We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Art Hotel Navigli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Hotel Navigli
Ranked #77 of 429 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Apart from the comfort of the room and the helpfulness of the staff, I would say that the chief benefit of this hotel is its proximity to the many canalside restaurants, and the presence of a grocery store immediately opposite.
Internet access fast and reliable, but has to be paid for separately (Swisscom).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne_Graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2009

The Art Hotel Navigli is in a great location. Just off the canal and lot of restaurants and nightlife. The staff was over all friendly and the bartender in particular was a lot of fun. They put out tapas at the bar each night so it was a great place to hang out and have a bottle of wine. The room was clean and nice though the bed was very firm and we both thought it was quite uncomfortable. The only other drawback is that they were advertising a media center on floor -1 with free internet access which did not actually exist yet. Overall it was a great place to stay for a romantic weekend in Milan.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sazzle303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. All staff very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless, fresh linens and towels everyday. I fell in love with the small bars of Marie Danielle soap, am trying to find out how to get more! Nice and quiet, despite the area which is filled with young people nightly. Lots of eateries nearby, including a nice place just outside the hotel, Pizzeria Malastrana. Also try Lucca and Andrea's nearby. Did not meet any other Americans there, but part of travel is to meet people from other countries, and all the guests were nice as well. The daily breakfast is truly remarkable, not just your ordinary coffe/tea and croissant. There was everything from scrambled eggs and meats to several kinds of fruit, to cereals, juices, pastries, you name it and they had it. Something for every taste! The green line (subway) is about two blocks walk from the hotel, and the subway is very easy to use. We are older travelers (69 and 59 years of age), but we didn't feel the least bit uncomfortable being older than the others there. I would love to go back this minute!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelcakesandpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Highly recommend this hotel. Great location, just a 6station to center Duomo, on quiet place despite very close to main street Grande Navigli, clean a new room, plasma Tv. No objection.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janhutnan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

The room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. The huge drawback was that the hotel was being renovated, without our prior knowledge, and although there was no noise, there were construction materials lying around and there were parts of the hotel common areas sealed off. I chose the hotel because it has an indoor garage so i could sleep soundly knowing that the car was safe. However, although the site said that it was free, they tried to charge me for it, saying that the policy has now changed-indeed a few days later, the word "free" was removed form the website. There was a limited variety offered for breakfast-especially for a 4 star hotel. The location is quiet, and there are a few good restaurants in walking distance. overall, not worth the 115 euro a night

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Double room for €156 (2 nights, 22-23 December 2008). I choose this hotel for its location (Navigli district) and the hotel has a free parking, as i was with private car.
Room was spotless. Great breakfast on the top floor. Helpful and friendly staff. First night only, shower was not hot enough.
Minor point was that there are no facilities to make coffee/tea (4-star?).
As for location: Navigli-district maybe only buzzing in the summer season, because not much was going on when i was there. Also metro, tram are close by and takes you directly to the centre.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bclout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

I was at the Art Hotel for a few days, a triple suite on the 5th floor.

The location is in the middle of one of the most bustling night areas of Milan, with the good and bad attached. The room, however, was not disturbed by any outside noise, but unfortunately something (probably an elevator engine) was annoyingly making itself heard faintly in the background from about 7:00am. Not too disturbing if you - like me - sleep hard, but definitely a no go if your sleep is light.

The hotel itself has a sort of 70s-revival psychedelic patterns on the carpets, together with some rather pleasant pastel colors on the walls, patches of crocodile-looking leathery wallpaper (color-themed, I understand, depending on the floor you are) and a few actually good touches (the lighting at the doors, for for example) - resulting in a - well, very particular style. The thing's obviously been thought consistently by somebody - no small feat in itself - look at the pictures in the hotel's website to find out if you find the thinking agreeable or not.

There were traces of on-going work on the hotel, with some parts plastered on the way to the elevator, crude wood-framed structures in the hallway to the room, dangling elevator lamps and a few work-in-progress signs (which alarmed me initially) but - apart the glitch of visual ugliness - the room and the overall setting were unaffected. I just hope the thing is temporary.

The room, which follows a similar style as the corridor but translates it better in furniture and fittings, was very good - with a nice, clean and reasonably spaced bathroom (not as big as you'd expect in a suite but in shiny perfect order and with a reasonably size good bathtub), good space for clothes, good-sized and comfortable beds (really nice lighting, down to good individual led reading lights) and even a rather spacious balcony. The furniture was solid and pleasant. The "two" rooms are actually the same room divided by a piece of furniture, but the setting worked just fine for us - it would less if you really wanted a totally separated bed. I asked a couple of services (an additional lamp, a city map, to send a fax) and I was cared for courteously and professionally - so definitely good service from the reception desk.

Breakfast was excellent - with the full complement of Italian style croissant + cappuccino and more English style eggs, fruit, bacon etc. Excellent service even there, a cappuccino was served barely few seconds after asking.

Overall, the hotel is recommendable and more than fit as a base, and a very good one at that - you feel rather well at the prospect of going back to the room when you want to refresh after a trip in the city or when finally calling it a day. The hotel's location is so that you can come and go from the city center quickly to refresh and in the evening just stay in the area - it's practically surrounded by clubs and restaurants. I had rented a car, and the free garage needs mentioning: it was really free (unlike many other over-expensive garage facilities attached to other hotels in the city) and it proved invaluable - especially since in the area - if you have a car - you couldn't survive without.

I had a good deal over the internet, and under the same conditions, I'll be definitely going back there next time.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cris1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
nhow Milano
#28 of 429 in Milan
2,015 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
#87 of 429 in Milan
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Magna Pars Suites
Magna Pars Suites
#35 of 429 in Milan
326 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#36 of 429 in Milan
1,907 reviews
Enterprise Hotel
#30 of 429 in Milan
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Navigli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Navigli

Address: Via Carlo Angelo Fumagalli 4 | Porta Ticinese, 20143 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli , Porta Ticinese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Milan
#64 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#65 Family Hotel in Milan
#66 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#89 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £112 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Navigli 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel in the Navigli area with free wi-fi, private garage, Gym, wellness center, roof garden, naturally lit meeting rooms, 200 mt from metro subway station, 2 km from the Milano Duomo and Leonardo's last supper and only 5 minutes from highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel Navigli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing