We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Service”
Review of Gran Duca di York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Duca di York
Ranked #8 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very well located small hotel right in the middle of the city and close to just about everything. Hotel is clean and room size was good with modern bathroom and facilities. Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast was good, free WiFi, mini bar and snacks each night and all included in the tariff. Very nice ground floor lounge area and located on a quiet street but close to the action. This hotel would be very hard to beat in what is a busy city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights while touring the sites of Milan. Close to Duomo and shopping. Quiet street. Rooms are small. We took two rooms as we were a family group. 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Breakfast included and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ERPRNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is right around the corner from everything and yet still, a peaceful oasis from the bustling city.
Friendly helpful staff.
Comfortable, clean room and a good sized bathroom.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnnaMHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

It is the best place to stay in Milan, I would recommend it to all who would like to enjoy its staying in Milan. You will never regret. Very comfortable roms, free mini bar, free wi-fi, 24 hours tea, coffee. Everything we asked - was executed. Thank you so much for excellent care of hotel staff!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nika350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was included and had a good variety. Big plus was the location. Quiet rooms and staff were pleasant and professional. Only downside was the hallways smelled of cigarette smoke - room was fine, though!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Spent one night here after cycling for 10 days in the Italian Dolomiti mountains. Reception was quite welcoming and friendly. The hotel offers a free happy hour in the bar plus in the guest rooms there is free internet and free minibar. Breakfast is also included in the room rate, quite good with eggs, sausage, bacon and plenty of breads, pastries cheeses, fruit.
My room was a little on the small side compared to places I stayed in Verona, Moena and Bormio but it was very clean, quiet and bed very comfortable.
The hotel is about 3-5 min walk from the Duomo and many cafe/restaurants.
To get to the airport, you must take either a taxi to the Central Train Station or the subway(just 4 stops and 1/10th the cost), then a 55 minute train ride to Malpensa Airport.
Just wish I had more time to spend in this city!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie499270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and we were extremely satisfied. Great location in Milan walking distance to major attractions and to all the great shopping. We had a lovely room with a balcony. The room was large for European standards and had great in room amenities (coffee, tea, hairdryer, safe). Staff is great. They helped us with our luggage and also were extremely courteous during breakfast service. The front desk provided recommendations for dinner and also made reservations for us. They even tried to help us obtain Last Supper tickets. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone.

Room Tip: The standard room with balcony is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FCB605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
728 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 428 in Milan
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#5 of 428 in Milan
1,749 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#22 of 428 in Milan
333 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Duca di York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Duca di York

Address: Via Moneta 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Milan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £149 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Duca di York 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gran Duca di York is a little charming hotel in Milan.An establishment set in an 19th century historic palace .It is located in a very quiet street just few steps from the city center.The Atmosphere is very relaxing and the lobby is decorated with a collection of authentic frescoes.33 guest rooms completely renovated with free Wi.Fi.connection and free water and soft drinks in the room minibar.The daily rates always include buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gran Duca di York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Di York Hotel Milan
Gran Duca Di York Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing