We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wifi signal in room and hotels.com booked wrong room type”
Review of Hotel D'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel D'Este
Ranked #222 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Ojai, California, United States
1 review
“No wifi signal in room and hotels.com booked wrong room type”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We reserved this hotel for a standard twin double for two adults (two twin beds). Upon arrival, the hotel said the reservation was only for a standard single bed room, and they had no rooms with two beds available.

As the hotel was unable to accomodate both of us as it was otherwise completely booked, I had to go to another hotel. I incurred a huge additional cost, and the inconvenience of having to travel back and forth between hotels to work with my colleague.

The misunderstanding between hotels.com booking and the Hotel D'Este in Milan was a huge and costly inconvenience. I will be formally filing a complaint and requesting that we are reimbursed for our additional expenses for the extra hotel we had to book. In addition, the room had no wifi signal and so we had to stay in the lobby to do all of our work as we require constant Internet connection.

Room Tip: No pool, no gym, somewhat sketchy part of town, no wifi signal.. be careful what room type you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    98
    71
    14
    11
See reviews for
22
28
20
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alpine, Utah
Level Contributor
172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The rooms here were very small even for the European standard, however the hotel was clean and the price was cheap for Milan. I don't know that I would stay here again it was only on the recommendation of the client I was visiting because it's across the street from their business. The hotel staff was very nice and they gave me a great suggestions for dinner. The area where the hotel is located is not very nice and I don't know that I would be out on the street very late. Not the best trip to Milan, but thankfully it was only for one night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmickelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2011

The hotel is nice, rooms are clean . There is a good breakfast and wifi connection is free. The staff is excellent. A rather good value for money. If you need to park your car there is a garage very close to the hotel ( 20 Euro per day )

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadun n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed for 2 nights while attending a conference at nearby Bocconi. Around 5 min walk to Bocconi and maybe 20 mins walking to city centre (Duomo). I booked a single room which was quite possibly one of the smallest rooms I have stayed in. Yet the room was nice, the hotel was spotless and the included breakfast excellent. Service was great. Free wifi a big plus. All in all excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmohanram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Very small rooms with fixtures that look old and dusty. The bed in a single room is the width of an airplane seat. Everything looks cheap, more like a 2+ star hotel, at that built in the 70ies. Upon arrival asked for a room on the top floor, the rceptionist with a smile gave a key to the room on the first floor. No iron in the hotel; ridiculous.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

After three days of business in Lombardy. Me and a colleague were in town for the weekend and for the Grand Prix at Monza Sunday.
The hotel was within easy walking distance to the cathredal (Il Duomo) and had a fun cuban bar across the street.
Staff spoke english and rooms where clean, nice, tidy and modern. No traffic noise (though windows facing the street) and the sun blend provided a sleep in absolute darkness. Aircondition worked fine too.

Room Tip: Rooms at 4th floor were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrrrden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

While in Milan, our rent car had a flat and, while assessing the damage and looking for air pump at a gas station, my purse and husband's jacket were stolen from the car. We needed a place with Internet and phone to look up numbers and make calls to cancel my credit cards. Plus, we had to get a replacement car from Avis so we could return to Zurich. We were not even guests of Hotel d'Este they let us in and allowed us to use their Internet and phone to do our business. The staff was very friendly and compassionate to our crisis. They helped us communicate in Italian with authorities and the local rental car company. They were absolutely fantastic!! If ever in Milan again we will definitely stay at the Hotel d'Este to repay them for their kindness to us. Plus the hotel is beautiful and the lounge area and lobby are very nice too.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DizzyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Crivis Hotel
#232 of 428 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Navigli
Hotel la Vignetta
Hotel la Vignetta
#171 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Hotel Five
#68 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UNA Hotel Mediterraneo
#131 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Hotel Palladio
#62 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
MiHotel
#219 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Este

Property: Hotel D'Este
Address: Viale Bligny 23, 20136 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D'Este 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel D'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing