We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel, Get what you pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sant'Ambroeus
Ranked #226 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was ok, but remember you get what you pay for! Friendly staff, decent room and in a fairly good location. However the one thing everyone seems to miss out and they don't tell you is a there is a prison across the road, this isn't a huge problem but it's something to consider.

The shower is small but has a huge shower head and good pressure so no problems there.

The metro is a 5 minute walk down the street and a 24 hour pass cost €4.50 and covers all areas of Milan, buses and metro.

Cafes and restaurants are also available on the walk to the metro. The hotel was clean and provided a safe, however wifi is not free and quite annoying to log out and in for an hour, the room is typical Italian style and the bed was huge.

The breakfast is a continental breakfast that provides, cereal, ham, bread, cheese and more.

As I said earlier you get what you pay for especially in Milan, although if a prison across the street doesn't bother you, there is nothing wrong with the price you pay for it! Certainly worth a try.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Zac L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

I booked this hotel via package to a concert and after reading some tripadvisor reviews .Hotel San't Ambroues in milan gives you everything you need in terms of good night sleep, clean, attentive staff and good breakfast !!!!
Location: the hotel is in a residential area, with supermarkets and some restaurants!!! The area is safe and it's even close to most of Milan's attractions by foot!!!! The hotel is 2 blocks from the M2 Metro station S. Agostino! And about 15-20 min to the Doumo and 15 min to the Navigli area ( the Milan Canals) with lots of bars café's and restaurants!!!! If going to the Doumo leave the hotel right and then when you get to Via Genova ( in a a big Piazza) turn left and after 15 you see the Doumo!!!! To walk to the Navigli walk from the hotel right till you see a Canal in your left and a Roman arch , then in the Piazza turn right and you will see the canals!!!! I recommend buying a 10 ride card for the metro for 13.8E it's very useful !!!!
Room and Amenities: the room was quite small and had an old 80's décor with a small box TV a small closet and a in room safe!!!! The rooms were clean though don't expect to see a lavish view from the rooms , I got the balconies of the adjacent buildings!!!!!! the shower is ontop a step and is kinda small , but clean and has a great water presure !!!!!!!
The breakfast was typical European with breads , cheese ham yogurts , juice , and really the basic!!! They made fresh cappuccino as much as you want!!!!!!!
The staff was very friendly and helped me with every question I had, they have a storage room for luggage free of charge!!!!!!!!!
I read some of the reviews in tripadvisor and some were too harsh
If you want a decent hotel in a a sane price, good night sleep, clean, attentive staff and good breakfast this is for you!!!! If you want a more in terms of modern décor , classic hotel feel go somewhere else!!!!! I won't hesitate to come back!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sliderTelaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Can only say god Things about this hotel. Would certainly visit again. You can walk to Doumo in 20 min. og walk around the corner and take the tram which will get you there in 5 min. 10 min to tha Canal district. We payed 70 eur. through Olotels.com and for that Price it was a bargain. Yes the hotel is old, but clean, the room size is ok. And the shower has pleanty of Water.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kristian2660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Terrible hotel.

The location is average you will need to spend in metro to get anywhere. The rooms are very old shower curtains are broken not allowing you to shower properly and they are built in the wrong form making all the water go outside.

If you get a room with a modern shower style then your room will be with old furniture. and vice versa. I know this because we had to change rooms as our AC did not work properly for two nights, when we change the rooms the one we received was even worst.

Dont connect any electronic as the power went off in our rooms as we tried to dry our hair. However do take your on dryer as the one they have are from ancient times.

Breakfast is okay. Staff is friendly and willing to help. Ice available if needed. No free Wifi. Sheet and pillows are old and smelly.

Do not recommend.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gijs C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 14th august for 2 days. The location of hotel is perfect. It’s near s.Agostino station green line. So you can easily get there from Milano central station or malpensa airport. The staff was very helpful and kind and responsible, their English were good. Because in Italy sometimes the reception also doesn’t know English. The breakfast was very simple. The room was clean. the air condition function properly. you can use internet in the lobby but you should pay 1.5 euro for 30 min.
mojtaba mirkhalaf from iran

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mojtaba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a budget hotel a bit to the south of the center of Milan. The pros are that the breakfast is wonderful (cereals, ham, cheese, croissants, juice, coffee - standard European fare), The rooms are quite large and you can walk to wherever you need to go - there's even a supermarket on the opposite side of the street to the right of the hotel, great for late night snacking!

The cons are that the hotel is a bit run-down/dingy. We stayed there for 2 nights as our flight flew in and out of Milan. Imagine a hotel built in the 70s and not renovated since. Our A/C didn't work the second night we were there and they had to change rooms for us. The service was decent, they did their job and didn't go out of their way to make us happy, nor did we overly need that kind of superb customer service attitude, so decent was fine with us.

Another hidden gem for me was the little garden at the back of the hotel. A colleague of mine and I needed to work one evening and it was a great little spot to brainstorm and work... at least before the sunset and mosquitoes started coming for us!!

Overall, it's a good bargain but remember, you get what you pay for with budget hotels. Want fancy? - Pay more and expect more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sinacism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
B&B Hotel Milano Sant'Ambrogio
Navigli
Mercure Milano Solari
Mercure Milano Solari
#124 of 428 in Milan
911 reviews
Hotel Panizza
#142 of 428 in Milan
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Hotel Carrobbio
Hotel Carrobbio
#247 of 428 in Milan
426 reviews
Navigli
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#173 of 428 in Milan
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant'Ambroeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Ambroeus

Address: Viale Papiniano 14, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £60 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'Ambroeus 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4-story Hotel positioned between the exhibition centre and downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sant'Ambroeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Ambroeus Hotel
Sant Ambroeus Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing