We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Hotel Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Ranked #91 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small Hotel Great Location”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in this delightful hotel and were very impressed with the service and location though a bit hard to find. A very small hotel on one level and in an apartment building . The room was amazing with our own private terrace where we had our breakfast. I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't like the big chain hotels it is very unique and very close to the Duomo and great restaurants at the Brera district a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Choose a room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    73
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
49
198
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Location: Antica Locanda dei Mercanti’s location is quite central to all sites in Milano. The Brera neighborhood, Duomo Square, and Piazza della Scala are all within walking distance from the hotel. My husband and I walked to all sites with the exception of our private transfer from the train station upon our arrival and our ride to the airport upon our departure. Despite its close proximity to all sites, the hotel is located in a quiet area of the city.

Room: We booked a Terrace room on an upper floor. Our room did not disappoint. It was open and airy which completely contradicts the expectation of being in the center of Italia’s second largest city. This of course caused great relief for my husband and I who were slightly dreading the hustle and bustle of city life after spending the previous week enjoying the peace and tranquility Bellagio offered us. Putting the exceptional atmosphere of the room aside it provided us with a fabulous bed with nice linens, a spacious bathroom with a great shower, an ac unit that could have allowed us to hang meat it was so cool (this is definitely a compliment), a small kitchen space and a beautiful private terrace to enjoy. While the room provides incredible natural light it also includes pull down black out blinds to ensure you sleep well at night for those of us who prefer it dark. Another neat detail that I must mention is if you email the hotel one of your favorite photos, they will frame and display it in your room. That was definitely a special touch that we had not experienced at any other hotel during our 17 day trip.

Staff: The staff was friendly welcoming us in with smiles upon our arrival. They transported our luggage to our room, provided us a map with directions to nearby sites, provided a tour of our room, and even offered to make dinner reservation for us. Each person on staff we encountered was just as pleasant and eager to help in any way.

Other Accommodations: Antica Locanda dei Mercanti will arrange private transfers for a reasonable cost. My husband and I took full advantage of this on both our arrival and departure. The hotel also offers a basic breakfast (croissants, cappuccino, and juice) in a delightful breakfast room or they will deliver it to your room. We chose to enjoy breakfast in our room where we had a private terrace. All guests receive free wifi as well. The wifi signal was also one of the strongest we had during our time in Italia.

Overall: My husband and I could not have asked for a better hotel experience for our final night in Italia. The location, staff, and room cannot be beat. Without a doubt Antica Locanda dei Mercanti will be our go to hotel when visiting Milano in the future.

Room Tip: Book a terrace room, you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

When travelling to Milan, we highly recommend Antica Locanda dei Mercati. It is in a great location with many restaurants in the area and walking distance to all attractions. The staff is very friendly and the continental breakfast and breakfast room are great. Difficult to find since not a large, high profile hotel but that adds to its charm.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Arecni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
215 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a one bedroom suite for about 4 days last Fall and it was great! The front desk knew who we were before we even checked in because they asked for a photo of us to put in the room to make it feel more like it was our home. The staff was very efficient and helpful. They gave us excellent recommendations for quality restaurants NOT tourist trap places. They made our taxi reservations and recommended short cut walking paths to nearby sights and restaurants as well. They made Milan a great place to experience for the first time!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had only one night to spend in Milan so chose this hotel based on reviews and it's location. What a delight! The hotel is a hidden gem...clean, bright and peaceful. The reception and breakfast room is bright and elegant, sparsely decorated with just the right accents. Our room was divine, we had a corner room with a small private terrace. The room was flooded with natural light, the furnishings were mostly white, it was large and airy and felt very private. It was decorated tastefully and was very clean. The location was great, so easy to walk to everything we wanted to see, yet tucked away on a quiet street. The only thing that would have made it better would have been if there was a breakfast buffet vrs being served a breakfast. Also, it was very expensive to park our car for the day at a garage about a block away. I'd stay here again if I didn't have a car. The staff were friendly and very helpful...lovely hosts.

Room Tip: The terrace was so nice to have even though we didn't really use it. It was a lovely thing to lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for 1 night in this hotel with 4 of us (2 adults, 2 children) and could not have been happier with our choice. The staff were fantastic and really made us feel welcome. The room was clean and spacious and they even rolled in a stretcher bed for us so that our kids did not need to share a double bed (which they hate!).

We took the Malpensa Express to Stazione Cardona and from there it was an easy 15-20 minute walk, even with our luggage. The hotel is in a very quiet street but next to a pedestrian mall (via Dante) which takes you one way to the Castle & the other way to the Duomo. All of Milan's most famous sites was in easy walking distance.

All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank richaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Great location near Duomo, beautiful private terrace where they served breakfast. Service was excellent. Air conditioning easily coped with 37C. Cannot fault in general, there was a very small lift that did not quite go to the ground but for us this was just part of the character of the building.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidT0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#127 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#60 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#38 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Brera
Hotel Milano Scala
Hotel Milano Scala
#26 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Property: Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Address: Via San Tomaso 6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#57 Family Hotel in Milan
#75 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#86 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Locanda dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda is an unexpected oasis of peace and quiet in Milan’s frenetic city centre. The elegant 18th century building is in a pedestrian area dedicated to shopping.Once you arrive you can forget your car – you’re in the very heart of Milan, close to La Scala opera house, the Duomo, the Stock Exchange, and the famous designer stores on via Monte Napoleone and via della Spiga.The décor is the creation of architect Vittorio Locatelli, who loves combining refined warm pastel hues with rough, natural materials, following his fancy wherever it takes him. His intention was to furnish the Locanda so that people would feel they were at home. He designed four suggestive rooms, each with a beautiful flower-filled terrace, a rare occurrence in a city like Milan.The atmosphere throughout is pleasant and relaxed, and prompt personalised service is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Antica Locanda dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Dei Mercanti Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing