We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, budget, clean, value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ornato - Gruppo Mini Hotel
Ranked #157 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This was the only hotel available for under 100 EUR a night for a double room during the early September 2012. We paid 50 EUR (apart from the 3 EUR city tax per person per night) for a double room and it was worth the money.


Location:
This hotel is outside the city in a residential area. To access the hotel, conveniently and quickly from Dumo/Central station, take M3 metro (yellow line) towards 'Comasina' and get down at 'Maciachini'. From 'Maciachini' change to tram number 4 towards 'Niguarda' and get down at Niguarda Nord. The hotel is on the right after a very short walk towards the direction of the Tram. Alternatively, you can take the direct but antique, back breaking, and slow Tram line 5 from Central station to the hotel.

There are bakeries, Pizzeria, and a Pub around the hotel. Most of them are reasonably priced and with decent food.

Hotel: The hotel was clean, the staff at the reception spoke English and were courteous. The staff in the breakfast room were also welcoming and nice.

Room: The room was very simple with tiled floor, a basic wardrobe and with clean bed and sheets. We had air conditioning in the room. The television was very small and from the 80s but we didn't watch it. The toilet was a bit small but clean. The room service was also efficient and good

Facility: Paid wifi and a PC with internet were available near the reception. There was also a vending machine inside. Breakfast was very basic. Three or four different croissants and bread with conficture, cheese and butter. Small packets of cereals and milk was also there. Apart from two different types of juices (flavored, not fresh) there was fresh coffee of your choice and dip tea available.


Don't care about the number of stars the hotel claim and get your expectations high. This is a very basic hotel bit far but well connected (30 minutes commute) to the city. One of the cheapest but clean hotels in Milan and totally worth the money you pay for the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DANZ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

The construction is originaly barracks for soldier, the facility is poor as hotel and service of the staff is also not sophisticated to make the guests be confortable feeling. The large room for breakfast buffet is as if meeting room.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mits I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

You get what you pay for. This is a cheap hotel, located a bit outside the center of Milano. But close to the tram, which takes you to a Metro-stop in about 10 minutes. Clean rooms, and a big bathroom. The colour of the wall painting is terrible. Breakfast is included. Don't expect luxus. AC in the rooms, which works fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlavR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Hotel is not in the center of the city, but tram from the Station Centrale takes right to the hotel. Double room wasn't very wide but it was ok. Clean shower, soap and shampoo. Self-adjustable heating in the room. No hot dishes for breakfast but in general we left the hotel not starving. Nice, budgetary hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pagerintoji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

the biggest problem my client faced was when he had to take a taxi from the hotel to the central station at 5am in the morning. the taxi took 1 hr and charged him 70 euro... the reception staff on 23rd april 2012 (whoever it was) should have given well defined instructions to the taxi driver as he knew we are international travelers from INDIA and have a huge language problem (english and hindi is all that we know).... the experience in Italy because of this event just wasn't a pleasant one..... lets see how much this effects you.... take care Rajit R Agrwal

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Rajit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I haven't seen ever hotel 3 stars like that. The rooms are terrible, the beds old and uncomfortable, the breakfast unacceptable, the lokation tragic. The stuff dousn't speak english and some of them are really rude.
In Greece this hotel cannot be even thow1 star.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I have to agree that the staff were not what I would expect from a hotel. I've had far better service at cheap hostels than here. Firstly, on our last day, we were trying to book our next hotel, and don't speak Italian. We asked the desk if they would mind calling for us, and they refused (staff member was Hamid, I believe). Unfortunately, I was sick during this trip, and stayed in my room (in bed) for a full day. I received a call from the reception desk saying "are you going out or not, so we can clean". I said that I was going to stay in the room. Two minutes later there is a knock at the door and there are two cleaning staff telling me to leave so they can clean. We ended up waiting in the lobby until they were done.

Hotel itself is clean, and our room was quite spacious. All that you would expect from a hotel, like towels, soaps etc.

Breakfast is included in the price and served from 7 - 10am. Breakfast has a buffet style selection of croissants, three cereals, yoghurts, spreads, bread rolls, juices and coffee (machine).

The location is quite out of the way. There is a tram (number 4) just down the road from the hotel, that takes you into the city in about 20 minutes. If you arrive at Milano Garibaldi station, you can walk to a number 4 tram in about 5 minutes.

There are about 5 restaurants nearby, as well as a bar and a bakery, but nothing else is around. The area is fairly suburban/residential.

I'd probably recommend paying a little more to stay closer to the city, so there was more nightlife and better food.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silvericemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel Edy
#240 of 428 in Milan
237 reviews
Milano Hotel America
#295 of 428 in Milan
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Hotel Leonardo da Vinci
Hotel Leonardo da Vinci
#298 of 428 in Milan
129 reviews
Porta Venezia
Del Sole
Del Sole
#260 of 428 in Milan
93 reviews
Bicocca
Ibis Milano Ca Granda
Ibis Milano Ca Granda
#191 of 428 in Milan
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ornato - Gruppo Mini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ornato - Gruppo Mini Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Ornato 64, 20162 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £40 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ornato - Gruppo Mini Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ornato offers excellent value and quality accommodation, with attentive hospitality and service. It is located in the dynamic Bicocca-Niguarda Area close to the new university complex, the Pirelli headquarters and the Arcimboldi Theatre. The Ornato is well connected by public transport: by tram it takes 20 minutes to reach the centre or the central station. All rooms have air conditioning , Internet WI-FI access is available, private parking facilities (charge applies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ornato - Gruppo Mini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Alberghiero Ornato Milan
Centro Alberghiero Ornato Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing