We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No non-smoking rooms are a no-no in 4-Star Hotel”
Review of Art Hotel Navigli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Hotel Navigli
Ranked #75 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2010

I am currently sitting in my room in Art Hotel Navigli and am deeply disappointed by my choice. The location of the hotel is excellent if you're looking for great food and a different area of Milan. Proximity to the metro makes Milan city-touring easy. If you arrive at reception you start realising that this is 4-Star Italian Standard ... (as most hotels in Milan I think - I always discount at least 1 Star vs. other countries in Italy. Now speaking about art ... I cannot see any. The rooms are rather ugly - definitely nothing stylish, etc. and the worst: no non-smoking room as the general manager claims. And this one is so deeply drenched in old smoke that even spraying with their special anti-tobacco spray does not help more than 20 minutes. Room is quite big though - but this can't make up for the bad smell and rather depressing decor (a lot of green and cheap wood furniture). Bathroom is nothing special either. All in all - bad value for money (130 EUR / night).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busibusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2010

The Art Hotel Navigli is well located in Navigli, which is an interesting area of Milan with canals lined with restaurants and art shops. If you are looking for a central location in Milan then this is not the best choice, although with a Metro station close by and 1 Euro metro tickets, it is simple to get to the central Duomo area.
The superior double rooms are spacious, stylish and very comfortable with large bathrooms, which were very clean.
The breakfast buffet was quite good - decent choice and efficient service.
Check in and check out was quick and easy with the reception staff being efficient, as opposed to overly friendly.
This hotel makes a good value alternative to the expensive centrally located hotels, as it has good transport links close by, and the superior double rooms are excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gl0betrekker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed here because it was close to NABA where our daughter is currently studying and we were visiting her - not close to much so it is more of a business hotel. Hotel check-in lobby looks like it came out of the 60's and the check-in manager was not the brightest or most helpful person. The room was not bad - unable to set thermostat so we had to have windows up in the rain. Shower door needed maintenance and the floor was linoleum. The breakfast was awesome. I am not recommending this hotel because internet access was not free! I had to pay 17 Euros ($25 US) for 24 hours so I was not happy - especially since this was the second most expensive hotel we stayed in during our 14 night vacation. Even the B&B's give you free WiFi so I was not happy and for this alone I would not recommend this hotel. Not the best for the $$$

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodySmith5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We chose an upmarket hotel as we only had one night. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was very comfortable and spacious and we couldn't fault the service and the buffet breakfast. Our only regret was that it was about 5kms from the centre of the city. The canals make a great backdrop to the many restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sainter57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Stayed for 1 night. Thought it might be pretty decent but was wrong.

Friendly staff on check-in. Room was a bit of a shock as the price was not cheap (£140/night). Linoleum floor, no carpeting. Furniture looked cheap. Freezing and couldn't change air con. Tiny bathroom, cheap toiletries, awful towels. Bed not that comfortable. Room was quite large though.

Breakfast was included but was so busy it wasn't worth it. Had to wait some time to be seated at a table.

I know Milan is expensive and hotels often not great, but for the money I had expected a lot better. Good location though.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I wish I'd read the reviews before I stayed there. My room STANK of smoke, the staff STOLE from me and the manager said he would write his OWN REVIEW on tripadvisor if I wrote something bad. The hotel is DIRTY and MILES from anywhere. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE don't go there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatever234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Everything was terrible, I travel the world over in budget and decent hotels and this was the worst ever. Rude, aggressive, intimidating. Tried to physically threaten me when I made mention of all the problems. Was pleased to get out of there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulDub9005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
nhow Milano
#28 of 428 in Milan
2,013 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
#87 of 428 in Milan
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Magna Pars Suites
Magna Pars Suites
#36 of 428 in Milan
326 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#37 of 428 in Milan
1,905 reviews
Enterprise Hotel
#30 of 428 in Milan
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Navigli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Navigli

Address: Via Carlo Angelo Fumagalli 4 | Porta Ticinese, 20143 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli , Porta Ticinese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Milan
#65 Family Hotel in Milan
#65 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#66 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#89 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £112 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Navigli 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel in the Navigli area with free wi-fi, private garage, Gym, wellness center, roof garden, naturally lit meeting rooms, 200 mt from metro subway station, 2 km from the Milano Duomo and Leonardo's last supper and only 5 minutes from highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Hotel Navigli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing