We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Ranked #83 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An excellent Stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Great location, unique style, comfortable rooms, great staff, flowered private terrace, quiet back street just off Merchanti.
A little hard to find with just an apartment style buzzer at door and no directions to second floor lobby but WAY worth the search.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pkkpkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    76
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
50
204
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I can only echo the other reviewers who have heaped praise on this hotel. The service is excellent and the staff will try to accommodate personal requests. Our room was lovely, well decorated and had a beautiful private terrace, Breakfast is modest, but good quality. The location is excellent; we walked to major attractions, shopping, and even to the train station for a quick day trip to Lake Como. Should we return to Milan in the future, I'll seek out this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are willing to spend a little more and the time of year favors good weather, ask for a terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehillets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our experience at this hotel was wonderful!
It is a charming place, not like the regular hotel chain option. The location is great, right in the center of the city, within walking distance to the shopping areas, the Castle and Milan's Cathedral.
Friendly and welcoming staff, a luxurious atmosphere and large, quiet & comfortable rooms complete with fresh flowers.
We will definitely come back on our next visit in Milan!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

1st you'll realize that any conversation via email or phone is complete. Complete with follow us.
When we arrived we were offered a bottle of wine, Yes we had to pay, but it was worth every penny since we were in a terrace room. Very Romantic. 10 Minutes from everywhere you need to be. Great location. Navigli is about a 20-25 min walk, again, its a beautiful walk. did it 2 times!
AC worked fine, there were some mosquitos, thats from the garden in the overly large terrace for sure. The added value of you walking in and seeing your photo, was kind of cool, felt like coming home!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spunge411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of all the major attractions.
A porter met us at the door and carried our luggage up the stairs (and down when we left).
All staff were nice, friendly and helpful.
Must say that the breakfast was limited.
Our room was very spacious, yet cosy and very tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Yes it is a lovely historic building. Yes there is a terrace. What there is not - a porter to carry your bags up the flight of stairs to the elevator. No English channels available on the TV - just the BBC news would have been nice. No choices at breakfast. Not much service from the staff. For the price I will make another choice in the future when I visit Milan.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nofatboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated but it is not for someone who wants a traditional hotel experience. The staff are helpful but there are very few staff. There are no bell hops or doorman to assist you with luggage ( and several stairs to navigate). The hotel lobby is impossible to find without asking assistance...y(it is on the second floor of a building with no signs at all). I also found the breakfast very skimpy. All of this would be acceptable if the price was lower. If they are going to charge like the big hotels, they need to deliver. This is a boutique hotel with a great setting but not enough services for the guests.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BERFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#141 of 428 in Milan
374 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#56 of 428 in Milan
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#38 of 428 in Milan
771 reviews
Brera
Hotel Milano Scala
Hotel Milano Scala
#26 of 428 in Milan
608 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#15 of 428 in Milan
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Property: Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Address: Via San Tomaso 6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#57 Family Hotel in Milan
#67 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#86 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Locanda dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda is an unexpected oasis of peace and quiet in Milan’s frenetic city centre. The elegant 18th century building is in a pedestrian area dedicated to shopping.Once you arrive you can forget your car – you’re in the very heart of Milan, close to La Scala opera house, the Duomo, the Stock Exchange, and the famous designer stores on via Monte Napoleone and via della Spiga.The décor is the creation of architect Vittorio Locatelli, who loves combining refined warm pastel hues with rough, natural materials, following his fancy wherever it takes him. His intention was to furnish the Locanda so that people would feel they were at home. He designed four suggestive rooms, each with a beautiful flower-filled terrace, a rare occurrence in a city like Milan.The atmosphere throughout is pleasant and relaxed, and prompt personalised service is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Antica Locanda dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Dei Mercanti Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing