We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value suburban hotel in Milan”
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #20 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value suburban hotel in Milan”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Lancaster for 3 nights in July. It's in a lovely suburb of Milan about 15-20 minutes walk from the Duomo or less than 10 minutes to the metro and near some great historical sites. The rooms are clean, the staff are professional and friendly and the breakfast decent. There are many restaurants nearby as well as a well stocked supermarket. An overall great value mid budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    313
    35
    7
    2
See reviews for
123
411
54
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed for 5 nights, this is the 2nd visit to this hotel and both times it has been great. The hotel is well kept, very clean, not the most modern but very well looked after giving it a lot of character. Check in was a breeze, the reception staff are very friendly and helpful with maps and places to visit in a Milan. The breakfast has been the best on our trip through Europe offering a varied selection on foods and more than enough for everyone even if you arrive 5 minutes before it finishes. And they make great coffee, we have struggled to find good coffee but hotel lancaster delivered. Huge number of tv channels on offer but not all italian, ask reception and they will explain how to convert movies into English and so forth. They hotel rooms are large, the beds are firm but nice and the bathrooms are large, the hotel also has a lift. It's located in the Sempione area, not the closest to the city centre but not too far away either. It's just near china town and also the Triumph Ark where there is a nice little street containing great restaurants and some nightlife. I would stay here again for sure, but if you want to be in the thick of the centre of Milano it will cost you, stay here it's excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is comfortable and well located with excellent service. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room quiet. Although the decor may seem somewhat dated, the hotel is excellent in every respect. This family run hotel has exceptional service with the staff making good suggestions about where to go, what to see and where to eat. There are many restaurants and trams nearby. However, the hotel is walkable to all historical areas and main shopping. Take the Grand City tour which takes you to the main historical places in the city and includes a visit to see The Last Supper. Don't miss the open air market near Via Monti which has great deals on clothing, shoes and food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Pros:
- The room was clean and spacious.
- When she could be bothered, the first receptionist was friendly enough.
- The hotel's a short walk from the big park and about 20 minutes walk from the centre, so a decent location.

Cons:
- We booked here because we were told they had parking. What they actually did was sell us tickets for street parking - cue half an hour of driving around trying to find a space, which was exactly the scenario we had wanted to avoid after a few long days' work.
- The receptionist kept our passports for about an hour to 'process' our check in. She could not understand why we might be uncomfortable with the idea of leaving our passports unattended with a total stranger. Every other hotel we've ever stayed in has just quickly processed our passports in a few minutes while we waited. Why did she need so long?
- They took our keys every time we left the hotel. We were told that this happens 'everywhere'. I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt that they mean in Milan (because we have only experienced this once before - in a sleepy Cretian village where everyone just leaves their doors unlocked - not in the middle of a busy city), but even that would be a lie - the friends we met for dinner were astonished that the hotel had this procedure in place. It also hardly instilled confidence that when we returned, the receptionist was in a completely different room and our keys were just on her desk - anyone could have taken them and gone up to our room. Appalling security.
- The next morning, as we were checking out, the receptionist asked us if we were the 'noisy British couple' who had arrived late at night, drunk, who had kept everyone up. We felt that this was both rude and inappropriate. For the record - we barely drink alcohol, were completely sober when we returned from dinner and went straight to bed. What did they hope to achieve by accusing us of being drunk Brits? Do all of us Brits look alike or something? Yet another sour taste to add to a poor impression.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ecarylloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The location was excellent - a lovely part of town on the edge of the sights an close to great restaurants. The staff were very helpful and provided train timetables and other advice re visiting Lake Como etc. Rooms were spacious and bathrooms excellent.
We were booked for 2 nights in September 2013 but loved it so much we stayed an extra 2 nights. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judio535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Family run, cared for hotel and it shows. Rooms immaculate. Wonderful staff. Great breakfasts too. Located 3-4 minutes walk to the Park Sempione- the Arch in the park is a great locating point. A lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Lancaster in total 3 nights in Milan. The location is good, a short walk to the Duomo area and sights of Milan. The staff we very helpful, even well before we arrived in Milan they were more than happy to provide advice on our stay and their suggestions on things to do in Milan.
The room was clean and the breakfast was a great way to start the day. There are also some good places to eat close by. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaGale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 428 in Milan
6,483 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
642 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#26 of 428 in Milan
694 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Property: Lancaster Hotel
Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Milan
#31 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#47 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Hotel offers 30 quiet rooms, decorated in a classic-contemporary style and equipped with all amenities and services: fast and free Wi-Fi, air conditioning with temperature control, LCD TV with a wide selection of domestic and foreign channels, mini bar and safe. In the common areas, guests have a reception and lounge bar (open 24/7), lobby and breakfast room. Near the hotel there are affiliated guarded parking and a large choice of clubs, bars and restaurants. The strategic location, the family atmosphere, environments with attention to details and a professional and courteous staff make it one of the best 3-star hotels in downtown Milan. The Lancaster Hotel is located between the convention center MiCo, the exhibition center Fieramilanocity and the residential area of Sempione Park, just a few steps from the Arch of Peace, in a central location but at the same time very quiet, from where you can easily reach the main attractions of Milan. The Triennale, the Sforza Castle, the Duomo, Piazza della Scala, Brera and other points of interest can be reached on foot in a few minutes, by a pleasant walk through the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing