We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Milano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Ranked #89 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was our second stay at Antica, and we enjoyed it as much as before. The location for exploring the Centro could not be better; we can walk everywhere--Duomo, La Scala, Castello, Galleria, San Bernardo, even the Last Supper-- and the neighborhood (locanda) is full of good restaurants, shops and salumerias. The staff is warm, welcoming, and quickly attends to all needs.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billshmaritza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here in July for a weekend visit to Milan. Everything was wonderful at this hotel, from the room upgrade we received to the nice in-room breakfast each morning.
This place excels in personal service: they even arranged tickets for us to go see The Last Supper mural, which was otherwise sold out for that particular weekend!
We will definitely return here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This unusual and charming hotel was within easy reach of most sights, museums & restaurants. I think most rooms are really suites -- ours had a huge and very attractive living room, with a fridge. There was a walk in closet off the bedroom and reasonable size bathroom. The room was very quiet -- all the rooms in the suite had double windows, which very effectively excluded any street noise, though our bedroom looked out on a courtyard in any case.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent (particularly the fresh-baked rolls).

The hotel is not obviously visible from the street -- there's only a smallish brass plate with the hotel name next to the door -- but our taxi driver had no problems finding it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quietestm, though the double windows keep out most street noise anywa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Centrally located, you are no more than a 60 second walk from the thick of it and the whole city is accessible from the hotel by foot. You know you've made a good choice of hotel when they are happy to show you the other rooms available and move your bags for you (our first room overlooked the courtyard and we just wanted a bit more light and view of the hustle and bustle of Milan). The room was enormous, very clean with select pieces of antique furniture, however the mattress was quite firm, especially if you like sinking into your bed like we did in Varenna, Verona, Cambridge and London on this trip.

The staff were very friendly welcoming us in with smiles upon our arrival and transported our luggage to our room, provided us a map with directions to nearby sites. All staff we encountered were pleasant and eager to help in any way.

Breakfast was good, but you do need to advise the staff the night before what you wish to have. No biggie, just don't forget!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetesBodyParts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in this delightful hotel and were very impressed with the service and location though a bit hard to find. A very small hotel on one level and in an apartment building . The room was amazing with our own private terrace where we had our breakfast. I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't like the big chain hotels it is very unique and very close to the Duomo and great restaurants at the Brera district a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Choose a room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Location: Antica Locanda dei Mercanti’s location is quite central to all sites in Milano. The Brera neighborhood, Duomo Square, and Piazza della Scala are all within walking distance from the hotel. My husband and I walked to all sites with the exception of our private transfer from the train station upon our arrival and our ride to the airport upon our departure. Despite its close proximity to all sites, the hotel is located in a quiet area of the city.

Room: We booked a Terrace room on an upper floor. Our room did not disappoint. It was open and airy which completely contradicts the expectation of being in the center of Italia’s second largest city. This of course caused great relief for my husband and I who were slightly dreading the hustle and bustle of city life after spending the previous week enjoying the peace and tranquility Bellagio offered us. Putting the exceptional atmosphere of the room aside it provided us with a fabulous bed with nice linens, a spacious bathroom with a great shower, an ac unit that could have allowed us to hang meat it was so cool (this is definitely a compliment), a small kitchen space and a beautiful private terrace to enjoy. While the room provides incredible natural light it also includes pull down black out blinds to ensure you sleep well at night for those of us who prefer it dark. Another neat detail that I must mention is if you email the hotel one of your favorite photos, they will frame and display it in your room. That was definitely a special touch that we had not experienced at any other hotel during our 17 day trip.

Staff: The staff was friendly welcoming us in with smiles upon our arrival. They transported our luggage to our room, provided us a map with directions to nearby sites, provided a tour of our room, and even offered to make dinner reservation for us. Each person on staff we encountered was just as pleasant and eager to help in any way.

Other Accommodations: Antica Locanda dei Mercanti will arrange private transfers for a reasonable cost. My husband and I took full advantage of this on both our arrival and departure. The hotel also offers a basic breakfast (croissants, cappuccino, and juice) in a delightful breakfast room or they will deliver it to your room. We chose to enjoy breakfast in our room where we had a private terrace. All guests receive free wifi as well. The wifi signal was also one of the strongest we had during our time in Italia.

Overall: My husband and I could not have asked for a better hotel experience for our final night in Italia. The location, staff, and room cannot be beat. Without a doubt Antica Locanda dei Mercanti will be our go to hotel when visiting Milano in the future.

Room Tip: Book a terrace room, you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

When travelling to Milan, we highly recommend Antica Locanda dei Mercati. It is in a great location with many restaurants in the area and walking distance to all attractions. The staff is very friendly and the continental breakfast and breakfast room are great. Difficult to find since not a large, high profile hotel but that adds to its charm.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Arecni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#105 of 428 in Milan
399 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#20 of 428 in Milan
338 reviews
Brera
Hotel Milano Scala
Hotel Milano Scala
#25 of 428 in Milan
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
754 reviews
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Address: Via San Tomaso 6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#57 Family Hotel in Milan
#72 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#86 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £184 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Locanda dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda is an unexpected oasis of peace and quiet in Milan’s frenetic city centre. The elegant 18th century building is in a pedestrian area dedicated to shopping.Once you arrive you can forget your car – you’re in the very heart of Milan, close to La Scala opera house, the Duomo, the Stock Exchange, and the famous designer stores on via Monte Napoleone and via della Spiga.The décor is the creation of architect Vittorio Locatelli, who loves combining refined warm pastel hues with rough, natural materials, following his fancy wherever it takes him. His intention was to furnish the Locanda so that people would feel they were at home. He designed four suggestive rooms, each with a beautiful flower-filled terrace, a rare occurrence in a city like Milan.The atmosphere throughout is pleasant and relaxed, and prompt personalised service is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Antica Locanda dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Dei Mercanti Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing