We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family hotel”
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #21 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on recommendation of other reviewers and I was so glad we did. Over our 7 week trip across Europe, My husband, 3 children and I stayed in 15 hotels. This one, we all agreed, was the best.
The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. We had adjoining rooms for a very reasonable price.
The location, though not in the centre of the city was very convenient and well serviced by public transport.
Easy walk to park and attractions.
Staff very helpful - even arranged for me to go to the hairdresser at short notice and the hair dresser was excellent.
We would love to stay at Hotel Lancaster again. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
There are newer reviews for Lancaster Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the Lancaster Hotel for my birthday while in Milan. I'm very pleased to say that it was nice and clean, friendly staff?
Very basic hotel, little tired and not the usual hotel I would stay in. But Milan is a very expensive city and this little hotel was just perfect!
We didn't use the wifi as I thought it was a little expensive. A member of staff kindly looked on the internet for tickets for 12 apostle dinner museum. Sadly there want any tickets. The breakfast was included, it was continental breakfast and it was very good. Hot tea and coffee. Orange juice fresh cakes and pastries.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelacsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

As long as you don't mind a ten min walk (on the flat & safe) this hotel allows the best of both - quiet calm location but easy access to central Milan. Charming hotel, great, helpful, willing, knowledgable staff. Very clean with perfectly adequate breakfast. Our room (we stayed 4 nights) was at the back with a little balcony - very quiet and dark thanks to the roll down shutter. Typically Italian (some might think of it as olde fashioned) so don't expect Super Modern but this actually is part of the charm. Taxi, Metro ,open top sightseeing bus all within easy walking distance - forget the tram we came to the conclusion the timetable and routes must be an "insider only - just for locals ". piece of information!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RhoniePonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Booked the Lancaster on the strength of the excellent reviews and the value for money. We were not disappointed. It’s position is walking distance away from the headline attractions but does have trams running constantly one street away. The Staff were great and their English was just fine. Very Helpful with restaurants & tourist sites. Room was comfortable wi-fi strong & the Italian style breakfast great.

Room Tip: We had a interesting view to the surrounding buildings none of which were well away from our balcon...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AWDVERADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hotel Lancaster is a good-value option for a short stay in Milan.
It is old and it's not flash, but it is clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful.
The rooms are dated and a bit small, and the beds could be a bit hard for some. The included breakfast was basic but totally adequate. The hotel is well located, just a short walk or taxi ride (take the taxi if you have luggage) from the train station, which you can catch the Malpensa Express to the airport. It is a few blocks from the start of the central area, but it's all flat and easy to find your way. There are nice places to eat close by. Make the most of the bar buffet deals at night. For about 8 euro you can have a beer, wine or cocktail plus all you can eat - fabulous value considering you can pay 5 or 6 euro for just a beer in some places. There were several places offering this dinner deal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davey10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights mid September. We found the staff very helpful and the hotel was perfectly adequate. It was very clean, very well laid out and very comfortable. The buffet breakfast whilst not vast was all that is really needed and offered enough choice.
The hotel is reasonably central, a 10/15 walk from the nearest subway. It is very near a lovely park and the Design Museum. Also not far from a great selection of bars and restaurants.
We enjoyed the cocktails!!! The cocktail bars have a 'happy hour' which involves free food with your cocktail. The cocktails are huge compared to what you get at home, but are a bit more expensive. Although we did find one bar that did cocktails for €5!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is your average hotel. It was clean, but the interior is weathered. It's not dirty, but it does feel old. For a 3-star hotel in Italy, this is exactly what you'd expect. If you're just looking for a place to stay for the night, this is a solid option. The location is pretty good. It's about a 15 minute walk to the castle (thru the park) and 20 minute walk to the Duomo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PapaBear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 426 in Milan
6,614 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 426 in Milan
657 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#23 of 426 in Milan
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 426 in Milan
713 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#36 of 426 in Milan
1,848 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Milan
#31 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#47 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £72 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Hotel offers 30 quiet rooms, decorated in a classic-contemporary style and equipped with all amenities and services: fast and free Wi-Fi, air conditioning with temperature control, LCD TV with a wide selection of domestic and foreign channels, mini bar and safe. In the common areas, guests have a reception and lounge bar (open 24/7), lobby and breakfast room. Near the hotel there are affiliated guarded parking and a large choice of clubs, bars and restaurants. The strategic location, the family atmosphere, environments with attention to details and a professional and courteous staff make it one of the best 3-star hotels in downtown Milan. The Lancaster Hotel is located between the convention center MiCo, the exhibition center Fieramilanocity and the residential area of Sempione Park, just a few steps from the Arch of Peace, in a central location but at the same time very quiet, from where you can easily reach the main attractions of Milan. The Triennale, the Sforza Castle, the Duomo, Piazza della Scala, Brera and other points of interest can be reached on foot in a few minutes, by a pleasant walk through the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing