I strongly recommend this hotel and will definitively stay again at the Gran Duca di York (this is actually our 2nd stay)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beat0067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The location is central, the breakfast wonderful and the staff beyond comparison.
At every step of your visit to this hotel you notice the wonderful people. At the desk,
at breakfast and when you need unique local restaurants their staff has the answer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dosestudientes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

In a great location in Milan within walking distance to all attractions and shopping. Lovely small hotel, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was really good and one of best we had in Italy. Staff in general were very friendly, except for one gentleman on reception who was so busy chatting to someone he knew one morning that I had to stand and wait for about 10 minutes while he ignored me and carried on chatting. Other than that I have no fault with hotel, we really enjoyed our stay here. Oh and the free minibar for duration of stay is a big bonus!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SannaG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Even for a one night stopover you can't do better. Friendly & great value, 5 minutes from the Duomo. Went shopping in the January sales - really easy to drop off mid buying. Lots of good restaurants within an easy walk (either direction). As we were only staying overnight, the hotel organised the parking - really easy for Milan. Clean, warm, comfy, great bed for sleeping, such a great price for the City Centre. Definitely my place to stay for Milan. Staff were fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyWetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 431 in Milan
1,016 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#10 of 431 in Milan
284 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 431 in Milan
6,195 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Duca di York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Duca di York

Property: Gran Duca di York
Address: Via Moneta 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Milan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Duca di York 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gran Duca di York is a little charming hotel in Milan.An establishment set in an 19th century historic palace .It is located in a very quiet street just few steps from the city center.The Atmosphere is very relaxing and the lobby is decorated with a collection of authentic frescoes.33 guest rooms completely renovated with free Wi.Fi.connection and free water and soft drinks in the room minibar.The daily rates always include buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gran Duca di York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Di York Hotel Milan
Gran Duca Di York Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing