We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this hotel”
Review of Gran Duca di York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Duca di York
Ranked #9 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We loved this hotel”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a lovely small hotel very close to the major sights of Milan - the Duomo is well within walking distance - about 10 minutes. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. We had a car, which was a really bad idea as driving in Milan was insane. They do not have a parking lot, but they let us park right outside the door to the hotel which was great. The room was small but we had a lovely private terrace surrounded by hedges - no views but lots of privacy and a table and chairs out there. The bathroom was small and two people cannot be in there at once, but it was modern and the shower was fine. The bed was really hard, as was every bed we had in Italy. There is a bar with nuts and olives for drinks, but no restaurant. We were too tired to go out to eat and the staff ordered us a pizza, which was excellent. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crimlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    363
    47
    6
    7
See reviews for
201
704
78
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A nice hotel that seems to cater to english speaking travellers. Mostly Brits but noticed some Australians and we are Canadian. Staff were fluent English speakers and could answer any questions about the area. Great location and close to the Duomo, several key public galleries Pinacoteca Ambrosiana and Palazzo Reale. Saw a great Klimt show at the Palazzo. Concierge recommended us to some decent local eateries. Tons of great shopping and sightseeing nearby.
Accomodations were adequate with very nice bathroom. Room was tiny but completely fine for our purposes. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was serviceable but uninspired. Minibar was free and had some nice non alcoholic beverages. Cleaning staff was very diligent. Selling point of this establishment is location and staff who are great for English speakers. Should also mention there is a nice downstairs bar where you can get a glass of wine and relax after a long day of sightseeing or gallery going. Tip the bartender as he is a very pleasant fellow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floor away from the street if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel's location is excellent--easy walking distance to the Duomo, Castello, and other major sites. It also has lots of good small bars and restaurants nearby as well as the wonderful Peck Deli. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, nicely appointed and in a quiet location as we had requested. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I cannot fault this very central quiet well situated Hotel.Everyone is so helpful and friendly.There is no need to pack shower gel,shampoo,nail files or soap or shower caps as the Hotel provides them on a daily basis which saves a lot of packing.The water they make the tea with in the morning is like silk,so beautifully smooth.There is a fabulous choice of food at breakfast.
So lovely to hear the soft quiet bells of the Duomo calling to Mass.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We only stayed one night, but wish we had longer to enjoy Milan and this hotel. We booked via Booking.com and had no problems. The hotel graciously allowed us to check in 3 hours early, per our request at the initial booking. The hotel is within a short to reasonable walking distance of the Duomo, Castello, and the train station with the direct connection to Malpensa airport. It is right next door to the Ambrosia Library.
The welcome was very cordial and quick. The room has a nicely stocked refrigerator, which along with a nice breakfast and great wifi, was free with our room.

Only warning: Although the hotel was easy to find from the Duomo metro, we couldn't find the sign - and the building appeared to be signposted with a different hotel name. Only after walking around for quite a bit did we actually see the smaller, more tasteful brass signs indicating we had indeed found the hotel - albeit after 10 min and a very hot walk around the block.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed, make sure to ask for it and confirm on check-in. We were given two singles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patchcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We loved this hotel. The room the location the breakfast and the no fuss staff. We'll be back! The location was very central and lots of small bar restaurant s to choose from. And a good start from a great breakfast .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed as a couple for 2 nights. It is a beautiful boutique hotel located right in the old city of Milan. Our room was not big but sufficient by all means. We liked the quiet atmosphere and enjoyed the warm service. Breakfast was very nice too. Many nice coffee places and stores located nearby and the Duomo is just a few minutes away by foot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#15 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,327 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Duca di York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Duca di York

Property: Gran Duca di York
Address: Via Moneta 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Milan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Duca di York 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gran Duca di York is a little charming hotel in Milan.An establishment set in an 19th century historic palace .It is located in a very quiet street just few steps from the city center.The Atmosphere is very relaxing and the lobby is decorated with a collection of authentic frescoes.33 guest rooms completely renovated with free Wi.Fi.connection and free water and soft drinks in the room minibar.The daily rates always include buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Gran Duca di York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Di York Hotel Milan
Gran Duca Di York Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing