We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in heart of the old city”
Review of Gran Duca di York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Duca di York
Ranked #7 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsville, Canada
Level Contributor
226 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in heart of the old city”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Spent one night here after cycling for 10 days in the Italian Dolomiti mountains. Reception was quite welcoming and friendly. The hotel offers a free happy hour in the bar plus in the guest rooms there is free internet and free minibar. Breakfast is also included in the room rate, quite good with eggs, sausage, bacon and plenty of breads, pastries cheeses, fruit.
My room was a little on the small side compared to places I stayed in Verona, Moena and Bormio but it was very clean, quiet and bed very comfortable.
The hotel is about 3-5 min walk from the Duomo and many cafe/restaurants.
To get to the airport, you must take either a taxi to the Central Train Station or the subway(just 4 stops and 1/10th the cost), then a 55 minute train ride to Malpensa Airport.
Just wish I had more time to spend in this city!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie499270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    368
    47
    6
    7
See reviews for
203
722
80
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and we were extremely satisfied. Great location in Milan walking distance to major attractions and to all the great shopping. We had a lovely room with a balcony. The room was large for European standards and had great in room amenities (coffee, tea, hairdryer, safe). Staff is great. They helped us with our luggage and also were extremely courteous during breakfast service. The front desk provided recommendations for dinner and also made reservations for us. They even tried to help us obtain Last Supper tickets. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone.

Room Tip: The standard room with balcony is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FCB605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Close to all the stores and a quick cab ride to the Cadorna station for the airport. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We purchased our metro tickets at the desk and they scheduled our taxi. Room was very nice and modern but a little small.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Slatejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This charming small hotel is just over 5 min away from the Duomo, on a quiet side street, and very close to a metro station for anything further away from the centre. The service is very attentive, friendly and helpful, the rooms modern and very clean. The breakfast buffet offers excellent choice. The (alcohol free) drinks in the mini bar are all complimentary, as is the WiFi.

Room Tip: I had room 104 which is on the front side, with French doors opening to a little atrium that is hidd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel was near city center and walking distance to almost all the sites we had time to see. Before we arrived there we were able to communicate with them by email to find out the cost of getting to the airport and if they new a tour company for Lake Como. They were very responsive and that continued on site. The bed was comfortable, the room a good size and the bathroom was very nice. The hotel was not quite as quaint as some of the places we stayed in other cities but was perfect for the end of our trip. Overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinghusband2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney,Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Perfectly located within 10 minutes walk of the Duomo, this budget hotel is lifted by its quirky charm, the helpful staff and the choice of restaurants within easy stroll. The room itself is small and basic, but scrupulously clean, freshly painted and with a more than adequate en-suite. Located in the financial district, the rooms are nice and quiet at night with good light-excluding shutters. In fact, so successful that we missed the breakfast deadline one morning. However the kindly staff still brought us our choices anyway. The breakfast is included and was very nice.There is a cute little bar with free snacks, very helpful front desk for directions, transport advice etc. Perfect for a few days in Milan.

Room Tip: Two rooms on the second floor have a little garden balcony - great in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Perfect quite hotel close to the Duomo but not too close.

There are so many hotels in Milan that we had a hard time figuring out where to stay without spending a lot of money. Gran Duca satisfied all options.

- The room was nothing fancy, but it was clean and seemed fairly modern.
- There was complimentary breakfast every morning
- Just a short 5 min walk to the Duomo and metro stations
- Staff spoke English and were very helpful

The only thing was that there were not a lot of quality restaurants right near the hotel, you had to walk or go our of your way to find them. But maybe that's just Milan though. Overall I would say it is a great place for the value and you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank milospa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
600 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#10 of 428 in Milan
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#15 of 428 in Milan
310 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 428 in Milan
6,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Duca di York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Duca di York

Property: Gran Duca di York
Address: Via Moneta 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Milan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Duca di York 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gran Duca di York is a little charming hotel in Milan.An establishment set in an 19th century historic palace .It is located in a very quiet street just few steps from the city center.The Atmosphere is very relaxing and the lobby is decorated with a collection of authentic frescoes.33 guest rooms completely renovated with free Wi.Fi.connection and free water and soft drinks in the room minibar.The daily rates always include buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gran Duca di York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Di York Hotel Milan
Gran Duca Di York Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing