We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small Hotel with nothing missing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roxy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Roxy
Ranked #231 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice small Hotel with nothing missing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed 4 days at the Roxy Hotel in May of 2013.
The Hotel is not far from the Airport and in an area of low traffic but not in the middle of Mailand.
The Hotel is very close the the streetcar stations so getting around in Mailand is no problem.

The room I had was very small but clean, had a good bed, TV and a nice (but small) bathroom.
Room was cleaned and madeup everyday. It has air-conditioning that worked!
Desk was very small for working and the internet was very undependable (but free). For emails home it is enough - don't consider downloading a large film or something.

Breakfast was average, everything was available except scrambled eggs or bacon. I think the Italians are very big on pastry.

A very large grocery store is just around the corner where you can but anything to eat and drink. Also a lot of small household items, such as cleaning products, electrical conversion plugs and much more.

All in all, it was a nice stay. When I go to Mailand again, I would stay there again but would ask for a bigger room.

Room Tip: just ask for a larger room. Nach ein grösseres Zimmer fragen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bensheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    92
    87
    20
    17
See reviews for
30
86
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Good location, 5 minutes walk from subway and 2 stops from downtown - Professional staff, breakfast OK by Italy standard. Unfortunately, they put shutters on the Windows instead of curtains, so even though Windows are equipped with double glass, it will not stop the noise that goes through the shield box. And as the street is narrow it can be very Noisy. Fortunately not too much traffic between 0:00 and 5:00... Plus, the bathroom is ridiculously small and the one we got, unpractical. And we could hear our neighbour chatting on the phone...

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean_Fradel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is a mixed review. The hotel is a perfectly good 3-star hotel. It's clean. They offer a nice breakfast and it's in a good location. However, if we had paid anywhere between $80 - $90 like it seems most people are I'd be writing a glowing review. Instead, I went through Hotwire and used their blind bid on a region in a city hoping to get a good deal and we ended up paying $322 a NIGHT for this very simple hotel. A complete and utter scam. I will never use Hotwire again and frankly never go to this hotel again for agreeing to participate in such a scam.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmarks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roxynette, Direttore at Hotel Roxy, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Good morning Mr. Pmark2
We are disappointed and even a little 'surprised of what' they wrote.
He booked in a period of a big trade fair (furniture fair) in Milan and this week the prices of all the hotels are also rising by 300%.
We are surprised 'cause at the time of booking you did not notice the price, very different from the usual 60-90 dollars?
please kindly, the next time you book to make more 'attention to the price, regardless of the' hotel.
Sincerely
Hotel Roxy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This hotel is extremely good value, we paid £65 roughly for a triple room and it is within walking distance of a lot of Milan's attractions such as the Duamo, which is around a 20 minute walk away.

The rooms were clean, the bathroom was clean although a little small.

The breakfast was good, continental style with lots of choice.

The only downside were two incidents, firstly when we walked out of the hotel with our keys, no one attempted to stop us despite being stood at the desk and no one had warned us that this wasn't allowed. Upon our return a different staff member was at the desk and he did not take kindly to our taking the keys, he repeated at least 3 times in a very angry tone 'the key never leaves' despite me telling him that no one had told me that. Totally rude and unnecessary attitude.

The second incident was on our departure morning where the housekeeper walked into the room without knocking at 7am, surely the aforementioned keys would show which rooms were occupied or at least a knock would show that it was occupied.

Overall this was a decent hotel and I would have rated it higher but I do not stand for rude staff and thus have marked it down accordingly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oligraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed at the Roxy for a weekend break with friends.

The hotel was in a perfect location, only 10 mins from the nearest metro stop and a few nice bars / restaurants nearby if you didnt want to go to far into the centre. The room was clean and a decent size (we had two x triple rooms). Front desk staff were pleasant and polite. Breakfast was a decent buffet spread, my friends loved the custard croissants!

The tram line that ran outside the hotel didnt bother us as we were too tired to be kept awake by it and they ran all over the city so a bit of noise was inevitable!

The cons were... I didnt like the metal? shutter that we couldnt lift up but thats my only complaint. Its a pity the breakfast area couldnt be bigger as it was a bit of a jostle by the kettle but the twining tea bags made up for this!

I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Try for the third floor
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rockmylobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Despite a good location, the hotel room, staff and facilities are not as good as should be.
We experienced bad moments such as change our luggage with strange clients in another room.
We shall not recomend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deda78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

the hotel was clean. Small rooms, specially if you travel with two people. Done ever take the 2nd floor rooms because the tram is very loud for that floor. 3rd floor friend confirmed that it is not bad for 3rd floor. There breakfast was organized in a side of the lobby, which is not really the best view. And only one person works in reception, if you try to checkout in a time where everyone is checking out you might need to wait for a 30min.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DInesh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Citta Studi
EuroHotel
EuroHotel
#98 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Fenice
Hotel Fenice
#124 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Mokinba Hotel Baviera
Mokinba Hotel Baviera
#233 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Brianza
Hotel Brianza
#361 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Hotel Vittoria
#183 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Citta Studi
Mercure Milano Centro
Mercure Milano Centro
#93 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roxy

Property: Hotel Roxy
Address: Via Nino Bixio 4a | Near Porta Venezia, 20129 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roxy 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, HRS, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Roxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxy Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing