We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+”
Review of Gran Duca di York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Duca di York
Ranked #8 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2009

I was surprised this wasn't ranked higher. The service was five star. They let us check in at 10am...we really needed a shower after the evening flight. I can't remember the last time a Euro hotel let me check in that far in advance. The guys at the desk were very helpful, even offered to switch our rooms so we could get in earlier. One night (pretty late) we asked for another blanket when we got back to the hotel. It seemed like there was a little confusion about what we were asking for but the blanket showed up at our door litteral seconds after we shut it. The bathroom was very spacious and clean. The room was modern, totally quiet, had direct tv, and a little view over the street. My only complaint was the breakfast, it was bad. Walk a couple blocks and get something at a cafe. They did have bottles of water, which I took every morning. The location is also great. Very quite street just a couple blocks from the Doumo (if you cut through the merchants square it's a 2 minute walk). All in all, it was a nice place. I would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3WeeksAYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2008

Great great location - steps away from the Duomo. Service was just ok. Breakfast was ok - but again service wasn't really around. Again key was location Accommodations were new & clean but the elevators were tiny - to the point of being slightly claustrophobic.

If you are in Milan - don't miss the Last Supper - you have to book ahead so definitely do so! Also it really is the city of shopping. Great gelateria close to Santa Maria Delle Grazie - think it was called Chocolate and it had more than 5 different flavours of just chocolate gelato.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jayde88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

We stayed for two nights during the weekend of the Italian Grand Prix at Monza. The weather was terrible but we've no complaints about the hotel! Our initial booking was handled very efficiently and hotel staff were really helpful in responding to all queries about the hotel location, etc. On arrival we parked directly outside and our car was whisked away to secure garage parking (pre booked with hotel). Fortunately the garage was very close as my partner realised he'd left something important in the boot! One word of advice if you are driving to the hotel - take great care following the directions! We took one wrong turn and drove for about ten minutes in a restricted area before ending up at a pedestrian only area - there are a lot of one way systems in Milan! In desperation I asked a gentleman for directions (fortunately he spoke excellent English) and he kindly suggested that we follow him. It took at least ten minutes turning up and down tiny back streets and he took us directly to the door of the hotel. As the hotel is located on a one way street he had to drive on even before we had a chance to say thank you. We could never have navigated that route ourselves and are eternally grateful to that extremely kind gent. (And we were told to expect rudeness in Milan!) Our room was spotlessly clean, quiet (overlooking the street) and if you stretched your neck out the window had a view of the Madonna on top of the Cathedral - perfect! The guys on reception were brilliant throughout our stay giving us directions, lending us an umbrella and recommended an absolutely amazing restaurant for dinner where we had the best meal of our entire Italian holiday. Breakfast was excellent too with lots to choose from. So thank you Gran Duca di York - we will happily return and would recommend without hesitation. PS Don't miss out on the roof of the Cathedral - amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandGinItaly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location. The hotel and rooms are extremely clean, the staff is very helpful and polite. I highly recommend staying here and will definitely stay here in the future.

Also, if you are catching a plane (or arriving) from Malpensa, this is a great location. The Cordona Station is just an 8 Euro taxi down the road and the train takes you directly to/from Malpensa.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank historyteacherdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Duomo and most of the major attractions. Disappointed in the room size and furnishings but everywhere was very clean. Not great toiletries and no nice little touches, apart from complimentary soft drinks in mini bar. No in room safes. Some rooms can be noisy and although the hotel is in a reasonably quiet back street there was some street noise. Found staff helpful and friendly and they recommended and booked some nice restaurants for us. Milan is an expensive city so this was fairly good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisejlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

This is a clean, comfortable and reasonably priced hotel in a good location.

Rooms are reasonable in size, impecably clean and comfortable.

Location is excellent, very central close to Cathedral, but in a back street so nice and quiet.

Staff were very helpful, and the cost was reasonable for Milan.

I'd thoroughly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Hotel Gran Duca di York is located in the most ideal place in Milan. It's a minute or two away by foot from the Duomo and all of the major shopping. My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 4 days as part of our honeymoon in late June/early July and loved it. The hotel does cater towards business people, but you can stay here and receive excellent service no matter who you are. Check-in was fast, rooms were always cleaned and the breakfast hosts always made a point to ask if the guests wanted cappuccinos, lattes, or any other coffees. Free wi-fi is also offered, which can be helpful if you're trying to find specific stores to shop at, or restaurants to eat at. Rates are expensive, but everything in Milan is on the pricier side. My wife and I think that the prices are fair for what is offered. We had the Special Double Room, which featured air conditioning, a king sized bed, satellite tv, fridge stocked with beverages every day, private bathroom and a patio with a table and two chairs. The beverages were a big plus, especially in the summer heat. The bathroom tub/shower features a "half door/curtain," so don't be surprised if the floor gets a little wet. Breakfast is your typical European breakfast, but there is a pretty good selection of food and drinks. The spread features lots of fruit (including fruit salad), orange juice, free bottled water, cereal, pastries, various meats, cheeses, an espresso machine , scrambled eggs, mini sausages and bacon (if you get up early enough). Overall, my wife and I loved this hotel and would consider it for return trips to Milan.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank clewless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
728 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 428 in Milan
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#24 of 428 in Milan
333 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#5 of 428 in Milan
1,749 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Duca di York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Duca di York

Address: Via Moneta 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Milan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £149 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Duca di York 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gran Duca di York is a little charming hotel in Milan.An establishment set in an 19th century historic palace .It is located in a very quiet street just few steps from the city center.The Atmosphere is very relaxing and the lobby is decorated with a collection of authentic frescoes.33 guest rooms completely renovated with free Wi.Fi.connection and free water and soft drinks in the room minibar.The daily rates always include buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Duca di York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Di York Hotel Milan
Gran Duca Di York Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing