We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Ranked #85 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

delightful location right in the center of milan (just a few minutes walk from the duomo and the fashion district in Milan). very spacious and bright rooms, had a wonderful terrace to have breakfast or relax. staff is very kind and willing to help. Just the perfect place to stay with you family, for business or for a romantic holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midori984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    73
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
49
196
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Amazing experience! The hotel was incredibly exquisite and luxurious. The rooms are furnished with style and are very comfortable and classy. The hotel staff were extremely kind, friendly and helpful with every single thing. The hotel has the perfect location, walking distance to the center of Milan, the Duomo and all the shopping fabulous areas. We would recommend this hotel to everyone, it is great!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leyla188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We only had one night at this lovely hotel, really just a layover waiting for our flight out of Milan. Over the years we have stayed at a great variety of hotels in Italy and we found this hotel to be just perfect for our needs. Sure the lift is tiny and there are stairs to deal with and the bed is firm and there is a small clothes storage recess, but these things are entirely normal in Italy and are of no consequence. The important things are the charming and friendly staff, the modern bathroom, the comfortable bed and lovely linen and the discreet but marvellously central location, including an easy walk (with baggage) to the airport express station. We left too early for breakfast so cannot comment there, and having it as an extra charge suited us. The decor is elegant and understated and the restaurant recommendation we were given was excellent. We shall certainly recommend this hotel and we shall stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Great location. First impressions "Is this really a hotel??" soon overcome by warm welcome.
Stayed in a suite which had a extremely homely feel.
Spoilt ourselves with breakfast-in-bed the first morning; other mornings did the Italian thing - capuccino and croissant standing at a cafe in Via Dante, literally just out of the door. More expensive if you sit down.
Everything to hand, or rather on foot: shopping, museums, La Scala, Brera ....
Free Wi-Fi and computer to print boarding passes a nice touch

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estherbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wimbledon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed at this little gem of a hotel for three nights in February. We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed in a large loft style room that was clean and bright with a nice bathroom with shower (no bath). The hotel is in an excellent location just off Via Dante and a short walk from the Douomo and the Castle. It can be a little tricky to find as it is actually the bottom couple of floors of a plush apartment block. Just ring the buzzer and the excellent and welcoming staff will come and get you and your bags. We had a nice continental breakfast served in our room each morning included in the room price. There are, however, numerous nice cafes nearby if you would prefer that. All in all a great expierience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank womble5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend. Friendly, helpful reception. Very good location, walking distance to everything. I booked a suite so not sure what the other rooms are like, but the suite was of course very spacious. I had heard complaints about the beds being stiff and they are correct. The bed was much too stiff and was two matresses pushed together so was dealing with a trench in the middle. The room could vastly be improved with a new mattress.

The hotel is a bit difficult to find as the signage is minimal and it is up a flight of stairs to the lobby. There is no real lobby so to speak. Breakfast is normally served to your room or to a room behind the checkin desk. The breakfast included was simply a few croisants, oj, and tea or coffee. Eggs or anything else is chargeable. Given the rate I thought that charging 2.50 for an egg seemed a bit trivial.

For parking, you need to use fairly expensive public garages that are 10 minutes walking distance. Note that as of Jan 1 there is a city congestion charge of 5 euro per day. The easiest thing to do if you are going out of the city is to park at a metro outside the city as the parking is cheaper and you avoid the congestion charge and traffic and metro to the hotel. The metro stop is a two minute walk.

Also note that if you want to see Leonardo Da Vinci's Last Supper you can only reserve on the internet and you must book several weeks in advance, otherwise you will have no chance of seeing it, especially during the high tourist periods.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTFBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed with my girlfriend in this hotel for 4 days. It is wonderful hotel in the very center of Milano. The suite was incredible....very comfortable, spacious, clean.
The staff were always very welcoming, always smiling and ready to help in everything we needed. They made sure our stay in Milano was something special.
You have to pay separately for breakfast but it is really worth it.
If I decide to visit Milano again I will surely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#129 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#65 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#38 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Brera
Hotel Milano Scala
Hotel Milano Scala
#27 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Property: Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Address: Via San Tomaso 6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#57 Family Hotel in Milan
#70 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#86 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Locanda dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda is an unexpected oasis of peace and quiet in Milan’s frenetic city centre. The elegant 18th century building is in a pedestrian area dedicated to shopping.Once you arrive you can forget your car – you’re in the very heart of Milan, close to La Scala opera house, the Duomo, the Stock Exchange, and the famous designer stores on via Monte Napoleone and via della Spiga.The décor is the creation of architect Vittorio Locatelli, who loves combining refined warm pastel hues with rough, natural materials, following his fancy wherever it takes him. His intention was to furnish the Locanda so that people would feel they were at home. He designed four suggestive rooms, each with a beautiful flower-filled terrace, a rare occurrence in a city like Milan.The atmosphere throughout is pleasant and relaxed, and prompt personalised service is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antica Locanda dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Dei Mercanti Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing