We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Monfort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Monfort
Ranked #15 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“A little disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at Chateau Montfort twice during July 2013. The first time we stated was amazing. Clean room, beautiful hotel, excellent service. When we stated the second time we were no quite as impressed. Upon our arrival we were told we had been upgraded to an executive room, much to our delight. Unfortunately upon entering the room we were disappointed at the lack luster this room offered. This room was slight larger than the standard room we had stayed in however the walls were very scuffed and the bathroom did not have a window (unlike our prior room). In addition to this the tv kept switching on and off. When we contacted reception about the tv, they sent up a porter who after fiddling with the tv decided it was a job for maintenance who wouldn't come until the morning. I think the most annoying thing was that the wifi only worked near the front door which meant we couldn't even lie in bed and use the Internet seeing as the tv was not working.

All in all I would still recommend this hotel based on location, however insist that you get what you pay for as this us no cheap hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Australiantourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    253
    62
    24
    6
See reviews for
172
649
42
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just back from a few days in Milan at the Chateau Monfort - what a wonderful place! It is absolutely everything you imagine, like something from a fairytale. Our stay started with an upgrade and just got better and better - Pablo on reception is just brilliant, a mine of information - and as for Ivan the bartender... well, what can I say ... he is a legend, I think he will have his own fanclub very soon... All of the staff are a credit to the hotel, nothing is too much to ask. Our room was beautiful and we had a fantastic stay. thank you all!

Room Tip: The shower in the Hibiscus Room is see-through! So for couples and good friends only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDV77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here for the first time through a booking on agoda ( which was cheaper than booking.com ), and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel. Pablo and Sage at the reception were very helpful for all our needs. Ivan the bar-tender was fantastic. He gave me the origin and history of martini, the first one being made by Jerry Thomas in San Francisco for a gold digger who paid him with a gold stone. Ivan is passionate about his work, and it's a pleasure to chat with him over his perfect mixes, though he himself prefers the plain simple ones.

The location of the hotel is very central, and convenient to walk to the Duomo, the Fashion Street, restaurants....The bedrooms open to a small balcony, the street is noisy if you leave the window open, but with the sound proof no sound filters through.

The decor of the hotel is delightful.

Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: If you like the street scene take a street view, a little noisy, if you open the window, but I do pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nkm111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here recently for the last weekend of July, and it was a fantastic choice. It is just slightly out of the city centre and approximately a ten minute walk from the Duomo. So that was a bit tough in the intense heat but.... that really was the only negative.

We stopped in room 112 which was lovely and spacious - this was a great surprise especially as spacious hotel rooms in European cities often come at a premium!! Having a bath tub would have been a plus, but oh well.

The staff were very friendly, helpful, polite and knowledgeable. They clearly took pride in their work. We had trouble printing our boarding passes before we departed from the UK and the hotel kindly did this for us within minutes. Unlike other reviews I have read our Nespresso refills and water bottles were provided each day. We didn't eat in the restaurant and breakfast wasn't included within our package so I couldn't really comment but the bar was lovely.

The furnishings and interior of the hotel and our room were very unique.

There was a lovely bar called Gold roughly five minutes away, along with a lovely restaurant http://www.giacomobistrot.com/index.html which was fantastic! Would definitely recommend.

There is supermarket, pharmacies and coffee shops near by, so great local amenities.

Would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palvinderd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Excellent hotel with great location. Friendly and courteous staff. Good restaurant. Checkin upon arrival was flawless. I was even surprised to know there was parking availability (for a fee). Will return for sure

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

With my boyfriend we decided to spend a long weekend in a close 5 star hotel rather than long holidays in a cheaper hotel far away.We normally go on holiday 3 times a year so we like to select original places.

The amazing pictures and the nice price on an online flash sale website made us book 3 nights in this "amazing" hotel.

Our packaged included :
- Free spa access
- breakfast
- a glass of Prosecco
- a bottle of mineral water.

At our arrival we have been informed that the swimming pool would not be available for at least 2 months due to maintenance issue (until end of August 2013). The only thing which they offered in exchange was to go to one of their other 4 star hotel on the other side of Milan which had apparently a "big" jacuzzi. We did not try it. I do not want to cross the city just to get in a jacuzzi...especially when you don't have a car.

The hotel is nicely decorated a bit Alice in Wonderland type . This is the main reason why we picked this hotel.

Then we finally got to our room which is pretty small even if nicely decorated.

The surprise was for the bathroom - very nice again - but :
- the shower was not perfectly clean (traces of soap on the wall and hair in the bath) - same happened the following day after our room was cleaned. On the third day there was still hair stuck to the the wall....
- the bath milk had already been used and the bottle was almost half empty already....
- one good point is for the shower, there are actually 2 showers which is really useful I think if you are 2 to shower.

The bed is really comfortable this is a plus! The pillows are extremely soft.

On the other hand the hallway is really noisy, the trolley for the room service is so noisy , it is unbelievable... you can hear everything happening outside you room ( in the hotel). Our room was facing the street but you cannot hear much of the traffic.

Also they have this REALLY annoying music in the hallway which you can hear from your room. A hotel is for sleep not for listening to music from my point of view....

To finish we had a drink at the bar. Service was very slow. We had to ask twice the reception to send someone to serve us. Unbelievable in a 5 star hotel!

To conclude this review, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. If I compare with other hotels I've been to (which had a maximum of 4 stars) this one is the most disappointing especially regarding the comfort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

we stayed in Chateau Monfort from the 16th till the 18th of july. The staff was very helpful and the concierge very knowledgeable. The room is fun with lots of natural light and nice finishing. Location is super central, walking distance from Duomo. Nespresso machine was complimentary the first day but no refills the days after which was a bummer. would highly recommend the hotel for short stays in milan.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lama s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#5 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Monfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Monfort

Property: Chateau Monfort
Address: Corso Concordia, 1 | Piazza Tricolore, 20129 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Monfort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Monfort is the new 5 star hotel located in the heart of Milan, just a few minutes walking from the famous Duomo Cathedral and the main fashion District. Its 77 rooms, with 5 Junior Suites and 5 Suites, are overwhelmed by a charming atmosphere, some retrò style details and a special glamour touch. Château Monfort offers a new philosophy of hotellerie based on fashion, music and art and to recapture a sort of childhood fairytale. The "Rubacuori by Venissa" Restaurant is an enchanted place where an ensemble of art and passion are turned into a poem by mediterranean savours. Located in the heart of our lobby area under a stunning dome ceiling, our Lounge Bar Mezzanotte by Venissa plays the landlord role with charms and luxury.Fantastic atmospheres are reserved to the areas dedicated to relax, conferences and events. A dedicated area for meetings, "Le Segrete", a spacious ballroom "La Sala dell' Incantesimo" and a wine cellar "La Cella di Bacco" offer guests exclusive moments to experience. Free your Senses in our unique SPA "Amore & Psiche". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Monfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing