We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Palazzo Segreti(Milan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Star(Milan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Rovello(Milan)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
253
83
30
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
83
30
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia dantefirst floorquiet streetsmall liftthe upper floorslast supperboutique hotelsmall hotelperfect locationreception areacroissantswould definitely stay here againeach morningbreakfast roombeautiful roombrera districtwithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Centrally located, you are no more than a 60 second walk from the thick of it and the whole city is accessible from the hotel by foot. You know you've made a good choice of hotel when they are happy to show you the other rooms available and move your bags for you (our first room overlooked the courtyard and we just wanted a bit more light and view of the hustle and bustle of Milan). The room was enormous, very clean with select pieces of antique furniture, however the mattress was quite firm, especially if you like sinking into your bed like we did in Varenna, Verona, Cambridge and London on this trip.

The staff were very friendly welcoming us in with smiles upon our arrival and transported our luggage to our room, provided us a map with directions to nearby sites. All staff we encountered were pleasant and eager to help in any way.

Breakfast was good, but you do need to advise the staff the night before what you wish to have. No biggie, just don't forget!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetesBodyParts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in this delightful hotel and were very impressed with the service and location though a bit hard to find. A very small hotel on one level and in an apartment building . The room was amazing with our own private terrace where we had our breakfast. I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't like the big chain hotels it is very unique and very close to the Duomo and great restaurants at the Brera district a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Choose a room with terrace
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Location: Antica Locanda dei Mercanti’s location is quite central to all sites in Milano. The Brera neighborhood, Duomo Square, and Piazza della Scala are all within walking distance from the hotel. My husband and I walked to all sites with the exception of our private transfer from the train station upon our arrival and our ride to the airport upon our departure. Despite its close proximity to all sites, the hotel is located in a quiet area of the city.

Room: We booked a Terrace room on an upper floor. Our room did not disappoint. It was open and airy which completely contradicts the expectation of being in the center of Italia’s second largest city. This of course caused great relief for my husband and I who were slightly dreading the hustle and bustle of city life after spending the previous week enjoying the peace and tranquility Bellagio offered us. Putting the exceptional atmosphere of the room aside it provided us with a fabulous bed with nice linens, a spacious bathroom with a great shower, an ac unit that could have allowed us to hang meat it was so cool (this is definitely a compliment), a small kitchen space and a beautiful private terrace to enjoy. While the room provides incredible natural light it also includes pull down black out blinds to ensure you sleep well at night for those of us who prefer it dark. Another neat detail that I must mention is if you email the hotel one of your favorite photos, they will frame and display it in your room. That was definitely a special touch that we had not experienced at any other hotel during our 17 day trip.

Staff: The staff was friendly welcoming us in with smiles upon our arrival. They transported our luggage to our room, provided us a map with directions to nearby sites, provided a tour of our room, and even offered to make dinner reservation for us. Each person on staff we encountered was just as pleasant and eager to help in any way.

Other Accommodations: Antica Locanda dei Mercanti will arrange private transfers for a reasonable cost. My husband and I took full advantage of this on both our arrival and departure. The hotel also offers a basic breakfast (croissants, cappuccino, and juice) in a delightful breakfast room or they will deliver it to your room. We chose to enjoy breakfast in our room where we had a private terrace. All guests receive free wifi as well. The wifi signal was also one of the strongest we had during our time in Italia.

Overall: My husband and I could not have asked for a better hotel experience for our final night in Italia. The location, staff, and room cannot be beat. Without a doubt Antica Locanda dei Mercanti will be our go to hotel when visiting Milano in the future.

Room Tip: Book a terrace room, you will not be disappointed!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

When travelling to Milan, we highly recommend Antica Locanda dei Mercati. It is in a great location with many restaurants in the area and walking distance to all attractions. The staff is very friendly and the continental breakfast and breakfast room are great. Difficult to find since not a large, high profile hotel but that adds to its charm.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Arecni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a one bedroom suite for about 4 days last Fall and it was great! The front desk knew who we were before we even checked in because they asked for a photo of us to put in the room to make it feel more like it was our home. The staff was very efficient and helpful. They gave us excellent recommendations for quality restaurants NOT tourist trap places. They made our taxi reservations and recommended short cut walking paths to nearby sights and restaurants as well. They made Milan a great place to experience for the first time!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews