We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap , nice hotel”
Review of Aspromonte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aspromonte Hotel
Ranked #165 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Receptionists are helping a lot, all knows english very well.

Rooms are small, but thats ok, we just stay in room to sleep mostly.

Breakfast is so limited ,but again should be ok.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdestan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

I have stayed at this boutique hotel a couple now, both times finding it a comfortable, well run establishment. It has a very modern interior, but still possesses some of that inimitable Italian charm. The rooms are also modern and well maintained. (I did sense cigarette smoke throughout the building but not in my room so that was okay.) Cable TV was free too, though you have to pay for wi-fi, which rankles me just a little. Then again, the room rate was very favorable both times. Staff were polite and well informed about the region.

Breakfast is standard continental - "cappuccino, cafe late, or espresso" plus cold meats and cereal, fruit - but the smell of freshly brewed espresso is good and they have an appealing garden courtyard adjoining the eating area to enjoy it.

It is a few metro stops from the center of Milan and then a little walk from there, but it is not too far as long as you have reasonably fresh legs and not too much luggage. Just have a map with you, because both times I managed to get lost with all the junctions in the area.

Whilst not perhaps the most salubrious part of Milan (the plaza fronting the hotel reminded me of something out of a housing commission), a little stroll onto the main street reveals plenty of cafes along an appealing boulevard. There is also a quaint old tram which trundles near the hotel (see photo).

So really, it ends up being a most pleasant option if on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. The metro station was a short walk, though the area didn't feel overly safe at night. Also on the downside, the single room was very small with very loud air conditioning and a strange little hatch-like window. The free wi fi was painfully slow and often didn't connect at all. Overall though for the price, it was okay but I'd look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eur0Trip2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We were assigned 2 flat rooms next to the hotel on the second floor for a party of six. Air conditioner was working, but not strong enough. Room was large enough. The shower was not hot after running 5-10 minutes. It was late at night and the reception told me that they will examine on the following day. My family had to sleep without shower after sweating all day in hot Milan. My wife wanted to have a hot water and used the kitchen to boil water at mid night. Then power went down and we were in trouble without power until it came back. On the following day, we changed 1 room to the 3rd floor. There the shower was hot even if we used for over 10 minutes. However, it had no toilet seat. We were told by the receptionist that "everything should be fine" before entering the room...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

After reading the review by adrianmiami i decided to book this hotel as i didn't think that anything could be as bad as that and he came across as a bit of a picky american, who must have been expecting the park hyatt for £50 per night. If you want a good budget hotel in Milan this one is fine and i would stay there again without hesitation.
The hotel was clean, rooms were made up each day with fresh towels, staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke english as well as any other Italians we encountered. Breakfast was inculded in the price of our room and was typical continental, coffee, juice, cereals and very nice pastries. We also found some very good and very reasonably priced restaurants close to the hotel if you walk in the opposite direction from the city centre.
The hotel is located close to Loreto metro station which makes travel around the city very easy and is quite reasonable, 1 Euro for a single journey or 3 Euro for a day pass.
The hotel looked to be having some work done on it during our stay but didn't effect our stay at all.
All in all this is a very good budget hotel which doesn't claim to be anything else, clean and friendly.

Room Tip: Don't listen to adrianmiami!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dweir82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

the worst italian hotel experience ever........I
if you can run away from it do it quickly...from this hotel and never eveN think about taking a SHACK like this 3 star hotel WHICH IN THE US WOULD RATE NOT EVEN SHELTER FOR HOMELESS DOGS...

first of all, they neither respond your email nor show the slightest education at all. i needed to stay in milan for 6 days and fortunately only made a reservation in this place for 2, my decision was to abandon it immediately when i saw the hideous room.after those 2 credit card confirmed days which you have to pay,if you stay or not I changed to a five star hotel, the palace in piazza repubblica.this really is the real deal where they treat you well.
first of all the hotel area is piazza aspromonte, where either you get mugged in the night by north african illegal aliens ,or aids from one of the many prostitutes around corso buenos aires. then the hotel is a 4 storey cold ,old and awkward building without elevator ! that means you have to get the baggage to the 4th floor without help all the narrow staircase up. .
then you have to quarrel with a horrible clown at the recepeption who never ever had dealt with guests in the history of the hotel. an arrogant, impolite and absolutely useless italian freak, the worst stereotype of them all. when i told them i didnt want to stay nor a 40 sft room they said so go back to the us.this is italy. or you could go right away but they would charge anyway. as i told you the worst .and that was the beginning.
so i stayed those 2 days ,but being so happy to leave soon, in order to have my milan trip not spoiled at all. the room was a bad joke. number 135.an attic unit with a window in the roof from which neither light came in nor you could look out.like an airraid bunker or made of someones nightmare. small as a rat's hole, infiltration from the ceiling and neither a drink in the minibar nor a working internet access. they give you vouchers for wifi but nobody ever has been able to tell you how to access . milan is a very cold city so
why the hotel has stone floors and a practically not working heating? besides this place is noisier than the chicago airport. you cant EVER sleep because some moron in the second floor (!!!! being in the 4th!!!) is slamming the door or the neighboor is having a shower or incontinent bladder in the bathroom next door. you think this is gross? so come and try this place.. ahh ..and when i came back from a morning walk they day i left they already put the suitcases and my laptop case (just a sony for 2000 us) in front of the door of my room so that anybody could have stolen it. i am happy nothing happened., at 10 am. because they had to clean up the room even if they told me checkout is at 12.
believe me, i speak italian, and i like italy, but this hotel is the absolutely worst italian hotel i ever have been in and if you find a bridge to sleep under or a homeless shelter you will be better off than staying in a crappy and miserable place like this.
but i want to be positive , the room was clean ,the breakfast not bountiful but acceptable and the girls in the reception all of them are helpful and nice,but not at all this compensates a stay without sleep in this noisy hotel.ISTAYED IN 1 TO 5 STARS IN ITALY BUT THIS IS THE WORST OF THEM ALL.IF YOU ARE ON A BUDGET AND ARE ALREADY IN THE ASPROMONTE AREA GIVE ONE OF THE OTHER HOTELS IN THE SAME AREA A TRY BECAUSE WORSE AND MORE IMPOLITE,MORY CRAPPY ,SCAMMY AND UNSERIOUS than this hotel IS absolutely IMPOSSIBLE.
EVEN GUANTANAMO SHOULD BE BETTER THAN THIS HELL OF A HOTEL. AVOID IT. I AM SO ANGY ABOUT IT BECAUSE WE RUN HOTELS IN THE US AND I NEVER IMAGINED SUCH UNFRIENDLY PERSONS IN A RECEPCION (NOT THE DANISH GIRLS)BUT THE IMPOLITE AND RUDE MALES (HAHA!) TREATING THE GUESTS LIKE S.... CLOSE IT DOWN BURN IT AND DONT EVER TALK ABOUT IT WOULD BE MY SOLUTION FOR THIS PLACE.
think twice before staying in an awkward terrible place like that. before u stay there make sure there is no other place at all in whole italy. not to be recommended at all. worst hotel ever. doesnt deserve not even half a star and should be for free. actually i would not take it even for free. dont ever go there, dont ever :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adrianmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

I stayed in the Aspromonte Hotel with my boyfriend for 5 nights in October. The staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. We had booked an advance purchase rate and they gave us a copy of our invoice on check-in.

We were given a front facing room with a balcony which was lovely. The hotel overlooks a park and it was always full of locals. There is a lovely ice cream shop across the road which was cheaper than any in the centre but nut allergy sufferers beware as the cone gave me a reaction. There was a safe in the room and Sky TV with Sky News & BBC World so there were English speaking channels. The bed was quite hard but we got used to it after our first night. The bathroom was clean although a bit dated. One slight niggle was that the drains weren't very good so we kept having to turn the shower on and off to stop it from overflowing. The hairdrier also wasn't great so I would recommend taking your own.

Breakfast was basic but nice all the same. Rustic rolls, fresh bread, ham & cheese, a selection of preserves, croissants and pastries. One day we managed to get croissants filled with jam which were fab. They make you fresh coffee/tea when you go in and after our first day the breakfast staff remembered our order which was a nice touch.

The Loreto metro station is only a few minutes walk from the hotel and is on both the green line (great if you are flying to Malpensa as you can connect for the Malpensa Express), and the red line which is handy for the Duomo. The metro ran from early in the morning (we got it at 7.30am on a Sunday to go to the airport) until late at night. We didn't risk it past midnight though to get back although I had read it can run until as late as 2am.

Beware of bars with buffets until about 9pm as they bump the drink prices right up (€16 for 2!) and the food isn't great. Also be aware of cafes who serve microwave dinners! If you want to stay local, we found a great Italian restaurant just off the Corso Buenos Aires called Sabatini - food was lovely and a bottle of montepulciano d'abruzzo was only €10.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w33yin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#134 of 428 in Milan
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasi Village Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#80 of 428 in Milan
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#73 of 428 in Milan
412 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
#151 of 428 in Milan
244 reviews
0.9 mi away
VIVA Hotel Milano
VIVA Hotel Milano
#157 of 428 in Milan
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspromonte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspromonte Hotel

Address: Piazza Aspromonte 12-14, 20131 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £53 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspromonte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aspromonte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspromonte Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing