We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's absolutely wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Ranked #89 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Hawalli, Kuwait
1 review
“It's absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 28 October 2010

I just spent three weeks in Milan at the Antica Locanda dei Mercanti, and feel that the first thing I have to say is that their staff is absolutely wonderful; they are efficient, caring and attentive to their guests needs and have contributed in making my stay very pleasant indeed

The hotel is at the centre of town which is very convenient, and the setting is absolutely delightful, the rooms are all equally spacious, bright and charming, and its very well kept.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsabahcollection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    73
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
49
199
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tirana, Albania
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2010

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was a very pleasant stay. the hotel was quite small and it had no sign on the outside, but the rooms were wonderful. full of light and beautiful furniture. it`s an excellent mixture of antique and modern design. everything was absolutely clean and spotless. the bathroom was nice. the breakfast was excellent.
above all the staff was very friendly and very helpful.
it`s located just 5 minutes walking distance from Duomo and its surroundings.
what can I say?! it was a perfect spot to stay while in Milan. I`d highly recommend it to anyone traveling there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusha82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We loved our stay at this lovely hotel. The staff was great and the room was specious, very clean and comfortable. My husband and I have traveled many times to Europe, and have not always had luck with picking the hotels online, but this was a great choice. We were very satisfied with our stay, and have recommended anyone we know who is traveling to Milan to stay at Locanda or as we call it the "Italian Gem".

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelife28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

This hotel is hugely misrepresented on the internet and the room shown must be the absolutely most attractive one available, which is not a surprise. This hotel is quite bizarre. No directions once you arrive, so you have no idea where to go. The reception person was quite pleasant and helpful. The room was awful. We have traveled vastly and stayed in many 4-5 star hotels - this is NOT one. While it did have a huge terrace, which was pleasant, we were not staying on the terrace. The room was strange with a plaster canopy over the bed, a non-working TV, and a non-acceptable bathroom. The shower was a trailer-park shower. There were no bath products. Their idea of soap was a common bottle with a pump; likewise with the lotion - how gross is that? There was no soap at the trailer park shower. It was very small, no place to place your personal items. The closet was a small cheaply built shallow chest with an empty refrigerator! There was a window and when you looked through it - it was a mirror of yourself - very weird. This owner may have had a vision, but did a terrible job carrying it out. However, that did not stop him from charging like he thinks it is a 4-star hotel. The location is good, but the facility is well below par. If it had cost 75% less I would have thought it was a deal. There is no value here. We paid over $400.00 dollars for one night for this dump, plus 15 euros for coffee, juice and a wad of bread delivered to the room. We had a plane to catch the next day, so we did not make a fuss, but it sure left a bad taste of Milan. We had expected a lovely and grand hotel for our last evening in Italy, but got a huge and expensive disappointment instead! Do not waste your money and stay here. There are many 3-star hotels that deliver more than this place and their locations are just as good! We stayed in a 4-star with a better location earlier in the week for much less that was fabulous that I highly recommend - The Spadari al Duomo.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tmhmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locanda01, Direttore at Antica Locanda dei Mercanti, responded to this review, 30 September 2016
Dear Guest,
we are contacting you regarding your review on Trip Advisor of Hotel Antica Locanda dei Mercati made on 6 feb 2016.

New management took over the Antica Locanda dei Mercanti in June 2016.
Since then we have been working hard to ensure that our Guests have the best experience possible when staying with us.
We have had very happy and satisfied Guests so far, and this is the reward for the big effort we are putting into this beautiful yet difficult business.

We are very sorry to have discovered that you had problems and did not enjoy your stay at Antica Locanda dei Mercanti.

Your review on Trip Advisor can have a relevant inpact on our business.
We would be most grateful if the Manager of the hotel could speak personally with you about your experience at the Locanda.

Could you please contact him directly at the following email address: manager@locanda.it.

Thank you for your time. Best regards.
Paola
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

No sign out front. They said if you had booked direct we would have gotten an email a few days in advance with directions. Good luck if you do not book direct. Definitely not worth the price. Very tired, air conditioning/heating shuts off at 11 PM, Can't open windows due to mosquitoes (the appartus for keeping the mosquitos away did not work), reported broken toilet seat when arriving and never got fixed, public areas are very very tired.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank multitraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locanda01, Direttore at Antica Locanda dei Mercanti, responded to this review, 3 October 2016
Dear Guest,
we are contacting you regarding your review on Trip Advisor of Hotel Antica Locanda dei Mercati made on 6 feb 2016.

New management took over the Antica Locanda dei Mercanti in June 2016.
Since then we have been working hard to ensure that our Guests have the best experience possible when staying with us.
We have had very happy and satisfied Guests so far, and this is the reward for the big effort we are putting into this beautiful yet difficult business.

We are very sorry to have discovered that you had problems and did not enjoy your stay at Antica Locanda dei Mercanti.

Your review on Trip Advisor can have a relevant inpact on our business.
We would be most grateful if the Manager of the hotel could speak personally with you about your experience at the Locanda.

Could you please contact him directly at the following email address: manager@locanda.it.

Thank you for your time. Best regards.
Paola
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Much more of an experience than one of the "box" chain hotels.
My room had over 300 square feet of terrace attached to it.
My room was clean and well appointed although not with sumptuous fittings etc.
The reception attendant was excellent in getting me a table at a restaurant at short notice and also quickly getting me a taxi in the morning and urging the driver to get me to the airport early. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingbiscuit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Antica Locanda dei Mercanti. As per other reviews, the location is excellent. It’s just a 5 minute walk to the Duomo, 10 minutes to La Scala and a 15 minute walk to see The Last Supper. Lots of nearby shopping as well.
The hotel has modern decor. We had a room on one of the upper floors, quite cosy, and with a nicely appointed bathroom. The rooms were clean and the front desk staff were very helpful with maps and directions. Many restaurants nearby.

Overall, an excellent place to stay in Milan

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ortaorta_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#125 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#65 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#39 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Brera
Hotel Milano Scala
Hotel Milano Scala
#27 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Property: Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Address: Via San Tomaso 6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#57 Family Hotel in Milan
#73 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#86 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Locanda dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda is an unexpected oasis of peace and quiet in Milan’s frenetic city centre. The elegant 18th century building is in a pedestrian area dedicated to shopping.Once you arrive you can forget your car – you’re in the very heart of Milan, close to La Scala opera house, the Duomo, the Stock Exchange, and the famous designer stores on via Monte Napoleone and via della Spiga.The décor is the creation of architect Vittorio Locatelli, who loves combining refined warm pastel hues with rough, natural materials, following his fancy wherever it takes him. His intention was to furnish the Locanda so that people would feel they were at home. He designed four suggestive rooms, each with a beautiful flower-filled terrace, a rare occurrence in a city like Milan.The atmosphere throughout is pleasant and relaxed, and prompt personalised service is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Antica Locanda dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Dei Mercanti Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing