We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall”
Review of Art Hotel Navigli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Hotel Navigli
Ranked #85 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good overall”
Reviewed 16 November 2008

I was at the Art Hotel for a few days, a triple suite on the 5th floor.

The location is in the middle of one of the most bustling night areas of Milan, with the good and bad attached. The room, however, was not disturbed by any outside noise, but unfortunately something (probably an elevator engine) was annoyingly making itself heard faintly in the background from about 7:00am. Not too disturbing if you - like me - sleep hard, but definitely a no go if your sleep is light.

The hotel itself has a sort of 70s-revival psychedelic patterns on the carpets, together with some rather pleasant pastel colors on the walls, patches of crocodile-looking leathery wallpaper (color-themed, I understand, depending on the floor you are) and a few actually good touches (the lighting at the doors, for for example) - resulting in a - well, very particular style. The thing's obviously been thought consistently by somebody - no small feat in itself - look at the pictures in the hotel's website to find out if you find the thinking agreeable or not.

There were traces of on-going work on the hotel, with some parts plastered on the way to the elevator, crude wood-framed structures in the hallway to the room, dangling elevator lamps and a few work-in-progress signs (which alarmed me initially) but - apart the glitch of visual ugliness - the room and the overall setting were unaffected. I just hope the thing is temporary.

The room, which follows a similar style as the corridor but translates it better in furniture and fittings, was very good - with a nice, clean and reasonably spaced bathroom (not as big as you'd expect in a suite but in shiny perfect order and with a reasonably size good bathtub), good space for clothes, good-sized and comfortable beds (really nice lighting, down to good individual led reading lights) and even a rather spacious balcony. The furniture was solid and pleasant. The "two" rooms are actually the same room divided by a piece of furniture, but the setting worked just fine for us - it would less if you really wanted a totally separated bed. I asked a couple of services (an additional lamp, a city map, to send a fax) and I was cared for courteously and professionally - so definitely good service from the reception desk.

Breakfast was excellent - with the full complement of Italian style croissant + cappuccino and more English style eggs, fruit, bacon etc. Excellent service even there, a cappuccino was served barely few seconds after asking.

Overall, the hotel is recommendable and more than fit as a base, and a very good one at that - you feel rather well at the prospect of going back to the room when you want to refresh after a trip in the city or when finally calling it a day. The hotel's location is so that you can come and go from the city center quickly to refresh and in the evening just stay in the area - it's practically surrounded by clubs and restaurants. I had rented a car, and the free garage needs mentioning: it was really free (unlike many other over-expensive garage facilities attached to other hotels in the city) and it proved invaluable - especially since in the area - if you have a car - you couldn't survive without.

I had a good deal over the internet, and under the same conditions, I'll be definitely going back there next time.

  • Liked — the location, and the room was good if oddly styled
  • Disliked — faint background noises seeping in the room from (probably) the elevator early in the morning
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cris1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    481
    122
    37
    31
See reviews for
192
279
40
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2007

I have tried several hotels in Milano recently, this is possibly the worst. As a student, I recalled the Navigli area as quite cool. Flash forward a few years, and seen in daylight, its actually really seedy. So the area is great to go barhopping or dining in summer, but not for tourists. The hotel itself tucked in an inaccessible alleyway in the armpit of this area: to "pop back" to the hotel for a break during the day from the city centre would require a gruelling hour trying to change subways and trams and THEN walking 15 mins to get to your hotel - or like me, you give up and spend a fortune on taxis (20 Euros to get to Duomo). Better to spend more money and stay at a more central hotel. DECOR: Pulling into the alleyway, you are confronted by black faded disco entryway, torn black leather sofas. Upstairs is no better. Faded florals and yellow stripes, blue bedspreads, black and gold wallpaper trim: its a nightmare! Add filthy carpeting, hammock beds, non working TV and poor taste in "art" (I am a contemporary art collector, but frankly suburban high school student art would be better than what was on display). Finally, if like me, you book a special internet rate you WILL get the two star room., but not sure if the other rooms are any nicer and the amenities are two star, location minus ten. If you value your time and your money, just stay away.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Location, cleanliness, decor
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfashionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2007

This is a surprisingy good hotel, probably only just scraping into the 4 star rating but still very good. I stayed here with 3 friends when we booked Milan for the Italian motorcyle show in the city in Nov 2007. The cleanliness here cannot be faulted, our room was superbly presented and spotless. The room had air con which is a great plus in any hotel in November but, in Italy during summer - essential!

It's location is excellent, away from the noise of the centre yet handy for some great bars and restaurants. The Navilgi area is very picturesque, being centred around a river, the bridges were being worked on when we were there which spoiled the effect but it doesn't take much imagination to conjure up how nice this place would be when it's all completed. If you don't want to drink in the hotel bar then there is a lively little bar opposite that has a good friendly atmosphere

The only down sides of the hotel - and this is being very picky - one of the reception staff (female - not the guys) was a bit scruffy, although still very helpful & pleasant, as were all of the staff here. This didn't bother us but it may offend some people who like to complain about this sort of thing! Also there was no hot water in the bathroom for showering / washing on our first mornings stay, but there was apparently a problem with the plumbling which was sorted later in the day.

The breakfast here was well above average, with plenty of choice and the hot food being well cooked and tasty - it set us up well for a day trawling about the exhibition halls at Rho Fiera (which are HUGE). The serving staff were immaculately turned out

Nothing else to say about the Art Navigli really, except that if you're looking for a nice relaxing place to stay in Milan give this place some consideration. There is secure parking (inc in price of room) and motorcyclists are welcome here

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank deltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

Stayed here during the August Bank Holiday weekend, and got a good deal from the hotel direct at 100 euros per double room per night Bed & Breakfast and dinner on 1 night. The dinner was taken at a local restaurant and a credit of 25 euros per person was taken from the bill.

The hotel itself is pleasent enough, but could do with a bit of a refurb, not dirty just tired.

However where this hotel scores well is it's location in lively Navigili, about 20 yards from the canal side with it's restaurants and bars that spill into the street as night falls.

There is a supermarket right opposite the hotel for any forgotten essentials.

You are also only a 5 minute walk from Porta Genova subway station, which is only a short ride from the central tourist area.

Breakfast at the hotel was adequate and was served in a bright and spacious breakfast room on the 4th floor.

Bar service in the hotel was limited and finished at 10.30pm, but the barman explained to us that this was because most people use the bars on the canalside.

Would suggest to the hotel management that they maybe add some more English speaking channels to the TV choice, as only CNN was available despite BBC world and MTV being listed

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needs A Refurb
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 43Becko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2007

The "downside" was an unfriendly manager behind the reception desk, and there was no offering of a map of Milan or leaflets on what-to-do in English. The room was also pretty ordinary. Also, if you have lots of luggage and you're coming by train - just catch a taxi from Cordona station. Otherwise you are negotiating with cobblestone streets and crossing tiny bridges - I know, I did it in the rain! The "upside" is the hotel's position ... lots of good Italian restaurants nearby; quiet location away from tourist sites; and a fabulous antiques market held once a month on a Sunday. Oh .... and the breakfast was also very good.

  • Liked — the position of the hotel
  • Disliked — the short-tempered manager behind reception
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jednjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2006

Myself and two friends (mid-twenties) visited Hotel Nikken for the weekend of 1/12-3/12 and stayed in a triple room, which cost £72/€103 per night via Lastminute. After reading reviews, I was very cautious about our visit.
We didn’t arrive in Milan until 11.30pm Friday night, by which stage the Metro had stopped for the evening, and we soon discovered that Hotel Nikken was on the opposite side of Milan from the Central Station, where the airport shuttle had finished. This caused some difficulties for us but we did discover that the #9 tram does stop not far from the hotel at Genova transit point. The hotel is not 100 metres from the station as claimed, but more like a ten minute walk past the Irish and American bars, over the river bridge, and down the street alongside the river.
The Hotel Nikken is very much a business travellers hotel, and likely to cater to the smaller conference market. However this is not necessarily a bad thing, as the weekend rates were relatively cheap compared to some hotels we saw online, and we got a later checkout of 12 midday on the Sunday. Do not be put off by the large amounts of graffiti in the area when you first arrive – we soon realised after doing a sightseeing tour that absolutely everywhere in Milan is covered in graffiti, and the three of us did feel safe walking around the area in the evening by ourselves. I would not recommend any woman walk alone in any country they are not familiar with, but as a group, we were fine.
The hotel did not seem to be overly busy, so I was disappointed when I asked for an additional pillow and was told it wasn’t possible as there was no evening porter on duty, and spares were not available from reception. I would not class the hotel as a 4*, but more a 2*+ or a 3*. The rooms were clean but slightly dated; however the revamp they are currently doing should improve the appearances. The three beds were comfortable, the bathroom had a bath and shower (very good water pressure!) and we also had a balcony; unfortunately too cold to use, but it did have a nice view of the courtyard below. The staff were mostly friendly with an excellent command of English (my Italian is nil) and the breakfast supplied included pastries, toast, cereal, fruits, yoghurt, juice and coffee – sufficent to fill three girls stomachs for shopping. The area was also close by Metro to the clothing markets (S.Agostino; one stop – Saturday mornings), and there is a small convenience or corner store opposite the hotel (hidden somewhat strangely by a wall). The area does not really have a lot of shops, though there are a number of restaurants between the hotel and the Metro and immediate surrounding areas, including a brillant one beside the river bridge steps that is very popular with the locals. Average price for restaurant mains in the area appeared to be between €12-€18.
This would be a good hotel for a small group planning on doing a lot of sightseeing, looking for good base in Milan, or for an older couple or group of women. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it as a good place to stay for a ‘romantic weekend away’ but I wouldn’t discount either. If you are looking for somewhere in a party location, try somewhere near the Gibaldi area as there is not the nightlife in Genova for a boozy weekend. We were looking for a more relaxed weekend so the Hotel Nikken was very good for us, and we would quite probably stay there again.

  • Liked — Relatively good value - and near the tube
  • Disliked — Difficult to get to if you arrive off a late arriving flight
  • Tips/Secrets — S.Agostino Markets - good bargain shopping
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank girlinterested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2006

Everything a bit run down from guests to (wall-to-wall) carpets.
Large, but very plain rooms.
They seem to be renovating parts of the hotel right now (about time?). Suggest you get a room in a floor they are not working on, seems the higher up the better (less noise).

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PDH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
#40 of 427 in Milan
376 reviews
nhow Milano
#31 of 427 in Milan
1,898 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Magna Pars Suites
Magna Pars Suites
#45 of 427 in Milan
309 reviews
Navigli
Mercure Milano Solari
Mercure Milano Solari
#119 of 427 in Milan
869 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 427 in Milan
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Navigli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Navigli

Property: Art Hotel Navigli
Address: Via Carlo Angelo Fumagalli 4 | Porta Ticinese, 20143 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli , Porta Ticinese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Milan
#65 Family Hotel in Milan
#66 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#68 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#89 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Navigli 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel in the Navigli area with free wi-fi, private garage, Gym, wellness center, roof garden, naturally lit meeting rooms, 200 mt from metro subway station, 2 km from the Milano Duomo and Leonardo's last supper and only 5 minutes from highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Art Hotel Navigli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing