We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in central location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Ranked #87 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Great hotel in central and quiet location - in walking distance of top tourist sites. Lovely staff who provide fabulous customer service. Reception is on first floor. Our suite was perfect for our family - large king size bed and two single beds. Very clean spacious rooms. Ask reception for restaurant recommendations - we were given great advice and enjoyed a wonderful meal at a nearby seafood restaurant. Note. entry to hotel is not well sign posted - look for large double green doors. Highly recommended for families.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    73
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
49
194
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at Antica locanda dei Mercanti for just 1 night.
The suite was superb ! I got to see two other suites as well and they are all gorgeous.
Feels like you have your own little apartement/room in Milan - not the feeling of a "normal" hotel because the reseption is in the 1 floor and there are no signs outside the building that a hotel is here. We got breakfast served in the suite - lovely ! 5 minutes walk to Piazza del Duomo - could not be better !
We will always stay at this hotel when i Milan !!! Always ! But next time we will be staying in the suite with a private roof terrace :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatvonZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We loved everything here! From the warm reception to our top floor room with terrace. Nice room with soaring ceilings. The doors open on to terrace where you receive your breakfast of coffee, rolls & crossiants. So beautiful each morning. We had "3" day trips which departed from Foro Buonaparte so this made the ideal choice location for walking each morning to our stop. We arrived late in the evening & they gave us directions to the best restaurant which serves seafood & pasta. We had the most relaxing time here every evening. The main street & main shopping district with Duomo is within easy walking distance. This was our favorite stay this trip. Oh, almost forgot... the elevator is an experience not to be missed especially when you travel up with another person who says "come on in, we"ll all fit". "3" adults & "2" pieces of luggage!! No clue how we all got in, I laughed out loud & felt like a bunch of clowns in a V.W. Book this place, you will not be dissapointed unless you want a huge breakfast!

Room Tip: Get a room with terrace/balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We made reservations which were never confirmed and then the hotel could not find them even though they had reservations for our friends which I confirmed. Then they said they were sold out. We kept calling and they said they had no rooms. We stayed at another hotel and they will not refund our prepayment even though they did not honor our reservation and had no room. We stayed at the hotel Principe di Savoia which was great!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locanda01, Direttore at Antica Locanda dei Mercanti, responded to this review, 30 September 2016
Dear Guest,
we are contacting you regarding your review on Trip Advisor of Hotel Antica Locanda dei Mercati made on 6 feb 2016.

New management took over the Antica Locanda dei Mercanti in June 2016.
Since then we have been working hard to ensure that our Guests have the best experience possible when staying with us.
We have had very happy and satisfied Guests so far, and this is the reward for the big effort we are putting into this beautiful yet difficult business.

We are very sorry to have discovered that you had problems and did not enjoy your stay at Antica Locanda dei Mercanti.

Your review on Trip Advisor can have a relevant inpact on our business.
We would be most grateful if the Manager of the hotel could speak personally with you about your experience at the Locanda.

Could you please contact him directly at the following email address: manager@locanda.it.

Thank you for your time. Best regards.
Paola
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Antica Locanda dei Mercanti. As per other reviews, the location is excellent. It’s just a 5 minute walk to the Duomo, 10 minutes to La Scala and a 15 minute walk to see The Last Supper. Lots of nearby shopping as well.
The hotel has modern decor. We had a room on one of the upper floors, quite cosy, and with a nicely appointed bathroom. The front desk staff were very helpful with maps and directions. Many restaurants nearby.
Overall, an excellent place to stay in Milan

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diego n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warszawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Great reception staff and very warm welcoming! Beautiful,clean and spacious room!The hotel is close to every place you have to see in Milan.We booked a room with a terrace- perfect for breakfast or a glass of wine in the evening before La Scala(5 min walk by the way!).Honestly one can not ask for more !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

It is a little hard to rate because in certain aspects it was lovely - an old palazzo, clean, large room with antique furniture and the staff were outstanding. However, our friends stayed at the UNA nearby for less money than we paid. Granted Una Hotels aren't very interesting but it had vast facilities compared to Antica Locanda which had no dining room, the computer was ancient and there was no printer. I thought they should have installed better reading lights for the bed and the wardrobe didn't allow for longer items. We also found that although the breakfast was served in a most elegant manner it wasn't worth the money. We liked the fact that the room had a small kitchen and because we didn't have to go through the reception area it felt more as if we had a small flat or apartment in Milan.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Venetia020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#131 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#75 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#37 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#5 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Property: Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Address: Via San Tomaso 6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#57 Family Hotel in Milan
#72 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#86 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Locanda dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda is an unexpected oasis of peace and quiet in Milan’s frenetic city centre. The elegant 18th century building is in a pedestrian area dedicated to shopping.Once you arrive you can forget your car – you’re in the very heart of Milan, close to La Scala opera house, the Duomo, the Stock Exchange, and the famous designer stores on via Monte Napoleone and via della Spiga.The décor is the creation of architect Vittorio Locatelli, who loves combining refined warm pastel hues with rough, natural materials, following his fancy wherever it takes him. His intention was to furnish the Locanda so that people would feel they were at home. He designed four suggestive rooms, each with a beautiful flower-filled terrace, a rare occurrence in a city like Milan.The atmosphere throughout is pleasant and relaxed, and prompt personalised service is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Antica Locanda dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Dei Mercanti Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing