We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent historical place”
Review of Caffe Letterario

Caffe Letterario
Ranked #6,190 of 8,273 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: US$16 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro Storico
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Magnificent historical place”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Amazing place in an ancient court that integrates an historical theater and a smart bookstore.
Truly felt like in ancient Milan, smart people place !! and food was great!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daverider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    81
    46
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Greedy!!!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This cafe is set in the Galleria Mall and enjoys an excellent position in the center of the shopping area. We stopped for a late night dinner and were truly disappointed by the food and prices. My husband and I both ordered the squid ink risotto, one bottle of water and two glasses of wine. When the check arrived we called the waiter over to verify that it was correct. 91 euros seemed exorbitant for what we had. The risotto was a bowl of rice in black ink with a couple of pieces of calimari. It is a dish that we enjoy so much that we've made it at home. This was like a bowl of black paste. When the bill was itemized, we realized why it was so high; 9 euros for a bottle of water????? You can imagine how much they gouged us for everything else.
There are many other cafes and trattorias in Milan with better food and better prices. We have been to Milan many times and eaten at many fine restaurants. I would leave this one off the list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
762 reviews
464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
“Prime location, come for the people-watching”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Within the Galleria Vittorio Emmanuele, Letterario has arguably the best location, at the "crossroads" of the mall, just across from Prada.

The food and service are about the same as other places nearby - competent preparation, efficient but not warm staff.

Definitely on the pricey side, at 7 euro for a cappuccino, 10 for a good-sized sandwich (panino) with ham, cheese, and tomato. But for perspective, compare with 8 euro for a coffee at Cafe Greco on via Condotti in Rome (see my review). The view in the Galleria is much nicer, and attractive, well-dressed people of every nationality continuously stream by on their way to the Duomo metro station, or the fashion district for work or design school.

Recommended as a tourist experience rather than as a meal as such. This is one of the great people-watching spots in the world, regardless of the restaurant you choose.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pricey but very good”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have a nice lunch at this restaurant in the Vittorio Emmanuelle Gallery in Milan,and it was very nice,we had several meals among them the black risotto, the ossobuco and the risotto di mare and they were all well made and very tasty.2 bottles of white and red completed the meal plus a dessert to die for.It was really pricey,but let's face it we were in the middle of the action in Milan sorrounded by Gucci and Prada stores so you have to pay that.
Overall the ambience was great and had a great time

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JorgeRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Good to go for a quick coffee, slightly away from the crowds, but a bit expensive compared to other cafes.
Free wifi & a cocktail buffet served in the evening

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElAchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Letterario also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Letterario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing